We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Palazzo Radimiri is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location but there were quite a few problems experienced.

Firstly, a few weeks after we made our booking, the hotel decided to put the prices up. Rather than honour the price we booked it at, the hotel said we could pay the new prices or get a refund on our deposit. I found this pretty bad service but after a few strongly worded emails back and forth, we managed to reach a compromise. It must be said that this hotel was already over-priced considering general prices in Montenegro.

Upon arrival, our rooms were not ready and there was a problem. We had booked a family room for 4 people but they decided to turn this room into a double room without informing us. Fortunately, the hotel was only half full so there were plenty of rooms to go around which they provided with no hassle.

One of the rooms we got was amazingly beautiful and the other was just bad. If you want to stay here, make sure you get the Glorioso room. It has a balcony with stunning views of the bay. The room itself is also very beautifuly done and comfortable.

The Civille room, on the other hand, is not good at all. There is only a tiny envelope of a window to the bay so no real view. The worst thing is that the bathroom smells VERY strongly like a sewer. It's so strong that the entire room smells of sewerage which was digusting. This aside, the bathroom is awful as well, you need to take a shower in almost complete darkness due to poor lighting and only a midget could actually stand up without banging their head on the roof. Very uncomfortable.

We had half board only because we were forced to (I'd much rather eat locally). Breakfasts were great - one of the biggest spreads of food I've seen. Dinners were not so great. They served nice soups but the main dishes and desserts were poor.

Service was variable. I got the feeling that they're still not sure what customers expect. This hotel is trying to be boutique and upmarket but really needs to get a few of the basics right first. It has potential and it's certainly a great location but it's too hit and miss.

  • Liked — One room was great
  • Disliked — The other was awful
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TyceJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    63
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Although we did book the cheapest room we were very disappointed to find it was in the loft and you could not even look out at the view because it was velux windows. Expensive in comparison to other hotels we stayed in.
The coffee at breakfast was revolting and the evening meal was only slightly warm both nights we were there.
No safe in the room.
On the plus side it was a picturesque location.

  • Liked — Furnished extremely nicely
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We were guests for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. Given the small size of this hotel there is real personal touch to the hospitality. Each room is named after a boat -our room was Teseo. The view from our room was beautiful while the room itself and the ensuite were of a very good standard. Some people may find this room on the small side but we were more than happy with it. We thought the breakfasts were great but would'nt have been as enthusiastic about the evening meals. Having said that we didnt see many nice restaurants in Kotor so we were glad we were staying half board. One of the guests we met told us this was his third visit to this region and his view was that this was the best hotel in the Kotor Bay area. We would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again if we visit Montenegro.

  • Liked — The spectacular location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IrelandDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in June2008. The hotel was very difficult to find, there were no signs from the main road. Even the taxi drivers weren't sure where it was. Upon arrival at the hotel the staff most accomodating and friendly.

The room was small but luxurious with again small but well appointed bathroom (we stayed in Lecos - same as Teseo). Views from the room were absolutely stunning (see photos).

The communal areas were what you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel. The pool was small but very quiet. The area for lounging on the bay is idyllic. You do have to cross the road but this is very quiet with little traffic.

The breakfast is typical for a hotel, ample but nothing special. We ate 2 evening meals in the hotel (we were only b&b - believe peak season rates include hb) which were excellent and extremely well priced. In fact all drinks in the hotel were surprisingly inexpensive.

Kotor is a 5-10 minute drive and cost approximately 5 euro. The town was nice but we also spent time a week in Budva and found its old town prettier with better bars and restaurants and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location - swimming in the bay. Food.
  • Disliked — Trying to find the place
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I have to say that by and large the staff at this hotel were very helpful and attentive, however the Hotel itself is a big disappointment. Our room (and it was the the cheapest) was hugely over priced and cramped. It smelt of sewage, which admittedly was not the fault of the hotel but of the civic authorities who were laying a massive pipeline in true Montenegran style. The immediate surrounds were also disappointing, too claustrophobic, the hotel being tightly squeezed between the lake (which is enchanting), its lake side road and the busier trunk road behind. The views were at least impressive, although there is much building work going on the length and breadth of the coastal region.

Breakfast was of a low quality, and there was half finished repair work in the breakfast area. Although there was no restaurant in operation when we stayed, the restaurant room itself lacked any character. The pool was solar heated and because of the appalling weather was not usable. Overall I wished I had holidayed in my own country.

  • Liked — The quiet
  • Disliked — Sewage smell
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This is a boutique hotel and consequently it is intimate and unique. The location is stunning being right next to the waterfront - the hotel has its own deep water mooring for yachts of up to 60 foot.

The fittings and materials used in this hotel are very expensive but the finish and attention to detail in places is not the best. These could be teething problems though as the hotel only opened last year.

At 100 EUR a night (off peak) for a standard room, this hotel is pricey when compared with other hotels which are not in the centre of Kotor. Standard rooms are small but well equipped - no baths though in the smaller rooms which for some will be an issue.

The sauna is good but the gym basic. There is a swimming pool - one of these resistance pool efforts. We didn't try it but it certainly looked impressive.

In summary, this is a good hotel for people who want to stay right on the water. Parking maybe limited in summer because there is probably only room for 7 or 8 cars on the narrow little road which leads from the main road.

Sign posts to this place are useless to keep your eyes peeled for signs for the beach / coast road as soon as you enter Dobrota.

Well worth a diversion - the Star Mlini restaurant 1km away is absolutely brilliant.

  • Liked — You are right on the water
  • Disliked — Poor finish in places and it is very hard to find
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

LOCATION: Great, not excellent. The only way it could be better is if there were more restaurants in reasonable walking distance. There is one that is next door (expensive and not so good) that and there are about 7+ more within about a 30 minute walk. Probably a good hour walk to the old town, 5 minutes by car. Splendid hotel is most likely in a similar situation on a less charming side of town with fewer restaurants. Hotel is on the water with excellent views of the water and mountains from rooms.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is comfortable if not a little on the hard side. Sheets are very good but not totally soft and luxurious as I was expecting. Pillows are thin and very comfortable.

LIGHTING: A little dark in the room and tons of light in the bathroom. Burned out bulbs throughout the property (and one in our room) weren’t replaced.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Nice bathroom, good shower pressure, excellent soft towels. Only complaint here is that the bathroom is very small and the shower area is also tiny.

TOILETRIES: The kind you want to take home; Etro brand. In 5 days, they never replaced them once (although they were used but never empty).

CLEANLINESS: The entire property and room was very clean.

A/C: In room but didn’t use.

CLOSET SPACE: Good amount of space for 2 people

STYLE OF ROOM: Standard room category (not the rooms in the attic). The room was small but had very nice with high quality antique style furnishings. Rock wall in the room was a great touch

QUIET/LIGHT: Rooms were very quiet. There was construction going on in the hotel that didn’t bother us unless in the breakfast area. The room let in more light than we would like with the morning sun.

FOOD: Breakfast was fine. Choice of 2 cereals, yoghurt, mediocre coffee, and meats that were left out for a while. Breakfast ends at 10:00 to 10:30A. No restaurant in the hotel. Great looking bar in a different area.

TV/INTERNET: Great flat screen TV. Only complaint is that you have to rent a DVD player at 5 euros per day but that includes unlimited free movies (not in English). We rented the DVD player and bought movies at the big grocery store in town on the middle entrance to the street the hotel is on. They are available for $1.50 Euros or you can rent newer DVDs directly across the street. Internet is 5 Euros per day (wired in room) and it was fast but somewhat sporadic.

SERVICE: The staff is excellent! Very helpful and pleasant. Of course, being a small hotel there is not staff 24 hours and sometime the staff was difficult to find during normal hours. Often the phone to call the front desk would just ring with no answer. Not a big deal. Any charges other than for the room must be paid in cash (drinks, DVD, etc.).

COMMON AREA: The hotel is gorgeous. It is an old mansion and it’s definitely a unique experience. The bar area is also beautiful (kind of “W” hotel style).

TIPS: This hotel has a small street between it and the sea. Not a big deal, but that was a surprise to me upon check-in. Checked out the other nice hotel outside of the walls, the splendid hotel. The pluses of this hotel is that it is on the water with no street between. Also, they have a pool with a view of the water and a better place to worship the sun. The main advantage of the Splendid is the tiny beach. If your main goal is to hang out in the sun, you may prefer the Splendid. If you want a hotel that is smaller, more charming, with way nicer & more luxurious rooms (based on the splendid brochure), I would suggest the Palazzo. To me, the Palazzo is a more unique experience and would be my choice if I was to return. It would be best to have your own car as the trip from Dubrovnik is easy (avoid EuropCar/Auto Europe and Sixt due to overcharges). The construction is for more hotel rooms, a gym, and a massage room. By the way the restaurant Stari Milni (with all the billboards everywhere) is fantastic! This is one hotel in which you may want to upgrade your room to get one that isn’t so small. Stay here and you will be happy.

  • Liked — Unique Hotel
  • Disliked — A decent walk to most restaurants
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
68 reviews
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 9 in Tivat Municipality
283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#3 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
109 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Radomiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Radomiri Hotel

Property: Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Address: Dobrota 220 | Kotor 85330, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Radomiri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary historical hotel, nested in an early 18th century captains palace, on the waterfront of Boka Bay in Montenegro, restored to breathtaking excellence, opens the door to exquisite guests to enjoy delicious food to everybody's taste, made by a renown chef and served on a pleasurable terrace where silence is broken only by the sound of sea waves at the arm length from the dining tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Radomiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Radomiri Palazzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing