We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Boswinger
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
$183
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$180
$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$180
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
$154
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
29
24
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
24
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden projectcommunal kitchenfire doorsquiet locationminute walka great place to staystayed one nighthostelwalkerscoastrobheligancornwallwalkscottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 59 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from an Easter weekend at Boswinger. A group of three friends sharing a private room. Richard was kind enough to make some rearrangements so that the three of us could share a room, many thanks for this kindness, it made our stay extra special. Rachel was a joy, welcoming, funny and friendly. In fact all the staff we met were so friendly and helpful. Richard gave us some great cycle routes and lent us a map. This hostel is very cosy and comfortable with a good self catering kitchen where you can meet fellow guests over breakfast and dinner. We loved the outdoor tables and managed to have lunch on a sunny Saturday afternoon. We loved the beach down the hill, I have no idea what the reviewers below are talking about and suspect them to be timewasters with nothing better to do than to tanrnish the good name of this excellent hostel, shameful! All in all we had a great stay at Boswinger, loved the big collection of games, the nice fellow guests, the lack of WIFI, the location and the staff. We found the beds too small for a tall man and not so comfortable as other hostels. We expected our private room to have single beds and not bunks. This hostel is spotless and very well managed by an excellent team of happy and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The old building is lovely however fitting modern facilities into old cottages is expensive work additional upgrading would benefit hostellers. Welcoming staff and a cosy twin room was excellent for us. Good self catering facilities and communal room. If you want 5* accommodation don't book a hostel. If you want excellent value, a warm welcome excellent facilities, within the budget, then hostel's such as Boswinger are brilliant!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a lovely place,The youth hostel was good and the staff very friendly.Unfortunately room 4 is a little distant from the toilets.I thought the food was a little bit pricy and very little choice as it was the end of the season.Do not miss Gorran Haven,it is a wonderful village.Porthpean and Charlestown are also worth a visit

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmatecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I VISITED WITH MY DAUGHTER MID SEPTEMBER so it was quietly busy enough - the hostel staff were pleasant and friendly and the hostel clean and cosy with everything you needed to self cater or dine in and the lovely beach is a brisk 10min walk down a steep hill (15 min back up) - would not recommend driving down narrow lane!
the lost gardens of heligan are close enough to cycle to and are a definite must see as is the eden project which is also not far away
and nearby gorran haven with shop post office etc is a typically pretty cornish harbour village
our twin room was spacious and well ventilated upstairs and the showers loos etc were well separated from the rooms so no overnight disturbance
a lovely hostel to stay in and a real get away from it all location
- footnote
we enjoyed our meal when we dined in on our arrival night - but i do think that hostel meals are generally slightly overpiced

Room Tip: south facing upstairs - oh and travel out of season!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INVERNESS-margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Noisy, airless, damp, mouldy, dirty room.
Rest of hostel ok, staff pleasant.
Room 2 also shares the most over-used unisex shower/toilet. Had to trek upstairs for clean, private facilities as ours was grubby within minutes of having been well cleaned by staff.
The hill to the beach is massively steep.
Rural lanes (access) pretty scary in places - prepare to reverse along lanes several times before getting anywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jungle791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews