We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Surprise”

The Old Spotted Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Spotted Cow is a pretty village pub on the outskirts of Marston Meysey, the northern-most village in Wiltshire. We have records of it as a pub as early as 1841, when the first census was taken, and it still retains many of the old features befitting of a Costwold pub: open fires, low beamed ceilings, exposed stone walls... Set amist pretty gardens, with views of open fields and plenty of off road parking, the Old Spotted Cow makes a charming retreat from the hurly burly of modern life. We strive to keep our menu fresh and seasonal, striking a balance between much loved pub classics and some more diverse dishes that reflect the landlady/head chef's many travels. Booking is recommended as we can get busy.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found it whilst driving to Cheltenham, and it was fully worth the detour for lunch!

Beautiful pub/restaurant in a lovely location. Friendly / helpfull staff, good service and above all fantastic food!! Great fish cakes, melt in you mouth Scampi with perfect chips Excellent attention to detail and all served with really thoughful presentation - even the coffee!. Try the house Sauvignon Blanc - wow!

My only sadness is we live far away in Hampshire, but we'll certainly be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJW_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Old Spotted Cow - thank you for your kind review, and please do bear us in mind if you are visiting this way again in the future.
All the best,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    54
    13
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another lovely 'top end' English pub in Wiltshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting, pub & gardens. We arrived around 8.00pm, fairly busy. We decided to have a light snack but they refused us it was 21.00pm (last orders). We tried to order at 8:45pm... We were the only 2 people left to order, ao we were a little peeved... Shame really. So cant comment on food or service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joolzroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A jolly good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoy visiting this pub and appreciate the lovely garden with our little dog (all dogs on leads). Only very well behaved dogs allowed within. Very impressed that a yappy dog was asked to leave the bar/restaurant! Sorry, but it was noisy. A real gem of a place after a hard day's work. Friendly and informative locals and staff. Apple and Pears Cider delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chips1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, average food, miserable service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were looking forward to a nice evening with good food in a quiet country pub. This was not to be. Just like the other reviewer we have been several times and have not learnt our lesson as lunch is always ok but dinner has been hit and miss for a while.
When you arrive its as if its to much trouble to serve you, the service is slow and painful.
The starter was actually very good but thats where it ended. The steak was tough and the oven chips soggy. The sea bass was tiny and both these dishes were not cheap. The pavalova was pitiful, a supermarket meringue nest with cream and chopped strawberries. None of this was helped by having to listen to the loudest most rude lady on another table. When I told the waitress she really could not have cared. We wont be going back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDHarris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am extremely sorry you had a bad experience - I remember you complaining about the lady on the adjacent table as you were paying your bill, and I did ask my staff why they had not offered to move you earlier during the evening. They said they had not realised that you were unhappy during the meal - they had quality checked you during the main courses and you said everything was fine. I feel they should perhaps have been more aware of your mood shift, but that said - why sit back passively and allow a neighbouring table to ruin your evening? It is never a problem if someone asks to be moved at any point - your comport is our priority.
As for the food - I take umbrage. Sea bass is really expensive for us to buy in, and so for the price you paid, any experienced diner would not consider a fillet weight of 220g to be 'small'. And they MOST CERTAINLY are not oven chips... twice cooked in virgin rapeseed oil is the reality. And if the steak was so tough, why was every morsel eaten? You may have been annoyed with the lady next door, but there is absolutely no need to blow the whole thing up into slating the entire meal...
Criticism is accepted where is due, and I use it to help my staff learn. But I feel you have been unfair because a fellow diner got up your nose and spoilt your evening. I am extremely sorry for that but cannot fix it if you did not speak up during the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great pub in a great location, excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A nice find in the middle of a country lane. A beautiful pub with an interesting menu and excellent food. When the sun is shining a tourist trap. Pick anything on the menu, the food is consistently good...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks you for your review - I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spotted Cow also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Meysey Hampton, Gloucestershire
 
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 
Barnsley, Cirencester
 

Been to The Old Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing