We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Baltic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pont Yates B&B and Inns
Llanelli
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

we had a lovely carvery here, im not sure if we had 'small' plates, or too much on the plates!!! but it was delish. definately go again. The place was very posh, it was clean, the meat was stunning. i loved it, and the puddings.... well.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SARREES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

On the manager/chef's whim not open to non-residents this evening despite the signage outside advertising to the contrary. The poor bar staff had to go and ask......... Very unprofessional & hugely irritating. Considering the poor reviews on here you'd think they would welcome extra footfall. Good luck, think you're going to need it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PandoraPistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pont Yates hotels

Carmarthen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a meal here on a Saturday night and to be honest the meal was just average but the cost of the meal was expensive. My starter was 3 filo pastry parcels and a very bland garnish. The main meal was meat, chips and peas. The sweet was the best part of the meal. One thing that this place does do is a help your self salad which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llangynog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Oh dear. This Inn has so much going for it, great rooms, pleasant location, but, there are a few things missing, like customers. Bank Holiday Sunday night was like the Marie Celeste! Is the old no-drinking on a Sunday policy still followed here, as there was no friendly local propping up the bar? This could have been something to do with the rather noxious smell. Last time I smelt the same was in a friends hallway after she had had a new gas boiler put in, they were unable to get the fume to go out the out pipe and stay there, it kept coming back into the hallway. I smelt the same as I came into the Foyer and the whole bar area was the same, not the dining room however. My family could smell the same, but, we and the bar maid could not find the source. She did check the kitchen to make sure the gas was off, but, not the fire in the bar. Our room was basic motel like - perfect for two adults and two teenagers, with a private patio which will be great for sitting out on in the summer. However, the TV was tiny, the advertised WiFi in all areas does not extend to Chalet 2, much to my son's disappointment and my bed near the door must have had a spring or something come lose in it, right in the middle of my back - I am still sore now, two days later. Choice of cereals at breakfast was the usual, just Orange Juice for Juices, the cooked breakfast was huge however and tasty, and help yourself to toast when you wanted it, but, the coffee was as weak as dishwater. An OK place to stay if other choices do not suit, but, not entirely worth the £100 for one night B&B for a family of four.

Room Tip: If you want to use WiFi in your room, don't go for Chalet 2. Also, the water will become hot, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

arrived at venue on 14th feb and greeted by staff, were taken to our room and shown around very nice chalet,nice and modern with a whirlpool bath very well equipped. it was also our wedding anniversary,we have known mary for years we knew we would be looked after. we had evening meal food was superb and the service was good, we were entertained by a singer called kaytanua
really good amazing voice it was a shame they wasn:t more people there to appriciate her ! had a good nights sleep and great breakfast . all in all would recommend baltic to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adrianSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been to this place several times as my parents a buried in the nearby chapel. In the past it has always been fine and from me no complaints. It is now under a new ownership. We arrived at 15.30 in the the afternoon the place was locked and no one in sight. However at 16.00 Carol arrived and opened up. She informed us that they do not open until 16.00 she did her best and made us welcome. Our room was small just about big enough for two people again we could live with that. The TV in the room was not working correctly and was picselating and was unwatchable. At breakfast the butter had plainly gone off and was out of date by two months. The breakfast I had was poor. The lady who cooked the breakfast was very apologetic. We went to Carmarthen and came back to the inn to have a drink and watch the rugby on the advertised 42" TV in the bar. However when we returned the place was again shut we could not get in the bar only to our rooms via an outside door with a key we had been given. We watched the rugby on the 12" TV in our friends room. At 16.00 Carol arrived and opened up again and again did her best to apologise. This Is very sad as it could be a great place for a quite break. I am sorry to say it was very poor and it is highly unlikely we will stay hear the next time we visit our parents grave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Arrived at venue and greeted on entry by lovely touch(all sorts of sweets and fruit,to help yourself too.Was not greeted by any staff! Although place was not what you'd call buisy.felt utterly lost and ignored.finally got shown our seats,then had to move as seats we were shown too were not ours,we weren't told what would happen during coarse of day?miserable waitresses who when asked what something was,one replied Ive no idea,and didnt offer to find out,I got to carvery as Turkey was finished,so I had scraps,which should have been given to customer in front of me,I was given one slice of beef,so much for Christmas Fayre,and vegetables were un recognisable,cooked to a pulp apart from potatoes which weren't cooked,very disappointed with with desert choice,two of the party asked for ice cream and got single cream instead! Coffee was awful too,pity it used to be a good place to celebrate,not any more,wont be going back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pont Yates
5.4 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
6.2 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Diplomat Hotel
6.9 mi away
Sessile Oak - LODGE
Sessile Oak - LODGE
#1 of 11 in Llanelli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baltic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baltic Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Baltic Inn & Restaurant
Address: Ponthenry Pontyates | Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, Pont Yates SA15 5RE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Pont Yates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pont Yates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Restaurant, with bed & breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Baltic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing