We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar KamalChaoui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar KamalChaoui
Ranked #1 of 1 Bhalil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Kamal during our month long visit to morocco. Although it has almost been a year since our visit we often talk about how much this part of our trip added to our love and knowledge of Morocco. Beatrice provided us with excellent food- I'd love her recipes! The home was clean, beautiful and full of innovative, environmental design choices! Kamal provided answers to all our questions and offered so much history and information about Moroccan culture. It truly enhanced our experience! Kamal was so accommodating and picked us up from Fes (not far at all) and drove us to Chefchaouen. We look forward to the day we can go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Rgreabeiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    38
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
167
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We decided, as neophytes to North Africa, we should ease into Morocco by staying outside of Fes, in the small hillside village of Bhalil. You simply cannot have a better orientation to Morocco and introduction into Berber life, than a stay at Dar Kamal Chaoui. The Berbers were in Morocco before the Arabs and are a unique culture--well worth a visit. During our stay at this comfortable B&B we were welcomed like old friends and treasured guests by our host, Kamal and his staff. Everything we ate was delicious, and we took most of our meals with family and other guests; the food alone is reason enough to stay here! You can make this your base and take side trips to neighboring villages, or the ancient cities of Fes and Meknes. Watch handcrafts being made by expert artisans. Kamal is a multilingual, superb guide who enthusiastically shares his wealth of information. You can find as much privacy as you need, or visiting and sharing meals with other international travelers. The rooms are fastidiously clean, cozy and comfortable, and simply appointed with local artwork and antiques. As we watched from the rooftop terrace the lights of Fes twinkle in the distance and the sky darken and turn color, as the the sun set, we imagined what it would be like to retire here in a few years!

Room Tip: Up on the rood is a nice, private room with great views from the terrace, or any of the rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamaria, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've arrived to KamalChaoui at the end of this October, after two wearing days in Fes and I was immediately charmed by the house. I arrived with my moroccian guide Mohamed (2 rooms reservation). My comments: the kindness of Kamal and his cooker Nahima, the quietness of the area and the excellent view of all the region, of the terrace.
In the morning an early breakfast was served outdoors. What a nice surprise someone to wake up in the morning and see all these delicious, home made things on the table, waiting for the guests.
The diner in the evening was very well cooked by Nahima. Ι stayed there for 5 nights ( not the same duration for my guide, because he was not acceptable). Very good choice.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank VARVARA8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Bhalil, a small, untouristed village just a few miles from Fez. The rooms are newly remodeled, clean and comfortable, with an eye to European tastes. The food was some of the best we had in our 2 1/2 weeks in Morocco. And the town provides an opportunity for an authentic experience with the locals, entirely outside of the tourist scene. I highly recommend a 1-2 night stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Surfscoter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I got this address from a former guest who visited Kamal a few days ago and who was very pleased ... so I took 2 of my Belgian visitors with me... unexpected but it was a miracle!
After a week in crowded Meknes, the silence of that village and the friendly people were the best medicine. A great place to end their stay. Everything was a real discovery of Moroccan-Berber life: the harmony and creativity of the house, furniture, decoration, the food, ... as a fairytale ... the village, the mountains, the sun on the terrace... my friends loved it a lot and I will go back with all my visitors to let them have the same experience and positive idea about Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marmoucha_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was through the efforts of Kamal (the Riad owner) that we had an authentic cultural experience in the tiny village of Bhalil. Kamal was a wonderful host. He was welcoming, engaged and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The Riad was authentic, stylishly and traditionally furnished with all mod cons. Our room was spacious, very clean and restful. We ate breakfast on the Riad's roof terrace that overlooked the town and surrounding mountains and ate dinner with Kamal and the cook in the kitchen. The food was a treat.
We also paid to go on a I/2 day hike into the mountains with Kamal and met and ate lunch with a Berber family who were very generous and accommodating. This unique experience would not have been possible without Kamal who provided a unique bridge between western and Moroccan culture.
Kamal also introduced us to a number of local Bhalil residents: the baker Aziz, the tailor Wahid, sundry children and their mothers. This provided us with the opportunity to share and discuss observations and practical and philosophical matters with Kamal acting as translator. This really enriched our experience and gave us a better understanding of Bhalil and Moroccan culture in general - which was invaluable in our month long travels in Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped in Bhalil after a few days traveling in the desert on the way to Fez. It was a lovely transition from the Morocco's more desolate parts (which was fantastic too) to village life and before busier Fez. Kamal's Dar is comfortable with sweet special touches (hot water bottle in bed for extra night time warmth!) and, I think he has the best cook in all of Morocco. We had the best tagine there of our whole trip. Kamal himself is a wonderful story teller and we got great insights into Morrocan culture, politics and village life. We really enjoyed meadering around the village with him - Bhalil has an interesting history and we got a little glimpse of it with Kamal's guidance. If what you seek is interesting narrative (fluently in English or French) then Dar Kamal is a good choice. We'd totally go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhalil
9.3 mi away
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
#48 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
11.4 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#46 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.8 mi away
Complexe Touristique Diamant Vert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
14.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
15.9 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar KamalChaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar KamalChaoui

Property: Dar KamalChaoui
Address: 60 Kaf Rhouni | First on the Right Climbing Up After the Banque Populaire, Bhalil 31100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Bhalil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bhalil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar KamalChaoui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guests house is located in an Authentic village called Bhalil, this village is 24km close to Fez. How to come to Bhalil: A Grand Taxi shuttle is easy to catch from Bhalil to Sefrou located 3km from Bhalil for 3,5 Dirhams per person and needs 5 min to Serou, then catch a Grand Taxi at the same place from Sefrou to Fez, this time it will last 30 min and will cost 12 Dirhams per person, you can also ask us to bring you in our car for 25€ door to door. How to find us in Bhalil: have a look at Google map : Get enchanted by the view from our terrace direct to very close mountains, hundreds fields of olive trees are easily visible all around along with Fez city up there. Beds are hard and very confortable, quality is everywhere, food are fresh safe and tasty, we have European eyes to provide you European standards, safety and confort. We invite you to experience journeys with spiritual intention. Our tours blend authentic cross-cultural encounters with educational programs, recreational activities and life-changing adventure. We aim to take you into the hearts of our culture and to provide unique opportunities for learning, inspiration and personal discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar KamalChaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing