We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Gayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very pretty village inn just oozing with character, lots of low beams, so care is needed upstairs.
We were just stopping overnight whilst visiting relatives in Heacham. After our visit we had a little 'nighcap' sat in the 'snug' very quaint. Our room was clean & had very cosy shabby/chic cottage feel about it.
The breakfast next day hit the spot, you could have cereal , toast & a full english. I only had the latter, just right for me.
We were lucky to have warm weather, though I find this is not often catered for when away, so I was pleased we had the forsight to take a table fan as it was much needed. The window couldn't be left open as there were people sat outside our window smoking/drinking till gone 11.
Of course most of the time with our typical weather I guess the former wouldn't be a problem ;

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemcollector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have passed this pub several times on our way to Lincolnshire but never stopped before and so glad we now have. A friendly welcome, excellent cold buffet lunch for a very reasonable price. The barmaid was happy and helpful as were all staff we had contact with. The décor was homely and just like an English country pub should be, even a vase of flowers in toilet, will definitely be calling in again! AND they do whippy icecream!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

W had booked to see the marvellous collection of paintings at Houghton Hall on the Friday on our way to a family wedding in Suffolk. I did a quick internet search for nearby accommodation for the night before and we came up with this gem of a wonderful old-fashioned pub. Festooned in flowers it is obviously the hub of the village. We had an excellent carvery meal and then participated in the pub's quiz night (unfortunately didn't win but is was for charity!) Great fun, great beer, lots of chat with the locals who were all very welcoming. Room was fine albeit the décor is dated, but then again it is a very old pub (!6th C).
A brilliant full English in the morning complete with locally cured bacon, local sausages and real coffee to boot! Will definitely return if travelling this way again!

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite as there is only a shared bathroom for some of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prunesquallor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After such a brilliant first stay, couldn't wait to return a month later -- and it was even better. The staff were incredibly attentive, helpful and.... just plain nice. I had managed to forget to bring my mobile phone charger and the landlord drove off into teh night to fetch me one. Talk about beyond the call of duty.

This pub is brilliant. It's everything a village pub should be -- and more. I will be back again real soon.

Thanks again.

Room Tip: If you want en suite, book an ens uite room. I can't believe the daft comment of the earlier rev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The room is lovely and extremely comfortable, brilliant ensuite with a large walk in shower, the building is very quirky - uneven floors, low beams and everything else that makes it ooze with character. We found that the staff weren't very welcoming, we had to find the fire escape ourselves, no way of contacting the owners/managers in the night if we needed them as they live off site. The place is lovely, and if the management changed then we would most definitely be regulars. It is very well positioned to explore West Norfolk and even though you have to drive everywhere, nowhere is really that far.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazOvenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night with friends and took up 3 of the 4 rooms. Two rooms have en suite and the other two share a large bathroom across the hall. I didn't realise that we shared the bathroom with Room 2 and got quite a shock when I opened the door at midnight to find a huge bald bloke standing there! The rooms are a decent size though and comfortable. They could do with a bit of updating but I'm being picky. The breakfast was good. The sandwiches are better. The Brie/bacon and beef/horseradish were really good. The service was excellent. The staff were really helpful and went out of their way to help where they could. We could not have asked for or expected better service.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Renoir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We'd spent the afternoon sightseeing in King's Lynn but none of the King's Lynn hotels we found online sounded as interesting or as good value as the Crown, so decided to drive the 7 miles out of KL and enjoy the lovely rural scenery along the way. The Crown Inn is a lovely historic country inn, just as described. The room was lovely; spotlessly clean, with quality antique furniture. The towels were thick & fluffy. There were even teddy bears on the shelf! The shared bathroom was just across the hall and looked newly renovated. The generous full cooked breakfast was included in the modest tariff.

Although our room was directly overlooking the entrance to the bar, and it was a Saturday night, we heard no noise and were not disturbed.

The restaurant downstairs has heaps of olde worlde country atmosphere and great food. The Crown Inn is certainly worth considering if you're visiting north Norfolk.

Room Tip: Room 1 is directly opposite the shared bathroom, so quite handy. All four rooms have low doorways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Lynn Road, Gayton PE32 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Gayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gayton
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing