We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lisa and her staff were beyond kind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alton Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Brook House
Ranked #1 of 1 Combridge B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lisa and her staff were beyond kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have just returned from staying at the beautiful Alton brook house for my 25th birthday with my partner after a trip to Alton towers. upon arrival it appeared that there had been a mix up with the booking (via late rooms.com) but Lisa was more than accommodating and helpful with our situation. our room was spotless! with a comfy king size bed and our own bathroom...Finally a nice hot bath! :) breakfast was beautiful and more than enough choice. upon arrival, lisa sat us in the guest lounge and brought us tea. we were then shown around our room, given details of all local restaurants and things to do/see. i would like to take the opportunity to personally thank Lisa again for everything she did for us....her kindness had no limits :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    46
    14
    12
    33
See reviews for
110
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of Sept and I highly recommend it. Beautiful setting, very peaceful.
The welcome was fantastic, very friendly, made to feel very welcome and at home. The lady offered tea and cake on arrival and was very informative of the area.
The room was small, but beautifully decorated. Very clean. Bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was outstanding, only criticism was there was too much! Massive selection of high quality food.
Service over breakfast from the young girl was friendly and attentive.
Could not fault the place, thank you very much. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairPoint123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am compelled to write a review of Alton Brook House B&B as it was so lovely!
We arrived on Saturday evening after a long day at Alton Towers and was greated by a lovely lady who could not do enough for us, she recommended local restaurents , showed us to our family room ( room 2) and we just didnt want to leave!
It was such good value, the room was a good size with 4 proper beds, 2 single , 1 king and it was so tastefully decorated, the bathroom was huge and looked very new. There were tea/coffee making facilities too. The breakfast next morning was not at all what we expected...it was fantastic , a proper hearty cooked breakfast and with fresh pancakes, croissants etc etc etc!!!. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to everyone! A much better stay than at the Alton Towers Hotel!
What a gem, thank you all the staff at the Alton Brook House B&B .

Room Tip: Room 2 a proper family room.! very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is our second amazing stay at Alton Brook House you get a warm greeting and made to feel at home.The rooms have a wonderful country feel stunning scenery with a harty breakfast for those that have a good appetite,will go again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend were meant to be staying at Alton Brook House on Saturday (14/09/13), we confirmed last week that our booking had all gone through okay and we was told yes and that they looked forward to us staying at their hotel however today (10/09/13) my boyfriend received a very informal, impersonal email stating that there was an issue with our booking, it had been cancelled and that they had forward our details to another hotel by the name of Parkview Guest House. There was no explanation in the email as to why our booking had been cancelled or what the issue was and as for giving our details to another hotel, I was disgusted. After speaking to Lisa from Alton Brook House, who was extremeley un helpful and had a "what do you expect me to do attitude" we have had to book another hotel, which seeing as it is such short notice, was very hard. I am shocked that they did not even have the decency to call us or even try to put us up in their hotel (apparently they are fully booked). I would have thought they would try their best to accomodate us considering we booked this hotel a few months ago. We was actually really looking forward to staying here as it looks like a wonderful hotel however we will not bother in future after being treated this poorly. We have taken our complaint further due to the un helpful nature of Alton Brook House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

On arrival we were presented with tea and cake. Every effort was made to ensure our stay was comfortable. I think my boyfriend and I had the best room in the house. Breakfast was lovely we were left wanting for nothing. The two Lisa's were friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NicG176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at Alton Brook house expecting to be shown to our "bungalow" which we booked for our family of 2 adults and 4 children for £161 per night. We were told we were in the "weird space ship thing". We were shocked that the "bungalow" was in fact a derelict static caravan.** Please see **photographs** as words fail me.
The directions to this place are totally misleading.
The animals our children were looking forward to seeing were "off limits".
When we politely refused to stay the owner said it was double booked anyway.
Very odd set up and deliberately misleading.
The gas boiler last displayed safety check was years ago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this review, July 9, 2015
Dear Madam, you arrived at Alton Brook with no reservation, this was pointed out to you on arrival, and the booking agent you used did apologies to you for their mistake, as we were full we did ask if you would like us to find other accommodation but you said no you would be fine, so not sure why the comments... obviously you did not stay as we did not have a booking for you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combridge
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
2.2 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Property: Alton Brook House
Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Combridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing