We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be excellent if properly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Chilaw B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Could be excellent if properly maintained”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely place and our overall experience was very good. The only negative comment I have has to do with poor maintenance.
We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and had to move between three rooms until we found one with reasonable air-condition. In the first room the air-condition didn't work at all, in the second it didn't really cool the room and only in the third one (a super delux room) it was Ok, although not powerful enough. Quite puzzling given that the owner probably invested a great deal of effort and money building the hotel, I cannot understand why he/she cannot take care for proper maintenance. Another problem is the running water which is not clean, so we could not use the jacuzzi...
Other than these two problems, the hotel is perfect. The beach is great, very nice long strip of sandy beach, perfect for walk and relax.
We had a super delux room, which is quite large, with a safe box and tea/coffee making facility. The flat TV is small but with excellent reception quality. The bath is comfortable, with good supply of hot water. Everything is clean. Mattress and towels in very good condition.
Free wifi is available in the restaurant and can be used in the room too. (our room was close to the restaurant, I cannot tell if wifi can be used in the more far away rooms).
Breakfast buffet and a-la-carte dinner were excellent, very tasty and enough quantity. Beer and soft drinks are not expensive.
Last and definitely not least, the stuff people are VERY friendly and helpful. Even when we tried for two hours to find a room with good air condition they didn't lose patience or friendliness and tried their best to solve the problem. (obviously I cannot blame the stuff for the poor maintenance...).

Room Tip: Pay attention to air condition, ask to run it for half an hour before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doron_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
28
29
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wattala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

food was great for that price.fav was the kan-kun garlic, the best i've tasted!room phone was out of order but wasnt an issue since we got a room very close to the reception.staff was at their best. sunday was quite busy with few family outings in the garden and pool area. advise to avoid sundays.lovely beach front to walk about and have some dinner/evening drinks.quiet and peaceful little place to spend some quality time with your loved ones.room rates are ok too.

Room Tip: room nos 231 & 232 are the closest to the reception/restaurant.easy and quick to get stuff inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPujitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A great little hotel on the beach. Miles of sands. Big waves so not a swimming beach. Life jackets supplied for swimming as rip tides. Clean swimming pool and a very long beach to run along. Little bungalows to stay in with hot and cold running water. Tea making facilities in room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 941ChillyPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a good average Sri Lankan hotel, that is soon to be upgraded, according to the management. We enjoyed our stay, food was good and plentiful. Friendly staff.
A problem with our first room was soon dealt with by management. The beach is clean and the beach bar facility is useful.
Management told us that the hotel is to be extended by 15 rooms and a new bigger pool is to be added. You need your own towels for the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knightmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Acess: aprox 5 km from Chilaw town. No Hotel Boards displayed by the side of the road. The hotel is however is on google maps.

Location: Quiet place. Only becomes noisy if there is a party at hotel. Hotel has a private beach area. It is well maintained and has adequate security. No problem from vendors or beggars.

Staff: Most are very friendly. Most of them speak english too.

Room. We stayed in a suite room. Very spacious. Clean. Had a king size bed extra small bed for the kid, a writing table, wall cupboard, safety locker, minibar, tea making facility, 2 arm chairs with a table and a sofa. Had AC. The front door lock was malfunctioning and we could not open it and the hosekeeping did not attend to it properly. This was a real headache because we could not lock the door!!

Bathroom: very well lit bathroom which had a transparent roof. had a mini jacuzzi which was out of order, hot water and clean towels. The flush system was giving problems time to time.

Food: Meals were perfect! Desserts were of poor quality. The Watalappan (Egg and Coconut milk pudding) and Ice cream was low in quality.

Price: For the triple room SL Rs 15000 F/B reasonable. Snacks are also resonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamila75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Carolina Beach Hotel is a quiet, small hotel with 15 rooms in cottage-style. The rooms are well equipped with safety lockers and coffee/tea making facilities. They have their own, very calm and clean beach and also an outdoor swimming pool with a kiddies part. The hotel organize several tours, such as a boat ride in the Chilaw lagoon and whale watching trips. They also have bicycles for rent. The staff is excellent and very friendly, only not everybody speaks English. It is a very good place to stay with children.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GielTammeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilaw
16.3 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,111 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
19.9 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 42 in Negombo
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Anantaya Resort & Spa Chilaw
6.4 mi away
Club Palm Bay Hotel
Club Palm Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Marawila
880 reviews
15.9 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Beach Hotel

Property: Carolina Beach Hotel
Address: Ambakandawila, Chilaw, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Chilaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chilaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing