We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely friendly welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoke Albany B&B and Inns
Codicote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely friendly welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as we were going to a wedding close by and didn't fancy the run of the mill 'hotels'.
The room was quite small but had everything you could possibly need including an iron and ironing board. The bed was exceptionally comfortable! The whole room was spotlessly clean and I cannot fault it.
The breakfast was gorgeous! A choice of cooked and continental, with fresh fruit and juice.
I felt the price was a little high based on the location and size of the room but I wasn't disappointed at all.
The one thing that really stood out for me was the friendliness of all the staff, every member of the team wished us good morning on passing! Funny how the simplest of things which actually cost nothing make the biggest impression!
Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
20
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

They squeezed us in at the last minute thanks to a late cancellation. Staff were most helpful. Our room was above average in size and the bed most comfortable. The evening meal was distinctly better than in most pubs serve - perhaps a little shy of top quality gastro-pub fare, but very close indeed and far better value for the quality. Breakfast was excellent - they even had gluten free bread available. Clearly a popular place with locals for a drink or eating out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was a very Nice burger, with nice peppercorn sauce, however there was an inadequate amount of chips. I feel as thought the chef was being a tight c***. Excellent prompt service both at the bar and while sat at our table but the chips were still s***. I can not stress the disappointment and sadness I felt when I saw the number of chips I was served.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WishIhadMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have had some wonderful meals at this pub over the years but have also had two total disasters. Last weekend we were served rancid pâté, that the kitchen agreed was off and poorly cooked steaks. Rather than simply apologising the management became defensive and said that their regular chef had to go to their sister establishment for a large function so they had temporary staff. Two years ago when we went with a group of 12 for a birthday dinner we sent at least 4 meals back and again the management became defensive rather than apologetic because the regular chef was away at another function. People do understand that things can go wrong but there is no excuse for poor handling of the situation. A simple apology with an offer of recompense would go a long way to maintaining loyalty. It will now be at least 2 years before our group of diners will be back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokopelli2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
755 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Whilst travelling through Leicestershire we happened upon this Inn at about lunch time. What a fortunate coincidence. A typical country Inn, serving traditional pub lunches to a very high quality, and in a beautiful rural setting. OK, the fact that it was a sunny day helped - there are 2 sets of garden seating to chose from. But that does not take anything away from the quality of the food and the service. We both had omelette (one spanish, the other chorizo and mozzarella), with chips and salad - both excellent. The garden we chose was also pleasant - it even had a water feature (if you like that kind of thing). It's really worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the pubs close proximity to Kelmarsh Hall as we were going to the History Live event.
When we arrived I can honestly say that
we were very impressed with the warm welcome and our room. The 5 rooms are in a seperate building from the pub and are all on the ground floor. Our room was immaculate with an enormous bed. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and have everything that you need. The bathroom is a nice size and again to a high standard.
We ate in the bar and were very impressed with the food and service. The rich chocolate torte was to die for!
The atmosphere in the bar was great with a mix of locals and visitors. Its nice to see a country pub that doesn't make the locals unwelcome.
Breakfast was very good with lovely fresh seasonal fruit and a nice choice of cooked options.
Keep the good work up White Horse Inn we shall certainly be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMisty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a spur of the moment booking as surprise for my mum and sister, and the whole weekend was just fabulous, the rooms we well equiped, beds very comfortable and the food was of a very high standard, service throught was excellent. Would highly recommend this little treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Albany
3.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#2 of 6 in Corby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 1 Harborough Road, Stoke Albany LE16 8PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stoke Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing