We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste”
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1,389 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taste”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The banquet dishes had great flavours, the setting is low key and intimate. Small sizes, but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank imho_478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    106
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went here for dinner based on a recommendation from a friend. The food is the only thing that saved it from scoring as terrible as the service we experienced here was exactly that..terrible.

I would not go back and would go out of my way to actively discourage others from dining there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“As good as it gets. A MUST”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ate here on a Saturday night visiting Canberra from Sydney. Booked it based on TA reviews and I was so glad we did. Seriously this is as good as it gets. Four of us dined, table was ready when we arrived, service was first class plus. We chose the banquet and each and every dish was superb. Waiter explained each dish when it arrived. Standouts were the Tom Yum prawns , duck rolls, cassava , pork belly ..... actually every dish was a highlight. As good as it gets and this restaurant deserves all the praise it gets.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will return”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great food and superb setting. Terrific service. The stand out dishes - barramundi and braised beef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful local restaurant. Outside looks uninspiring. Inside an Asian culinary delight.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here, food is fine and beautifully cooked. Always a wonderful experience. We should have got more dishes as the dishes are quite small, and we polished them all off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckyme100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing