We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I have to say that by and large the staff at this hotel were very helpful and attentive, however the Hotel itself is a big disappointment. Our room (and it was the the cheapest) was hugely over priced and cramped. It smelt of sewage, which admittedly was not the fault of the hotel but of the civic authorities who were laying a massive pipeline in true Montenegran style. The immediate surrounds were also disappointing, too claustrophobic, the hotel being tightly squeezed between the lake (which is enchanting), its lake side road and the busier trunk road behind. The views were at least impressive, although there is much building work going on the length and breadth of the coastal region.

Breakfast was of a low quality, and there was half finished repair work in the breakfast area. Although there was no restaurant in operation when we stayed, the restaurant room itself lacked any character. The pool was solar heated and because of the appalling weather was not usable. Overall I wished I had holidayed in my own country.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DaveAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 325 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

This is a boutique hotel and consequently it is intimate and unique. The location is stunning being right next to the waterfront - the hotel has its own deep water mooring for yachts of up to 60 foot.

The fittings and materials used in this hotel are very expensive but the finish and attention to detail in places is not the best. These could be teething problems though as the hotel only opened last year.

At 100 EUR a night (off peak) for a standard room, this hotel is pricey when compared with other hotels which are not in the centre of Kotor. Standard rooms are small but well equipped - no baths though in the smaller rooms which for some will be an issue.

The sauna is good but the gym basic. There is a swimming pool - one of these resistance pool efforts. We didn't try it but it certainly looked impressive.

In summary, this is a good hotel for people who want to stay right on the water. Parking maybe limited in summer because there is probably only room for 7 or 8 cars on the narrow little road which leads from the main road.

Sign posts to this place are useless to keep your eyes peeled for signs for the beach / coast road as soon as you enter Dobrota.

Well worth a diversion - the Star Mlini restaurant 1km away is absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

LOCATION: Great, not excellent. The only way it could be better is if there were more restaurants in reasonable walking distance. There is one that is next door (expensive and not so good) that and there are about 7+ more within about a 30 minute walk. Probably a good hour walk to the old town, 5 minutes by car. Splendid hotel is most likely in a similar situation on a less charming side of town with fewer restaurants. Hotel is on the water with excellent views of the water and mountains from rooms.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is comfortable if not a little on the hard side. Sheets are very good but not totally soft and luxurious as I was expecting. Pillows are thin and very comfortable.

LIGHTING: A little dark in the room and tons of light in the bathroom. Burned out bulbs throughout the property (and one in our room) weren’t replaced.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Nice bathroom, good shower pressure, excellent soft towels. Only complaint here is that the bathroom is very small and the shower area is also tiny.

TOILETRIES: The kind you want to take home; Etro brand. In 5 days, they never replaced them once (although they were used but never empty).

CLEANLINESS: The entire property and room was very clean.

A/C: In room but didn’t use.

CLOSET SPACE: Good amount of space for 2 people

STYLE OF ROOM: Standard room category (not the rooms in the attic). The room was small but had very nice with high quality antique style furnishings. Rock wall in the room was a great touch

QUIET/LIGHT: Rooms were very quiet. There was construction going on in the hotel that didn’t bother us unless in the breakfast area. The room let in more light than we would like with the morning sun.

FOOD: Breakfast was fine. Choice of 2 cereals, yoghurt, mediocre coffee, and meats that were left out for a while. Breakfast ends at 10:00 to 10:30A. No restaurant in the hotel. Great looking bar in a different area.

TV/INTERNET: Great flat screen TV. Only complaint is that you have to rent a DVD player at 5 euros per day but that includes unlimited free movies (not in English). We rented the DVD player and bought movies at the big grocery store in town on the middle entrance to the street the hotel is on. They are available for $1.50 Euros or you can rent newer DVDs directly across the street. Internet is 5 Euros per day (wired in room) and it was fast but somewhat sporadic.

SERVICE: The staff is excellent! Very helpful and pleasant. Of course, being a small hotel there is not staff 24 hours and sometime the staff was difficult to find during normal hours. Often the phone to call the front desk would just ring with no answer. Not a big deal. Any charges other than for the room must be paid in cash (drinks, DVD, etc.).

COMMON AREA: The hotel is gorgeous. It is an old mansion and it’s definitely a unique experience. The bar area is also beautiful (kind of “W” hotel style).

TIPS: This hotel has a small street between it and the sea. Not a big deal, but that was a surprise to me upon check-in. Checked out the other nice hotel outside of the walls, the splendid hotel. The pluses of this hotel is that it is on the water with no street between. Also, they have a pool with a view of the water and a better place to worship the sun. The main advantage of the Splendid is the tiny beach. If your main goal is to hang out in the sun, you may prefer the Splendid. If you want a hotel that is smaller, more charming, with way nicer & more luxurious rooms (based on the splendid brochure), I would suggest the Palazzo. To me, the Palazzo is a more unique experience and would be my choice if I was to return. It would be best to have your own car as the trip from Dubrovnik is easy (avoid EuropCar/Auto Europe and Sixt due to overcharges). The construction is for more hotel rooms, a gym, and a massage room. By the way the restaurant Stari Milni (with all the billboards everywhere) is fantastic! This is one hotel in which you may want to upgrade your room to get one that isn’t so small. Stay here and you will be happy.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

It's hard to describe the incredible beauty of this former 17th century baroque palace that's now an upscale boutique hotel just a stone's throw from Kotor. It sits right on the bay with beathtaking, majestic views. The rooms have been graciously restored with exposed stone, fine linens, and luxury baths (each is named after ships that sailed outside its doors a century ago). And it's the best value we found on our trip: 180 Euros for a 2-bedroom family suite. This kind of hotel would cost you $900 bucks a night in the USA. The price includes a breakfast spread (you name it, it's there) AND dinner. There's a pool, bar, outdoor patio, and a dock right on the water. The staff, Gina and Nicola, speak terrific English and are genuinely sweet. Construction is underway on additional 20 rooms in the back of the existing palace. They were so considerate they didn't even make a peep of construction noise until we were at breakfast.

I couldn't find a single flaw in this hotel. And after climbing the walls of Kotor and breathing diesel all the way down the road from Dubrovnik, this was a welcome stop.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Spent 5 nights in the Palazzo Radomiri in Dobrota, in the honeymoon suite. Room to a high standard with nice furniture and sitting area. Little balcony over looking the Bokor with great views. Dinner in restaurant good as were the breakfasts. Nice swimming pool albeit small but swimming platform at front of hotel is where people spend most time. Loungers and towels provided. English spoken with friendly staff. They are expanding accomadation and parking areas and are planning a small gym and spa complex. appx 45 minute walk to Kotor old town along quiet road.
Would recommend the restaurant that is 5 mins drive away called Stari Mlini, the steaks are to die for. Taxi less than 3 euros and reservation a must.

7  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Com vistas para o lago
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 78Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
175 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
225 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Radomiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Radomiri Hotel

Address: Dobrota 220 | Kotor 85330, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range: $192 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Radomiri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary historical hotel, nested in an early 18th century captains palace, on the waterfront of Boka Bay in Montenegro, restored to breathtaking excellence, opens the door to exquisite guests to enjoy delicious food to everybody's taste, made by a renown chef and served on a pleasurable terrace where silence is broken only by the sound of sea waves at the arm length from the dining tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Radomiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Radomiri Palazzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing