We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom yum prawns...yum alright!”
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1,389 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tom yum prawns...yum alright!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant may be in the middle of some local shops but the experience certainly out weighs that..duck rolls were great to start with, not too heavy and to follow that up with the prawns was Devine..I will be back to just have 4 serves of the prawns...amazing

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    106
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Imaginative and tasty food in an interesting setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

These guys do a really good job.

Imaginative and cutting edge Asian fusion dishes. Reminiscent of Malaysian cuisine, but every dish has a new twist. Really loved all of the flavours. There is a choice of banquet or a la carte. We picked the latter because of particular dishes we wanted and were very satisfied with everything we chose. BYO is welcomed with a reasonable corkage charge.

Restaurant has plenty of atmosphere with decor based on a Malacca style house.

Could not fault the service which was informative and attentive at all times.
Plenty of easy parking nearby.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClimbingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taste”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The banquet dishes had great flavours, the setting is low key and intimate. Small sizes, but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank imho_478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went here for dinner based on a recommendation from a friend. The food is the only thing that saved it from scoring as terrible as the service we experienced here was exactly that..terrible.

I would not go back and would go out of my way to actively discourage others from dining there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“As good as it gets. A MUST”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ate here on a Saturday night visiting Canberra from Sydney. Booked it based on TA reviews and I was so glad we did. Seriously this is as good as it gets. Four of us dined, table was ready when we arrived, service was first class plus. We chose the banquet and each and every dish was superb. Waiter explained each dish when it arrived. Standouts were the Tom Yum prawns , duck rolls, cassava , pork belly ..... actually every dish was a highlight. As good as it gets and this restaurant deserves all the praise it gets.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing