We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bouchon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about Le Bouchon; the food was nice and the service was good. However, maybe my expectations were too high, but it didn't quite meet them and I can't put my finger on why.

Notwithstanding the above, if you want a nice meal in nice surroundings this is a place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
32
78
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just returned after a 2 night stay at this hotel , the room was slightly small but decorated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean . The cocktail bar downstairs was absolutely fantastic offering a great choice of drinks .we eat in the hotel resturant both nights and have to say the food was wonderful . The resturant staff were very friendly and eager to please . We will most defiantly be returning to this hotel and resturant

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The greeting was warm and professional. My friend and I sat in the bar for a pre lunch drink which was comfortable and warm.
The food was absolutely delicious, well presented and very tasty and reasonably priced. My school friend and I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cjincallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful service and a great breakfast. The staff were very attentive and really helpful in our hour of need. The only downside was the lack of a lift and the size of the rooms. We wold certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapmonthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is nice to see an establishment trying hard in Essex, this is a wonderfully refurbished hotel with good attention to detail, good service and great cooking. I started with French onion soup and for mains my wife chose calves liver bubble and squeak while I went for French cut Pork chop, we both finished with Almond cherry crème patisserie, we would certainly recommend this place if you out and about in this part of Essex.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review and thank you also for your kind words.

As always it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit to us.

We hope we can continue to welcome you, and your family and friends in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight, our room was well appointed if a little small, it was the only remaining room. The bar is very pleasant with good service, the restaurant simply has nothing comparable in the immediate area. The food and service was excellent despite it being a very busy night. Withut a doubt we shall return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Le Bouchon.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write positively about your experience, it certainly means a lot to our team to know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel rooms, bar and restaurant are beautifully presented and certainly the room cannot be faulted. However, if this establishment is to be marketed as a hotel rather than a restaurant with rooms then it needs to consider the following. We arrived to check in at about 2.30 in the afternoon and were hoping to sit down for a late lunch only to be told that the kitchens were now closed. Hotels usually have food options available all day and so we were forced to find a pub in a nearby village. On returning from a function late in the evening we were hoping to sit down for a drink in the hotel bar, the time was 11.29. We were initially told that the bar was shut as it was 11.30. The bar man eventually conceded and did serve us a drink, with the comment, only one drink will be allowed. Again, typically a hotel bar so open to hotel residents later than 11.30. The breakfast he next morning was rather chaotic. There only appeared to be one young lady serving all the tables and you could see that several tables were not getting toast or coffee or orders were being served incorrectly. As it turns out the plates that were delivered to our table had mixed up our orders and the food was cold and had to be sent back.

Conclusion, could be a good little hotel, just need to work on the hotel aspects more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AFent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heybridge
0.7 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
3.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
11.5 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
13.8 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bouchon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bouchon Hotel

Property: Le Bouchon Hotel
Address: Holloway Road The Square, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon > Heybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Bouchon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bouchon is a grade II listed, 300 year old Georgian building which has undergone an extensive refurbishment programme restoring the building to its former glory. The renovation period lasted in excess of 2 years, working many hours to create the right feel and ambience within this wonderful building, combining some of the original period features with furnishings and classically styled decoration that complements the building. Our restaurant offers a blend of both French and English Cuisine, set in a relaxed and intimate environment. Enjoy a meal from our A la carte menu in the main restaurant or choose from our wide selection of the menus available.14 individually styled en-suite boutique bedrooms each with their own character. All rooms have flat screen smart LED TV, telephone and FREE wifi access, choice of either hard or soft pillow, duvet or blanket and a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Bouchon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing