We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort but lack of Customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Ho Tram Strip
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ho Tram
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great resort but lack of Customer service”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

In contrast to the other casinos, It has everything here, nice beach, new and clean room, good food and adequate service. Unfortunaetely,customer service is not great. Staying for a couple of occasions, I do not often see the managemnt here, slow and inaccurate response! However it is still new and I am sure the Vietnamese will learn very fast, no doubt it will be different. We will return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, The Grand Ho Tram Strip Management at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear RichardY,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the need to improve on our customer service. We are currently rolling out internal training programs which will improve the level of service that we strive to offer to valuable guests like yourself. I am happy to hear that you will return for another visit and we hope your next stay will be better than your last.

The Grand Ho Tram Strip Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    129
    46
    22
    18
See reviews for
118
83
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently stayed at The Grand in December and had a great time there, it was definitely more than we expected and there’s something for everyone. Large rooms with great views... the ocean view rooms are worth paying the little bit extra for. Usually we head up to other beach resorts like Mui Ne which is 6 hours by road but takes up half the weekend. Not sure how the new road to Ho Tram that’s been talked about compares? No doubt we’ll try it out sometime soon...

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms, amazing views as you're right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, Manager at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Duncan R,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our lovely casino resort. We are all very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and your delightful ocean view room. The new expressway has actually cut the travel time by nearly half! Our shuttle buses are able to drive from Ho Chi Minh City to The Grand in less than 2.5 hours. It is absolutely an easier commute than travelling to Mui Ne. We hope you give the expressway a try and visit us again soon.

The Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is well design and definitely the service of the staffs are adequate . I love the swiming pool and the foods is great too.. Obviously the hotel establihed for gambling purposes, therefore the main focus still for those opportunities seeker who seeking for winning monies thru luck. I will definitely return to this hotel again even though is quite a distance from Ho Chi Minh City ( Saigon ). Bravo for those staffs who work there..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, The Grand Ho Tram Strip Management at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Leslie C,
Thank you for your compliments about our hotel’s design, facilities and services. We hope you had a good stay with us and are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
The Grand Ho Tram Strip Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The Grand Hotel very beautiful, but near hotel didn't have any place can go, Hotel staff more than customer but service very poor, staff can't speak well english and have smile, five star hotel didn't have any stamp can sent letter, I will don't come anymore

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Love this hotel resort. Very clean and detail. price very good. eventhough food a bit pricy. We had very good time at the casino. Love the gym. Will come back next year and stay longer. Very, very clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 299Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, Manager at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 299Annie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your stay at The Grand Ho Tram Strip. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
All the best!
The Grand Ho Tram Strip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about staying here after hearing a lot of negative comments, but we just had an excellent stay at this hotel. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was quiet and luxurious with plenty of sun loungers available for guests.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and there was a good choice available. The staff were polite and attentive, although some staff members' English was not so great. I tried the casino which was large and practically empty with about 6 staff members for each customer. I really can't see the casino surviving unless the Vietnamese government lift the ban on locals being able to gamble, as the Chinese big boys just won't find this a tempting alternative to Macau.

All in all an excellent hotel although the location is extremely remote with literally nothing else around it. We asked to hire some bicycles or scooters but they didn't do it, which is a shame because after 3 days you'd begin to suffer from 'cabin fever'. The restaurant prices are very high (Quiche slice is 200,000 vnd) in the cheapest one, but it seems to be the norm for Vietnamese coastal resorts these days.

Would I recommend it? Yes. Would I go back? Yes. The free shuttle bus to and from HCMC is a great idea to get customers down there and should definitely be continued to ensure the hotel's survival.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, Manager at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Malcii,
Thank you so much for sharing nice experience to us.
We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Ho Tram Strip.
Your positive comment has been shared to the team to keep up the good work and to maintain our service standard. We appreciate the comment on the English skills of our staff and currently we conduct classes for our staff in multiple languages and they are improving their skills tremendously.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
The Grand Ho Tram Strip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Only stay here if you plan on only gambling, golf & swimming because there is nothing else to do & the staff will do what they can to stop you trying to leave the resort. Firstly they didn't reply to our query about getting to the resort from HCMC & so we ended up getting the hydrofoil & taxi (because booking.com also gave no directions on their website & the hotel website was very vague about their location in relation to Vung tau) & this cost us $$$$$. Then we decided to visit the 8 Dragons restaurant but because it's in the casino we had to show our passports to get in despite the hotel already taking copies of them & the staff made us feel so embarrassed. Then when we said we wanted to hire a scooter to explore the area they said that it wasn't possible without a Vietnamese driving Licence & places only hired them out for a maximum of 4 hours & they didn't think it would be a good idea.
This resort boasts it's the Las Vegas of Vietnam, well if that's what they are aiming for they need to vastly improve their customer service & increase guest facilities. We had planned to stay 4 nights, we checked out after 1. The hotel is lovely, but it's vastly over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Carlandbecau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandHoTramStrip, Manager at The Grand Ho Tram Strip, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Carlandbecau,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at The Grand. I apologize for the confusion caused regarding the transportation services which are available from Ho Chi Minh City to our resort. We are currently in the process of updating the transportation information on our website so that future guests can avoid this unnecessary confusion. In addition to the main activities which you mentioned (casino, golf, and swimming pools), we also have a luxurious spa and water sports activities. The Grand also offers an exciting nightlife entertainment experience with our internationally acclaimed live band and resident DJ.

In regards to the inconvenience at the casino entrance, Vietnam law requires that all guests must show a foreign passport to enter the casino. Once you have joined our Casino Loyaly Club and have been issued our free membership card, then this can be presented in place of your passport. Again, at The Grand we abide by the laws of Vietnam and the employees here were looking out for your best interest when they informed you that you must have a Vietnam Driver’s License to operate a motorcycle.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback regarding our transportation information.

The Grand Ho Tram Strip Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ho Tram
3.9 mi away
Ho Tram Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Residential Resort Community
6.2 mi away
River Ray Estates Resort
River Ray Estates Resort
#14 of 71 in Vung Tau
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Alma Oasis Long Hai
Alma Oasis Long Hai
#1 of 4 in Long Hai
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carmelina Beach Resort
Carmelina Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Ho Tram
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
T&T Hotel Ho Tram
#2 of 9 in Ho Tram
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ho Tram Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ho Tram Strip

Property: The Grand Ho Tram Strip
Address: Phuoc Thuan, Xuyen Moc, Ho Tram, Vietnam (Formerly MGM Grand Ho Tram Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Ho Tram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ho Tram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Ho Tram Strip 4.5*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ho Tram Strip's first luxury integrated resort is drenched in tropical sunshine and bordered by the untouched beach fringing the East Sea. Combining elegant and gracious service with entertainment that pushes the limits, The Grand Ho Tram Strip is the perfect mix of exciting day life and exhilarating nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Ho Tram Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing