We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will either love it or hate it”
Review of Bar Rochford

Bar Rochford
Ranked #151 of 1,652 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were in-between in terms of our rating, hence the score of three.

If you are into a noisy bar scene and the experience is more about the drinks and the company, this is the place for you.

If you are a foody that is looking for a nice wine/food match and a quiet night, this is not for you.

While the service is very good, the arrival of the bar snacks is spasmodic: one dish will arrive, then a delay, then perhaps another two plates arrive, we found ourselves eating one plate then waiting for the next. There is no sense of a complete meal. It is more about “grazing”.

Dishes tend to be small and relatively expensive for what they are. Around $28 for a slice of haloumi cheese with some pomegranate seeds and a hint of liquorice.

Wines are average Canberra prices, $60+.

Cramped, noisy, fun.

You need to decide if this is for you, if you are in your twenties, the answer is probably yes.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 751stephenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Small bar serving fabulous food. We shared Kangaroo sauscisson, carpaccio, amazing corn cobs with jalapeño and miso salsa, eggplant and the flathead special. Enjoyed with an Orange wine, mango beer and a French Sauvignon. Buzz atmosphere

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 603narelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

We are in Canberra on a very short break and after visiting here tonight have started the discussion about how we will make the time to visit again!

A hike up some skinny, steep stairs (blink & you’ll miss the entry!) to an eclectic collection of retro vibes and spaces.

Fabulous wine list, relaxed yet attentive staff, and the best part is the munchies! All we ordered was the pork terrine and sour dough with cultured butter and OMG GIVE ME MORE!

Such reasonable pricing, you can just add to the morsels as your tummy needs, and sit with a great wine in relaxed surrounds.

Canberra, you should be so happy to have this place as yours, if we lived here we’d climb these stairs all the time!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank FuudTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Good meeting place after work to have a glass of wine and sit by the fire. Haven’t eaten here but the atmosphere is lovely :)

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sharongreen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

visited with friends from Sydney who were unexpectedly surprised with the outstanding marinated snapper with orange oil, delicious pork terrine and accompaniments (better than I tasted in the five years living in France), and the wonderful potato galette. Had great table by the window, nice music - great place to go before the theatre.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlandShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Rochford also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Bar Rochford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing