We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Refurbished -well worth a visit”
Review of The Windmill

The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Werrington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Used to go to this pub before the changes . On visiting the refurbished pub, it's much better
ambience. Very varied menu, to cover all tastes. Staff were very pleasant and service was very good. The 2 meals for £9 have a good choice to pick from, including steak & chips ! Well worth a visit. Good vaue = good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happywanderers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windmill Inn Z, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Make sure you join us for our new menu launch on Wednesday 12th October, we've got some delicious new dishes that are an even better value!

We hope you can join us for our new menu launch and tell us what you think.

Thanks again, Leigh

(Follow us on Facebook for all the latest offers and events. Book now for Christmas!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 163 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visit this pub at least once a month, it has recently been refurbished and it has definately improved, looks a lot more modern and upmarket than it used to. Friendly service and nice pub food, 2 meals fpr £9, can not fault! They have a different offer each day and burger and a drink for £5.75 everyday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TopDogRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windmill Inn Z, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Make sure you join us for our new menu launch on Wednesday 12th October, we've got some delicious new dishes that are an even better value!

We hope you can join us for our new menu launch and tell us what you think.

Thanks again, Leigh

(Follow us on Facebook for all the latest offers and events. Book now for Christmas!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I visited this establishment on the 18 th feb 2013. I can only say the service was very good in every way. I will definitely return . Great food, great staff , great atmosphere .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1979ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windmill Inn Z, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Make sure you join us for our new menu launch on Wednesday 12th October, we've got some delicious new dishes that are an even better value!

We hope you can join us for our new menu launch and tell us what you think.

Thanks again, Leigh

(Follow us on Facebook for all the latest offers and events. Book now for Christmas!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On our way from Alton Towers to our hotel in Stoke we needed to stop and feed the kids. It's just after 6.30pm and this all day 'food pub' is pretty quiet. Few people eating and locals drinking.

I ordered and pre-paid for dinner for four from a barman who was obviously distressed at having to leave his chat with a couple of locals and the food server. Fourty miniutes later a sign appears at the bar, 'food wait 30 mins'

After waiting another 30 mins (70 total) and the third time of being promised it's coming, by staff who clearly could care less, this slop arrived ----- Cold. The waitress dejected again for having to leave her pals at the bar mumbled an unintelligible apology for the delay. So much so that I asked her to repeat it as I said I could not hear what she said.

We had the warmed up (I hope! I hope as it was cold) meat pie, one of the kids had pizza (cold) and the other sausage (greasy). None of us could eat the food, it was cold and inedable. I could face the staff again to complain, based on my earlier experiences, I just wanted to feed and put to bed the kids, so we left and stopped for fish and chips at a great place a few miles along the same road. Great!!

Lastly, On the way out of the pub we met another couple who shared the exact same experience. Do yourself a favour and give this place a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Gabrielros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windmill Inn Z, Guest Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Since you wrote your review, we've been working really hard to improve both our service and the quality of our dishes. We've now got an exciting new menu launching on 12th October, with delicious new dishes all at an even better value!

We hope you can join us for our new menu launch and tell us what you think.

Thanks again, Leigh

(Follow us on Facebook for all the latest offers and events. Book now for Christmas!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill also viewed

Werrington, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing