We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place, especially for the annual airshow RIAT”

The Old Spotted Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Old Spotted Cow is a pretty village pub on the outskirts of Marston Meysey, the northern-most village in Wiltshire. We have records of it as a pub as early as 1841, when the first census was taken, and it still retains many of the old features befitting of a Costwold pub: open fires, low beamed ceilings, exposed stone walls... Set amist pretty gardens, with views of open fields and plenty of off road parking, the Old Spotted Cow makes a charming retreat from the hurly burly of modern life. We strive to keep our menu fresh and seasonal, striking a balance between much loved pub classics and some more diverse dishes that reflect the landlady/head chef's many travels. Booking is recommended as we can get busy.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Old Spotted Cow is a wonderful country pub that offers superb cuisine and ales. If you want a welcome and friendly style, with some good grub and atmosphere, this is a terrific place to go. During the annual Fairford Air Tattoo, called RIAT, they always have a special couple of barrels and party in the garden. Only a 15 minute walk to the runway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Manager at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

We're just putting our plans together for this year's airshow, so make sure you come and see us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely top notch pub grub, well presented with good portions. The waitress was lovely, friendly and good fun.

Enjoyed our meal very much and will be back again soon

Thank glostaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Superb - glad you enjoyed it!! See you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were staying at the Lower Mill Estate in the Cotswold Water Park this week, and from a recommendation in the guest book we tried the Old Spotted Cow for Sunday lunch. We were 4 adults and 4 children, so family friendly was a must - so the plastic cups, straws, books, games and colouring things were all a great start. We were even asked on booking if we needed high chairs. The Sunday roast was great (we liked that you could have beef, pork or 'a bit of both'!) and the children's meals were just as beautifully cooked and presented. Hubby (a scampi connoiseur) said it was the best scampi he had ever had - real prawns, in light, crispy batter. The children's ice creams were even served in 'spotted cows' which they could take home afterwards.

So good in fact, we re-booked for Thursday lunchtime as well.... And were not disappointed. When we arrived we were greated with smiles and 'it's the same table you had on Sunday' so we felt really welcome! The Spicy Tanzanian Fish Stew was (apparantly) to die for, and the burgers excellent. I especially commend the Coconut, Cardomom and Kaffir Lime Posset for pudding - just superb flavours. And yes, another spotted cow each for the children....

Oh, and the Ale was very acceptable too, the menfolk inform me!

Overall we thought it was a smashing place, making families feel very welcome, and with excellent quality food. Service was great and we only wish we lived nearer! Thanks very much to all the team.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Old Spotted Cow is in a delightful location; isolated but not secluded from the rest of Marston Meysey which provides a perfect atmosphere for a quiet evening meal.
We both had a three course meal and were pleasantly surprised not only by the shear choice on the menu but the outstanding value of money for each course. The service was prompt, friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. We found the food to be of high quality both in taste and presentation.
We would both happily recommend The Old Spotted Cow to friends and family and fully intend to return again for another wonderful meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harold1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We regularly eat and drink in The Old Spotted Cow and have never been disappointed with either the food or the atmosphere. The food is beautifully presented and always well thought out and original. The village drinkers are also a welcoming bunch, so not sure what the previous review is talking about in all honesty. We've recommended to several friends and work colleagues and their feedback has always been positive. A lovely pub with great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSpottedCow, Manager at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to support us. It turns out that the review on 31Jan2012 that you refer to was probably written by someone who drinks at a rival pub, and has his own reasons for attacking us. We are very grateful for the positive words that so many customers are posting about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spotted Cow also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 
Meysey Hampton, Gloucestershire
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing