We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ark B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ark B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Pearly Beach B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Short but nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We only had one night at The Ark, but we felt warmly welcome and have nothing to complain about. The Ark provided with any equipment for warming a meal, relaxing in a living room, kids toys and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank V. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are superb, each has a different feel to it, everything is there for a reason and all the little touches add up to make stunning rooms. The whole place has a real rustic, authentic feel to it. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Steve and Lee both go above and beyond, are happy to sit and chat about what there is to do both locally and further away and gave us suggestions for days out that we'd never have thought of ourselves. The breakfast is delicious. We would completely recommend staying here, best B&B for miles.

We rated "children's activities" as excellent as there are toys and books for the children to play with at The Ark, the rooms were child friendly, the dogs were great with the children and Steve and Lee were both very friendly and chatty. They were happy to sit and listen to our boys telling them all about the whales they spotted and their fantastic adventures so far in South Africa!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet and dark at night. Steve and Lee chose the perfect room for us when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeater, Manager at The Ark B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The B&B of Steve and Lee is really a place to feel like home. The rooms have a personal touch and the beauty auf Pearly beach is hard to describe... long walks on the beach without meeting anybody else is truely possible here and the whole shore is full of beautiful shells.

We enjoed two nights at Steves place and especially the breakfast is worth the stay as well as Steves kind personality and his insider tips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superlumidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Pearly Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very friendly and helpful owner. The ark is close to the sea, however there is no direct sea view from the room. The owner gave us useful tips for dining and where and what to visit. room was up to standard and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alberthofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for some nights and we liked it! Close to the beach, safe area and friendly owner. The room was not that big but comfortable enough for the money payed. Breakfast was ok! Quiet area in Pearly Beach.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilienthal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Ark in January 2013 and found a most relaxing spot in the world. Lovely decorated home by Steve and his wife. Very nice, informative and enjoyable hosts, best breakfast ever, very good value for money. My husband, a friend and myself enjoyed ourselves very much and promised ourselves to repeat this short holiday in the near future.
All the best to Steve and Lee.
Jürgen, Peter and Ute

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ute H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We enjoyed having you all stay with us and are really pleased that you enjoyed it too. It was great chatting with you and we loved your collection of shells. We look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future - to collect more shells!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I found this great place after it was recommended by a friend. We were over from the UK visiting family in Cape Town and wanted to get a way from the main hustle and bustle of Cape Town for a few nights with my brother and mom, while also seeing some of the beauty that South Africa has to offer. We were really happy with the service at the Ark; Steve is a great host and knows a lot about the area. The rooms are good sizes and have great little extras like nice soaps in the bathroom and a hairdryer in the cupboard. The lounge/breakfast area has a fridge that you can use to keep your own food and drink in which is great as you don't have to pop down to the shop all the time. The beach is really close to the Ark and the local watering hole is only a 5 min walk away. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeater, Owner at The Ark B&B, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, Claire B. It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us at The Ark, and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. The dogs missed you all when you left and Alfie was looking for you for a day or so after you had gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pearly Beach
22.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
7.0 mi away
Farm 215 Nature Retreat & Fynbos Reserve
7.7 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#10 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
11.3 mi away
49 on Cliff
49 on Cliff
#2 of 4 in De Kelders
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark B&B

Property: The Ark B&B
Address: 22 Puren Way, Pearly Beach 7220, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Pearly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pearly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ark B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is 2 hours' drive from Cape Town and is situated in a sleepy village. The house sits high on the dunes just 200m from the beach. Come and chill out in tranquil and peaceful surroundings. Marvel at the stars by night, and the milky way. Stunning mountain scenery, and fantastic sunrises and sunsets. The place to be if you are seeking peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing