We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homely place, short walk to town and a lovely breakfast”
Review of Vila Panonija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Panonija
Ranked #1 of 5 Dobrota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice homely place, short walk to town and a lovely breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night whilst on a arecent visit to the Monetenegro coast.

Being off-season I got a very good rate, although the Vila still had several other guests so seems to be popular year round.

It's quite easy to find, and benefits from having it's name on the sign posts as you approach Kotor on the main roads from either Budva or Perast direction. You can be inside the old town of Kotor in a shade over 5 minutes, so the location is very good. Just far enough from the centre so you're not constantly bumping into cruise ship passengers, but close enough that you won't be put off nipping to the old town for a drink or food.

The rooms are quite sizeable, I booked a twin room on the top floor which had plenty of space for 2 beds and a sofa and table. There is a separate en-suite bathroom which is also of a good size. The room feels very homely but is also very clean.

A breakfast is included in the price, and I was most impressed with this. I had a ham omelette, with a selection of cold meat and cheese along with bread, fruit and orange juice. certainly sets you up well for the day ahead.

I'd definitely go back again when I'm next in the area, well recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Vila Panonija is a refreshing break from the soulless, characterless hotel giants that epitomise so many coastal towns. Our apartment was on the top floor of the hotel and had 2 rooms plus a balcony (with chairs, a table and good views over the fjord). It had two double beds, fab air-conditioning (with controls that worked) and although not palatial was faultlessly clean. The staff were amazingly hospitable and charming and always smiled as we came and went. No, they didn't speak much English but they tried hard and we were always greeted with a "ciao!" Breakfast was perfectly adequate and there was always the option of fresh fruit, bread, local cheeses and prosciutto (we certainly didn't miss the huge buffet of processed meats, under-ripe fruit and reconstituted scrambled egg of the bigger hotels). The coffee was exceptional...perfectly made espresso, with hot milk if you wanted it.

The location of the hotel is ideal: a stone's throw from the water and 15mins walk - we timed it - to the old town (which although beautiful is notoriously noisy at night and therefore staying outside is advisable). It also is right by a string of waterfront restaurants which, as they are outside of the old town, offer very good value food and you are attended by staff who are far more friendly than those in the centre of town who have to work far less hard for custom.

Do bear in mind that this is a small hotel in a country where commercial tourism is years behind neighbouring countries such as Croatia. If you want the faceless corporate service of a chain hotel, carry on round the coast to Budva; if you want something a little more personal with individual charm (not to mention great value) I'd happily recommend Vila Panonija.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocelotpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is possibly one of the best locations for those seeking to be near all of the action but not the noise.
Vila Panonija offers a peaceful setting yet is a short stroll to Stari Grad- Kotor and is approximately 30 m from the Sea.
The staff is extremely sweet & hospitable. This small hotel offers ambience, charm and is impeccably clean.
We were on the 2nd floor and surprisingly had nice views from the serene balcony.
The free breakfast kept us full for most of the day. They served us fresh local fruits, bread, prosciutto, cheeses (& Kajmak!), omelets
& espresso. A great value for the money & a wonderful experience.
We hope it stays the same the next time we return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilliann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
321 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

After 2 weeks traveling around in the balkans, we decided to make Kotor the last stop before going back to the airport in Podgorica. As it was a sudden decision, we had not prepared ourselves with any adresses, but we had seen quite a lot of "rooms" signs so we took a chance. We took a drive along the waterfront until we saw a sign. The bed and breakfast could not accomodate 3 people so when I got back to the car, I saw an even smaller sign pointing up a small alley where I discovered Hotel Pannonija. I was met by two older ladies who showed me a room with 2 beds and a sofa. The sofa could easily be transfered to a bed and as it looked OK, I accepted the room at a rate of 78 euro for 3 persons. The bill later specified room 57 euro, breakfast 5 euro/pp (it was plenty of bread butter marmalade, omelette, coffe, juice) and tax 2 euro/pp.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel had probably had a couple of stars some decades ago but the place was unfortunately declining.
Our room, the left room on the second floor was a bit too small for the furniture. There were bedlamps on both sides but only one outlet which was used for the refrigerator. The cupboard doors could not be entirelly opened as the double bed was in the way. Bad luck if you want to use the safe or borrow the bathrobes.
A door took you out to a huge roof terrace that has potential to be real nice if cleaned and supplied with some deck chairs.
Best of all was the location. Walking distance to beach and old town. Parking outside the hotel or just 50 m away at the waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobbelkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dobrota
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Panonija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Panonija

Property: Vila Panonija
Address: Dobrota 1, Dobrota, Kotor Municipality 85331, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Dobrota
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Panonija 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing