We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Canberra

“Every dishes just superb”
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 1,644 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The food, service, atmosphere just awesome. The new venue is bigger n better than the old one. Will go back again

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Nomad53904176646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Canberra. Food is contemporary Malay with lovely twists to the dishes. This was our first visit at their new venue. We loved it! Food, Service and Ambience absolutely delightful.

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Swish101R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Have to agree with other reviewers, parking is an issue. Coming from Sydney where we are spoilt for choice of Asian Cuisines, I had high expectations. The service was excellent & food tasty but definitely not justified by the prices. Atmosphere was dull & decor neat but no connotation with type of menu.We spent $180.00 - for 2. Judging by the other diners, it’s a popular place in Canberra & probably used for political/ corporate lunches paid with their corporate credit cards.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank vallagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

We finally managed to get to Lanterne Rooms' new location and were pleased to find nothing really changed on the food and service front. The food is still delicious, and the service both attentive, and knowledgeable (including about the large drinks menu).

Access to the restaurant is difficult however, in terms of parking, and I do miss the plantation shutters (though the decor with wooden roof and fans is in keeping with the style.)

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Close to excellent, and the service certainly was (as is the case with all the Chairman group of restaurants). I think that Lilotang still has the edge, however, in every way. Lanterne's only been open in this location for a couple of months so there's a chance that it will get even better.

I agree with a previous reviewer that the new sophisticated modernist location has lost the exotic Euro-Eastern-style charm that the previous venue had, but I guess it's a business decision. (Incidentally, Les Bistronomes has gone into Lanterne's old spot at the Campbell shops). Lanterne is now on the ground floor of a high-rise apartment block on Constitution Avenue called Iskia (presumably in reference to the Italian island, with the spelling changed so we ignoramuses don't mispronounce it?). For restaurant-goers the entrance for parking is to the left of the building, and underneath, in marked 'visitor' bays. The restaurant has shifted its décor to unpretentious classy, to suit the architecture, but now it could be any restaurant anywhere - there's a certain lack of distinction. It's noisy, but this could be down to Christmastime get-togethers. Otherwise, the tables are well placed, the linen napery is perfectly laundered and folded, and glasses and cool water-jug sparkling clean. There's dramatic black-chromed flatware to eat with as well as chopsticks, and a range of attractive ceramic plates to eat from: all changed regularly.

So, as a couple, we opted for the Chef's tasting menu ($82), which I think is good value considering we were both full at the end; it comes with a surprise amuse bouche. Most of the dishes were divine (how did they get the eggplant crisp as well as juicy?!), but not the angus steak tataki which was dry. And I thought that the sashimi kingfish smelt, well, fishy, which surprised me. The dishes all came in good time; we were warned if there was going to be a ten-minute delay. The dessert on this occasion was panna cotta, which was perfectly creamy but too fussy to my mind, with macerated fruit and popcorn. The service was prompt and perfectly attentive. Altogether everyone seemed pretty happy with the evening, inside and out. We would go there again (if Lilotang were shut).

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CultureCommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing