We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naan-thing but the best!!”
Review of 7 by the Lake

7 by the Lake
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/26
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #82 of 1,644 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Description: 7 by the Lake brings to you a selected variety of 7 different Indian cuisines from - Maharashtra, Bengal, Rajasthan, Goa, Gujarat, North India and South India. Our aim is to offer unmatched dining experience and our highly experienced chefs and trained staff are committed to offer you the best Indian culinary experience. ***** We are open on Valentine's Day: Tuesday, 14th Feb 2017 *****
Restaurant details
Description: 7 by the Lake brings to you a selected variety of 7 different Indian cuisines from - Maharashtra, Bengal, Rajasthan, Goa, Gujarat, North India and South India. Our aim is to offer unmatched dining experience and our highly experienced chefs and trained staff are committed to offer you the best Indian culinary experience. ***** We are open on Valentine's Day: Tuesday, 14th Feb 2017 *****
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile


Polite service started a great evening. 3 people, we sat outside rams enjoyed the water view. Interior was nicely done.
We ordered the meat and vegetarian platters for entree as a way to test everything. Both good, but we enjoyed the meat one more.
For main: we decided to take the opportunity to try something more than just ‘butter chicken’ and we were truly pleased. We went with Andhra and Chettinaad chicken dishes, both delicious.
Next was Bhoona Lamb and Lasooni Palak Beef. Each dish had its own subtle delicious spice base. Good thick gravy, easily soaked up by the tender meat.
And then the various naans!! Holy hell, all great, but the garlic naan was the standout, light fluffy and we ordered 2nds.
We got dessert. And nearly exploded walking back to the car.
A really really great meal, some of the best Indian I have actually had. Not that spicy, so next time I will try their hotter dishes.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 252kyliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

It was average food and service. Food was ok but couldn't find a wow factor . Hopefully they will improve

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank arshvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

I really enjoyed my dinner at 7 By the Lake...great menu with dishes divided by regions. Every thing we ordered was high quality with a delicious blend of textures,flavours and large servings. The service was good and very friendly with great suggestions for dishes. I can see this becoming a regular favourite :)

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2cauliFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019 via mobile

Went there for our small staff Christmas break up. Needed a Halal and Vegan option for people and ticked the boxes. Food was delicious in good proportions. Very helpful staff.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank crackers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2019

We gave this a go as we like discovering new places to eat and had heard some good things about it. Overall a pleasant experience with a nice atmosphere and good food. The menu has dishes I've never heard of before and I have eaten in a lot of Indian restaurants here, in the UK and the US. I tried the lamb Vindaloo as that is a difficult sauce to get right. Enjoyed it immensely and the lamb was beautifully tender. My partner had the Hariyali Macchi Masala. which was also wonderfully flavourful.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 by the Lake also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to 7 by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing