We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
28
14
1
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
14
1
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiwi fruitate hererelaxing holidaykotor bayold towneurosseaapartmentwatersideswimming
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2017

Small apt with no view on 4 day trip, paid up for on first night. Day: one Bad smell in bathroom. Complained and was ignored. Had brekky and was not good. A poor breakfast for 10 euro a head, it was simple food, no variety and nothing we liked. Day: 2 smell still in bathroom, complained again in morning, it was a sewerage problem and asked to b moved to another room. Was told that there was no smell in room. I was sleeping with the smell all night, I felt like I could smell it off my clothes. Stood my ground about the smell. Was told I could pack my bags and leave if I didn't like it. I had paid for 4 nights up front. What a bad attitude, didn't get a monkeys about us. Wouldn't rec have bad attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HarryF899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Babilon restaurant is well worth a visit. Beautiful outdoor seating with the most stunning views or inside, where we sat, under a most unusual kiwi fruit vine covered area. A great talking point! Food was very good with a variety of meat, fish and pasta dishes. Staff were great, very friendly and obliging. We were a party of six and during our week stay we ate here three times. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank LizzieB245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely lunch by the waterside which consisted of spag Bol and chicken Parmesan. The portion was just perfect, the waiter was very friendly and attentive and the view was just stunning. Please don't be put off by the other reviews as they are mostly apartment issues, the restaurant is lovely and food is hearty!
Highly recommend

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sinead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

My friend and I stayed at Apartments Babilon in Kotor, Dobrota for a few days and it was definitely our worst experience in terms of hotel and accommodation. There are many problems with this place. Firstly, our reservation was for a “double-bedroom” apartment but we ended up staying at a single bedroom apartment. Apparently, the owner family thinks that the living room-type area at the entrance of the apartment is considered as a separate bedroom. When we complained about this, they did not do anything about it. So, one of us ended up sleeping at this weird lounge-type spot where there is a fridge and a microwave oven. It was clear that the advertisement for the apartment was misleading.

There are many other and more serious problems with this place. Firstly, there is a hygiene problem. The hotel was not clean and there was always a horrible smell everywhere. It smelled so bad that we ended up leaving the hotel as soon as we woke up and did not want to get back to it and this continued for 5 days. When we asked the owner why there was such bad smell in the hotel, he said it was the kiwis that smelled! I did not know kiwis in Kotor smelled like toilet! In addition, the staff has a hygiene problem; one of the waiters who served in the restaurant was constantly sweating. It was really disgusting to see him with sweat all over his face when he was serving food and coffee! Also, please note that most of the staff does not speak English. Unless the owner or his son is there, you are stuck with staff who can barely understand what you are saying. This should not be the case when you claim to be a professional hotel that serves tourists from all over the world.

We had lunch and dinner at Babilon on the day we arrived there and the food was good. So, we thought the breakfast would be good as well but unfortunately that was not the case. They charge 10 euros for breakfast per person but that thing they call ‘breakfast’ is not even worth 1 euro! Cold and terrible omelet, cheese that looked like it was sliced up days ago, margarine instead of butter, fruit that looked really miserable, and cheap coffee.. After we had breakfast there on our first morning, we decided we would not repeat the same mistake again so we ended up going to other hotels nearby for breakfast for the rest of our trip. There are many other alternatives nearby to have much better breakfast. For example, at Palazzo Radomiri which is a historical 4-star hotel, they charge 15 euros for breakfast and it is open buffet style and very rich and delicious! For 5 euros extra, we had real breakfast and we loved it. In fact, after our first day at Babilon, we never had any breakfast, lunch or dinner there and we went to other hotels nearby to eat. Even at 4 stars and 5 stars hotels (Forza Terra, Forza Merra) that are located near by, the price range for food is similar to Babilon’s. So, we thought, “why eat at Babilon when we can have much better food with more professional service at a proper and clean environment with a very similar price range”.

Another problem we experienced at Babilon was the attitude of the owner and his son. On our first day there, we asked for their help to arrange a boat tour. They ended up making a reservation for a speed boat without asking about our preferences. My friend and I had to pay for something that was not what we asked for (we wanted to do a tour on a regular boat that takes longer to cruise around) and we ended up having a really bad backache for days because we had to sit on the front end of a speed boat for 3 hours! When we tried to discuss this with the owner and his son who made our reservation for the boat, they did not want to listen and simply said “oh so you should not have asked for a boat tour.” This is certainly not a professional and kind manner; instead of apologizing and saying “sorry, we had to ask for your preferences regarding the boat before making a reservation”, they acted like it was our fault to ask for a boat tour.

In sum, we had a dreadful experience at Babilon and we will definitely not choose this place ever again. We had a great time at other hotels near by when we had our meals and used their beaches. We will definitely pick one of those hotels next time we go to Kotor. Why would someone pick Babilon that failed on everything when you have much better alternatives close by?!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra M, Manager at Restaurant & Apartments Babilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Bigesa,

It is with regret I read your review posted on September 8. First and foremost I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, as here at Babilon the principle of customer care to our valued guests and the enjoyment of their stay is our priority at all times.

However, I must admit I was waiting for this remarkably creative piece of writing from either you or your friend. Either you have a twisted sense of reality or you are simply full of it. Nevertheless, let me clear a few points out for curious readers.

You have gladly accepted the “double bedroom” apartment at check in, and after the first night even reported to us how much you are enjoying your stay and complimented the beautiful view from the apartment. I am not sure at which point you changed your mind, but I wish you expressed your disliking of the apartment earlier during your stay so we could actually work on this issue.

Furthermore, we were very surprised to read the negative comment about the hygiene in our “hotel”, especially since we didn’t have any similar complaints from other guests or from you in person. I’d like to point out that even though you left a very detailed review you failed to specify what exactly was “not clean” on our property so that we can improve it, in case this part of the review is actually not bogus. However, we would like to apologize in the name of our company and in the name of our waiters for them being human, which unfortunately means that sometimes, on + 40°C, while uniformed, you can see "their face sweat".

Regarding the boat tour, we’d like to kindly remind you that we asked for your preference, and informed you of the prices and options of different tours we are offering, after which you decided to book a group tour instead of a private one. Furthermore, we’d like to remind you that you didn’t pay anything in advance, no one forced you to enter the speed boat at the beginning of the tour, and you could’ve canceled it anytime before actually stepping on the speedboat and starting the tour. However, this was not the case and you gladly entered the speedboat, knowing the exact tour program, price and duration and then at the end of the trip - refused to pay.

Sorry to read about the rest but judging by your above-addressed claims, I believe your credibility is questionable.

We’d like to point out that we received various complaints from our other guests and staff addressed at your inappropriate behavior, including making a dramatic scene at our beach restaurant, disrespect of our house rules and the noise coming from your apartment. Furthermore, the (speed) boat owner of the group tour you took complained that you’ve made the whole tour wait for 40 minutes longer than predicted on Mamula island as you failed to show up at the pre-arranged meeting point in time. Needless to say, you did not make this a pleasant tour for your fellow group-tour travelers, the captain or the boat owner.

Therefore, if you do plan to re-visit Montenegro please do remember that rude and aggressive behavior towards our guests, staff and partners is not tolerated in our Babilon and that clients who act in this manner are not welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the apartment Babilon for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was perfect , very clean and comfortable. The superking bed was excellent. The cleaners came everyday and maintained the flat to a high standard . We had a fridge and a microwave which allowed us to have breakfast in our room everyday. The location was convenient as the apartment is outside of kotor yet within walkable distance (4.4 km) which meant that it was a lot quieter than staying in the old town and the sea was much cleaner. Taxi fare was 7/8 euros but we had to barter for that which is rather annoying. Swimming was easy from a terrasse situated opposite the apartment with free use of sunbeds and beach towels provided. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English . We ate at the restaurant every night and it had a good choice of food. The prices were fair however fresh local fish can be expensive but you can have really tasty dishes like grilled squid with the typical potato and spinach mash for 12 euros. The waiters were very helpful and attentive. The views from the dining area at night are simply divine. A great stay ! Would definitely visit again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Francoise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra M, Owner at Restaurant & Apartments Babilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Francoise,

Many thanks for taking time to leave a review for our Babilon!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd like to let you know it was a great pleasure to host and meet you. We wish to have more guest like you! If you decide to visit Montenegro again, you are always welcome in our Babilon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews