We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Slaley Hall
Nearby Hotels
$123
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
$83
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
$147
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
$83
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,269)
Filter reviews
3,269 results
Traveler rating
1,174
963
604
327
201
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
963
604
327
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedukes grillon arrivalspa treatmentshadrians restaurantgolf breakplay golfafternoon teaevening mealbottle of wineour waitersteam roombuffet stylerelaxing breakquad bikingmain restaurantboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,314 - 2,319 of 3,269 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited 31st-2 Aug 2013.

Positives:-
Nice hotel with lovely grounds and golf course.
Lovely large clean room and view overlooking golf course.
Can't comment on spa as we didn't use it.
Good walks surrounding hotel.
Breakfast very nice, although not hot.

Negatives:-
Didn't like the unusual drab dark décor throughout the hotel public rooms.
19th Bar - Lovely sofas to relax in a conservatory setting, but expensive (1 burger, 1 fishfinger sandwich, 2 pints Stella and bottle of Pinot Grigio = £70. Single glass of Pinot Grigio 250mls was £11.00. The burger had to go back as it was burnt and dry. Replacement was only marginally better.
Didn't eat in the restaurants on either evening as we would have had to take out a small mortgage!
Staff very efficient and professional, but not very friendly in my opinion (with the exception of the doormen).

After mentioning all this we did enjoy our stay, but doubt we will return as we feel there are equally nice hotels in the area which are better value for money.

Thank barbiegirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has incredible scenery and a well maintained golf course. The place is huge and a bit of a maze but it is very classy throughout.

The room was nice and modern and the pool and gym were excellent. All the meals and especially the breakfast (meals to order at no extra expense) was wonderful.

Overall we had a great, relaxing stay but it is expensive!

I think disregard earlier 1 star reviews becuase having read those the hotel is quite different. It must have been renovated since.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theengelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

just returned from a 4 night stay,have stayed at 2 other de vere hotels and this one was the worst,The best thing about it was the staff who were all fantastic,We arrived on sunday after a long drive so as we didn't feel like dressing up we ate in the Claret Jug big mistake the food was awful and put us off eating in the hotel again we did have breakfast in hotel this is ok if you don't have anything cooked. The cooked food is always cold because help yourself style if the bacon is hot the eggs are cold why they cannot bring all out together im not sure, I would like to say though the staff in the bar on floor2 the 19th hole I think it was called were outstanding and the best thing about this hotel,if you visit this hotel try the punch bowl in edmundsbyen the food and staff are excellent and all homemade even the ice cream.the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel sits in a fantastic location, tucked a little out of the way but lovely surroundings
However the rooms and service are not fully 5 star
We've had light bulbs missing in lamps,
noisy air conditioning, had to switch it off over night the room had been in the sun all day so was very warm
Light switches not working or missing, had to use the master room switch to switch to go to the loo in the middle of the night waking my partner up, not a good move
The decorations are pleasant but chips of paint missing making it look tired
We couldn't book any spa treatments until 430 on the Sunday, check out
is 12
Overall a very nice hotel but doesn't warrant 5 star prices, I suppose for Starbucks coffee machine (only two coffee pods tho') and Sky movies HD it's the price you pay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petemaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Slaley Hall a decade ago and were really excited to return to celebrate our special anniversary. It was great to see that the Hotel has been refurbished and the food and service is even better than we remember. Unfortunately we felt really let down when we arrived in our king junior suite. The decor was shabby and truely was no better than a budget B&B. It didn't ruin our stay but it was very disappointing considering what we paid for the suite. The pool could do with an overhaul but that's clearly a huge project.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews