We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Reserve with
Lanterne Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,330 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Came recommended by friends who live in Campbell. Did not disappoint! Food was a-maaaaazing!! The staff were oh so friendly each dish seemed to come with a different staff member! All so happy & obliging ... The only negative was we had to vacate table by 7.45 pm... We could have stayed ALL night!! We will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    89
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Asian fusion with exceptional service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Vibrant. Fresh food, unique menu. Genuine, attentive service, knowledgeable and engaged wait staff. Refreshing to have such a great dining experience in the inner north. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surrylounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited the Lanterne rooms during Easter, on a busy night according to the staff. We were seated in the front section of the Restaurant and received a cold blast of air every time the front door was opened and it was opened many times while we were there. The service was prompt and we must have been approached for our order 4-5 times before we were ready to order. The entrees or Satay chicken and lamb cutlets were OK . The seafood noodles and beef curry followed. The former was a great disappointment with 3 prawns, 1 scallop and a minuscule serve of calamari served with noodles with a glutinous texture and strange taste, all in a nondescript soy sauce. The beef curry was a rich mussaman style with quality meat cuts included. We retired into the cold night disappointed with our experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

OK, exaggerated service, overly spiced and rich food, rich for the sake of richness, perfunctory service, not really authentic food, westernised, pleasant décor, tasteful setting, friendly maitre'd. Free parking available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Malay food at the Lanterne Rooms, Campbell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Not much else can be said, other than to say it was excellent food at a very busy restaurant in Blamey Place, Campbell. Don't turn up without booking and be prepared to pay 'Michelin Restaurant' prices. It was well worth the visit you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing