We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable, delicious food and great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Reserve with
Lanterne Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,330 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Reliable, delicious food and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a pleasure to eat here. The food is delicious and the banquet offered is an easy choice with guests, with a good range of dishes. The lighting is ideally muted and the tables are arranged well for conversation but the atmosphere is cosy. Wait staff are unobtrusive and very helpful. Water glasses are kept full. Reasonable range of wine with some pleasant choices by the glass. Parking is easy and free whilst close to the city. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    89
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Lanterne Rooms. It was very different from what I expected - the dishes were really unique - Asian but with a really different spin. Amazing flavours and textures. The service was polite and efficient with the wait staff always there when you needed something but quietly in the background rather than being noticeable. Nice for a special evening out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have been here 3 times in the past year and I love the whole experience!
Great food, quick service for a busy restaurant, very helpful staff who know the menu, 5 star food without the snobbery! And amazing desserts!!
Thumbs up all round!
Can't wit till our next visit (although trying out your new Malamay Restaurant this weekend!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAAMScanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Whilst different than Chairman & Yip the quality is as good if not better. Excellent service and unique menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank SJW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
611 reviews
496 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Call me old-fashioned, but I think a lot of the point of a Chinese restaurant is shared dishes and chopsticks. The much-hyped Lanterne Rooms and its relatives in Canberra like Madam and Yip see this approach as passé. We ordered from the a la carte menu but asked that dishes be served so they could be shared - this request was ignored, and we were each issued with our own little bowls with our food, with knives and forks.

In the view of our party, the food, ambience and value was inferior to some of Canberra's better standard-issue Asian restaurants e.g. Timmy's Kitchen, Sammy's Kitchen, Portia's Place, Abels Kopi Tiam or Ginseng. Entree prices of around $18 and mains around $30 plus Inflated wine prices (nothing below $40 - byo accepted but $10 corkage) produced a bill for five of around $300 - at any of the above establishments it would have been substantially less and the experience better. On the plus side, service was overall efficient and they do a very good espresso. But another problem - it's noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing