We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect flower in the Garden of England”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brenchley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Brenchley B&B and Inns
Rottweil, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A perfect flower in the Garden of England”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We arrived after a long journey in the dark, following the GPS- We pulled up outside the cottage and were immediately welcomed by Simon. Maggie made us a cup of tea with biscuits - exactly what was needed. We had the downstairs room, en-suite shower, has it's own entrance to the side of the property. The facilities are really well thought out, whether it is the electrical adaptors, fresh fruit, DVD TV, Clock Radio, toiletry items (in case you forgot something), soft drinks and a drop of sherry, as well as the normal coffee/tea making facilities. additionally there is a small fridge, iron and ironing board etc. Simon and Maggie were perfect hosts in their exquisite home. Would strongly recommend. Lovely, cosy bed and peaceful location. Breakfast ingredients were locally sourced, homemade preserves and delicious tomatoes Note: they do not take credit cards (cash or cheque).

Room Tip: Our room was stunning (downstairs by the breakfast room).. Willowpit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griso_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hosts Simon and Maggie were welcoming, friendly and helpful, without being too intrusive. They have obviously given much thought to providing everything their guests might need, with no skimping on quality. If you forget anything don't worry - you will find it has been provided here. Our large ensuite had it's own outside door, very comfortable beds and furnishing and everything was spotlessly clean. A very quiet location set in apple orchards but easy to reach places in West Kent. A good spot for walkers with footpaths through the orchards and across fields linking with the many lanes and paths in this area. A beautiful old house. Lovely garden and views. Super breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A really lovely home with very nice and gentle owners, Maggie & Simon.
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasN1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed three nights at Hononton B&B in Kent. Our hosts Maggie and Simon welcomed us with tea and coffee and made us feel at home from the first moment. The 400 year old house is just amazing! The rooms are all comfortable, cosy and well equipped. There're even drinks, coffee, milk and biscuits available and you wouldn't even need to bring shampoo as everything is already there!
Everything was so neat and clean. The area around the house is so quiet and natural.
Maggie and Simon helped us with phone calls, rain protection and local maps.
It was a perfect stay and worth coming back! Thanks to Maggie and Simone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We recently enjoyed a short stay at the lovely Hononton Cottage and were spoilt by our hosts Maggie and Simon.
Situated in the beautiful Kent countryside and adjacent to a large orchard makes it perfect for a relaxing break and as a base for touring.
We would be happy to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldhamCarl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hononton Cottage is an excellent top end B&B, offering very good accomodation with en suite facilities in 2 out of 3 rooms and very accessible bathroom facilities in the remaining room. The breakfasts are excellent and the fruit salad quite the best I've ever eaten.
The setting is idyllic, picturesque, with stunning views over the Kentish weald; and there is a good sized garden to relax in. The location is very quiet.
Maggie and Simon are good and attentive hosts.
Not cheap but thoroughly deserving its 5 star rating.One useful comment - not easy to find or to navigate the local lanes and environs - I strongly recommend a car or bicycle for the fit and keen; and a sat-nav system is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Hononton Cottage is set in the beautiful Kent countryside, down a quiet lane set adjacent to an old apple farm. We stayed 'en famille' six of us plus our first grand child Florence (3 weeks old). The accomodation was spotless - but homely, fantastic showers, comfy beds. Breakfast was to die for everything and English man or woman could want! To cap it all Florence had her first complete nights sleep!! We would go back tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: rooms were clean homely and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenchley
4.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
282 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
843 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hononton Cottage Palmers Green Lane | Near Tunbridge Wells, Kent, Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 7BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Brenchley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brenchley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hononton Cottage Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteenth-century Grade 2 listed farmhouse a mile from the centre of Brenchley village, at the end of a quiet lane and surrounded by apple orchards. Rooms sympathetically modernised with every luxury you would find in a hotel, including wifi, flat screen TV with DVD and ample parking. Log fire burning in the colder months. Good pubs nearby for an evening meal.The ideal setting for a peaceful and relaxing holiday, near several National Trust gardens and castles nearby but still within easy reach of Tunbridge Wells (8 miles), the South Coast (one hour) and London by train in 45 minutes Paddock Wood Station 3 miles). Fresh local produce used where possible. Homemade marmalade and jams. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing