We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montenegro Hostel 4U
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right next to the beach.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Not a far walk from the bus station and was the easiest hostel to find on our travels. The place is right next to the beach which was nice and quiet to relax on during the day. The rooms were nice with air conditioning and a bathroom for each room. The common room was nice as well, with a kitchen, sofas, tables, tv and computer. The only negative was that people kept getting switched around to different rooms and so when i came back from the beach one day, i found someone else's stuff all over the bed i was told i was sleeping in. The hostel staff had no idea herself what had happened as she had shown me the bed that morning. At midnight, i still hadn't found who's stuff it was and so went back to the lady and asked what was happening. Looking not very happy that i had asked, the women looked around and found an empty bed, laid it and said i was sleeping there instead. So not the greatest organisation I thought and from other travelers they felt the same. However for the price and the brilliant location, i would recommend travelers to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    15
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
10
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hostel is fine. It has a mix of dorm rooms with a slightly unusual layout that separates the dorms a bit more which I think makes it more comfortable. It is fairly clean. The bathrooms are in need of repair/upgrade and smell bad. It is about a 20 min walk from the bus station with a pack on. It is located across the road from a small beach and 50m from a small grocery store. The hostel has air conditioning in the dorm rooms which is good in summer. It is a friendly place that is good but nothing special. There is a small kitchen for self catering on the top floor in the common room. The common room is closed at about 10-11pm each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Worse hostel till now. Didn't feel like home at all, booked via hostelworld, but they didn't check their e-mail so it was not sure if there was a bed for us....! Everything is chaos, hostel is occupied by students, which feels weird, like people living at the hostel. So now traveller atmosphere at all. Was not clean. Location is good, it is cheap and we slept, but that was all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerrrr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The hostel is right by the water and there are a few bars and restaurants allong the front. The old town is a 10-15 minute walk away but quite a pleasant walk. If you go in the west entrance by the shopping mall that is a quick way to get into the old town. Our room was clean but it was pretty hot. We happened to be there when it was 40 degrees though!

The owner/manager is hilarious! very dry sense of humour that seems to have upset some visitors but he is a really cool guy and looks like Charlie Sheen! We found him very helpfull. The hostel was very friendly and we would highly recomend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGCD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

So far my worst hostel / hotel / homestay / B&B whatever experience.

These three things really pushed me to the limits with the staff here..

1 - No fan / AC in the room on a hot and humid summer day with temperatures hitting 34 deg C. When asked for a fan we were told that there are no fans in the premises.. funny

2 - Booked an en suite room and ended up with a room without a toilet, a toilet near the common lounge area is supposedly the toilet for your use, it had a board stuck on it which read "This toilet belongs to the private en suite room" there were no keys provided to the toilet, this toilet is a launderette with washing machine and dryer inside.

3- All our questions to the staff were responded with a standard and straight face replies of "NO"

Well typically one dosen't expect much out of a hostel but when owners don't keep up to the promises made during booking, it is very annoying... This hostel unfortunately way down that path.

My suggestion is "DO NOT STAY" here....

Room Tip: Do not book the en suite room chances are you will end up with a room with a common toilet next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean, safe, great value, free parking, wifi in rooms, huge lockers next to bed.

I stayed for a full day and a night. Lovely place, great location. The beach is 5 steps away across the road, Kotor old town is a 10 minute leisurely walk.
The rooms are clean, nicely air-conditioned and wireless internet worked in my room.
I travelled by car and It is actually very easy to find but my GPS system didn't know the address and sent me driving into walls and up windy streets narrower then my car ... before you go, look up the address and spot and print it off Google Maps or similar.
I called the hostel and the owner (?) (or maybe 'just' the guy that worked there) came to pick me up when I couldn't find the place. I parked at a nearby shopping mall and he walked there and drove back with me. Super!!
Very nice people, a variety of travelers and clean and safe. And cheap. What more do you want?
Enjoy Kotor!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was good, a little small (mind you I had a BIG suitcase). Comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montenegro Hostel 4U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montenegro Hostel 4U

Property: Montenegro Hostel 4U
Address: Donji put bb, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montenegro hostel 4u is a wonderful hostel a few meters from the beach great location! Which is just a 5 minute walk to the old town, 10 min from the bus station. It has a beautiful view of the sea and mountains. Hostel Montenegro 4U and cooperate with the restaurant provides breakfast, lunch, dinner with incredible low prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing