We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Santa Clara
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vila dos Orixas(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$147
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Karapitangui Praia Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$103
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Praia do Encanto(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Patachocas(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$134
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pousada Villa Marraro(Morro de Sao Paulo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Porto do Zimbo(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Dos Corais Pousada(Morro de Sao Paulo)
$144
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anima Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Catavento Praia Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
254
41
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
41
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamget awaythe ownerchef markgreat restaurantevery morningvelha boipebaceiling fanair conditioningbeautiful balconydear charlestwo monthsfive dayshigh seasonhot showeran oasislow tide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 300 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time on Ilha de Boibpeba and the Pousada Santa Clara was very special. From the moment you arrive Charles, one of the owners, makes sure you are comfortable and gives you an orientation to the island. We stayed for four nights and wish we had booked for longer. The pousada is set in a beautiful garden a 100 metres from the beach and a short walk into the lovely town of Velha Boipeba. The units are very private and having a hammock and chairs to sit on the deck was great. The owners have added wonderful artistic touches throughout.
Mark and his staff in the kitchen create a delicous breakfast that changes every day and a great dinner selection featuring both local and international flavours. There are quite a few places to eat in the area but we ended up eating at the Santa Clara three of our four nights and always enjoyed it.
When it came time to leave, Charles even made that easy by arranging for a speed boat to take us to Graciosa.
We highly recommend Ilha de Boipeba and the Pousada Santa Clara and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandDave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Charles an expat from New York has created a beautiful paradise seconds from the beach. Our room was lovely, clean, 2 levels with a hammock on the terrace. The sound of the waves crashing nearby! We were fortunate enough to meet his Mom Clara. What an absolute delight! Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Santa Clara for 9 days during our 10 weeks in Brazil. It was the best Pousada we found and we spent a lot of time finding special places to stay. Charles the owner was super helpful from our initial enquiry and arranged the trek (ferry, taxi, speedboat) from Salvador for us and Matthias his partner met us on the ferry!

The clientele is mainly discerning gringos who have done research and like that there are no TVs in the rooms and want to be in the jungle, albeit in a lot of comfort. Our room was beautifully done with a main bedroom up a spiral staircase, lots of wood and views out into the jungle. An extra bed soon had a mosquito net added in minutes with typical efficiency that laid behind the very relaxed approach of Charles and the team.

The whole place shows attention to detail and care. The restaurant (reviewed separately) is great and features different menus each night especially as there are limited other eateries in town.

What we liked best was how well it worked with our 3 children. They made friends with the staff, who made them especially welcome and other kids staying. They loved having the freedom to go down to the beach by themselves, not something we would be happy with elsewhere in Brazil.

The glorious, quiet beach is 50yds away and has several bars that do food for lunch. Just watch out for the strong currents if swimming. 

Also make sure if you take a boat in rough weather to Morro to go through the mangroves rather than by sea!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pousada Santa Clara for five nights in August - a great time of year to go. It was warm & sunny during the day, cool & rainy once we went to bed. This was undoubtedly the highlight of our two week stay in Brazil (we also did Rio and Salvador).

Charles, Mark and Mattias are so thoughtful and friendly. It was especially sweet watching how they really took care of the children who were staying there, all of whom seemed to adore gallivanting about (it was probably an even mix between couples and young families when we were there). I would definitely say this would be a great place for either a romantic getaway or a family vacation.

The location of the pousada in terms of the rest of the island was just right. Tucked at the back of the main pousada strip of the island, it was a short walk to the village of Boipeba and the beautiful beach. I highly recommend strolling through the village, walking to Guido's lobster shack, doing a mangrove canoe tour and horseback riding.

We were lucky to have been upgraded to suite 8 which had a delightful balcony with a hammock, and you could just see the ocean beyond the tall palms. The room had a Swiss Family Robinson gone luxe feel to it. I loved the decor choices. Our only issue with the room was that it was so immersed in nature that we city slickers found it a bit hard to sleep - the wind was really loud every night and birds / roosters started calling very early in the morning.

The food for breakfast was lovely - fresh fruits, juices, rice puddings, little cakes. Dinner was excellent and very good value. In fact, the whole place had amazing value - it almost felt wrong how little it cost.

We flew out to the island, then did the speedboat, bus, ferry back. The flight was exciting, if a bit scary (I'd never been on a small plane like that) and expensive. the boat, bus, ferry combo was pretty smooth, and if I did it again, I'd probably take that both ways now that the novelty of the plane is done for me.

Room Tip: Suite 8 was wonderful, but if you think that the noise of rain on the roof (just Spanish tiles, not insulated) may keep you up, you might want to ask for a room on a bottom floor - I think there were a couple that were beneath other suites.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Clara for 7 nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel is lovely and is an excellent choice for families. Charles, the owner, couldnt have been more accomodating and was very welcoming with our children. The restaurant is also excellent with delicious food. I'd absolutely recommend this pousada as the best and most relaxing location we have stayed at in brazil. Boipeba is beautiful and Charles can organise plenty of excellent activities including boat trips and horse riding. Good value and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honestcritic99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews