We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've ever been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel I've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Amazing. Beautiful building. The spa and pool are incredible. Everything about it was lovely but the two things that were exceptional were the fluffiness of the towels and also how helpful and lovely the staff all were.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    812
    504
    290
    163
See reviews for
482
1,350
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have just returned from a valentines weekend at Slaley Hall which was a Christmas gift to us from family. Upon arrival the weather wasn't brilliant so we took advantage of the valet parking service, it is a fair walk from the car park in the sleet. The reception staff were great, very friendly and courteous and gave us our room. The family had chosen an upgraded golf course view room which was overlooking the 1st tee and 9th greens. It was ok, a little tired and showing the signs of age with no mini bar and in need of some TLC or updating if I am honest.

We then had some problems with room keys but the staff responded extremely professionally and resolved the issue extremely well. We ate in the brasserie restaurant on the evening and again the staff were great, friendly without being intrusive. The food was good but prices were a little on the high side, as were the drinks at the bar/lounge, but it was a special occasion. I must say that the bed was extremely comfortable, we had a great nights sleep.

The following morning we ate breakfast which again was ok, the full English option and then went to the pool for a swim. I particularly enjoyed the small water slide, until some small children arrived, and the jacuzzi was lovely and warm.

We had a walk around the grounds, which are extensive, watched some golf and had a thoroughly relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the 1st tee and 9th green
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimery_Riot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely setting, clean and large rooms. Spa treatments were very relaxing and worth the money. Restaurants were not to our taste so ate out in near by Hexham. Facilities within the hotel are very good and breakfast was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Fab hotel in a lovely setting

Great room. you open the door and feel your jaw drop as you enter this truly stunning room !
good food and friendly staff made this trip a birthday to remember. we


Also got champagne in the bar .Customer service at it's best.Thank you to Richard and all of the staff.We will be back in summer

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 121susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Really great room with fantastic view over the golf course and lots of little extras that made our stay special. Super friendly helpful staff. Walks, golf course and leisure facilities were all good and we will definitely be telling friends to go and be back ourselves. Both dinner and breakfast were of good standard and well served.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at slaley hall for our wedding anniversary, when we checked in we got given a voucher for two glasses of wine with our dinner seen as it was our anniversary. The room was fantastic with sky tv,a coffee machine and under floor heating in the bathroom. The bed was very comfy and a good view from the window. After our dinner we were given a glass of champagne each for our anniversary as well as the wine. Superb staff very helpful and friendly . 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank and40eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you want a truly beautiful hotel, in stunning grounds, this is the one.
We upgraded to Chambre Unique - well worth £30. We got room 201 which was really a small suit with huge comfy bed, Starbucks Coffe machine .Bose sound dock etc.and corner suit with another tv around the corner of the room.
It really does not matter where you go in this hotel. It is full of supper lounge areas you are really spoiled for choice.
The staff are very friendly and I would like to say a big thank you to Laura and Richard who were fantastic.....

Room Tip: room 201 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slaley
10.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
10.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
21.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Property: Slaley Hall
Address: Coal Road, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing