We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #38 of 102 Restaurants in Beckenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Croydon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Dogs”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Just had the most spectacular meal at this fantastic curry house. Absolutely outstanding service with great attentiveness shown to my family over every detail. For presentation, portion size, cleanliness, and depth of flavour alone I would rate 5 out of 5 but for pure service this curry house gets top marks, what a wonderful night out. The chefs recommendations were greatly appreciated and were just as good as described! Can't fault at all. Won't be going anywhere else for a while...
Love the winnys x

Helpful?
1 Thank MiyaGeorginaJoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Firm Favourite”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

my female friends and i love it here, we go here when its one of our birthdays and spend a few hours enjoying the popadoms & dips, and mains ( we all have our favourites but i try to taste something different frequently) their peshawri naan is awesome! been going here for years and years and never been disappointed. great staff. great service and great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Is it really this good? Oh yes!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I saw that all 5 reviewers on this site had given Taste of India very high marks, so I was keen to try it out for myself. It is a medium-sized restaurant, with agreeable decor and music playing not too loudly. Service was polite and prompt, and also friendly. My favourite curry house starter is Fish Tikka/Kebab, and as Taste of India have it on the menu, I chose it immediately. It was probably the second best I've ever had - Spice Society round the corner have an even better offering (IMHO) but this was really good. Two pieces of very nice fish with (and here's where it differed from all the others I've had) grilled tomato and pepper along with the more usual onion and salad. This is a really good way of serving a fish starter. For the mains I had the Duck Jalfrezi. I've never had duck curry before, but I wasn't disappointed. The sauce was suitably spicy and delicious, but crucially you could still taste the duck - excellent. With it I had aubergine (easily enough for two) and special rice. This was excellent food and at a very reasonable price indeed. This corner in Elmers End has several very good restaurants - I suspect they have to be in order to survive against the competition next door. Taste of India is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emrahpiro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!! 10/10”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my fiance visited Taste of India for a Valentines meal.. Where do I start? From the quality and taste of food to staff to service to hygiene to everything was just spot on!! The staff are very warm, welcoming and friendly! The food- Well all I can say is it was Indian I've ever had! I highly recommend this place and rate it 10/10 just becuase everything was perfect!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emrahpiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Palace,London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian with Magnificent prawns”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We frequently visit for great value Sunday buffet, one of the few my brother in law will eat at!
Very clean, nicely lit and the food is delicious and never too oily.
Tried it one evening when Chef's special was King Prawn Sagra - magnificent, proper huge prawns in delicious sauce beautifully presented. All the food was tasty fresh and good value too.
Waiters pleasant, as attentive as you wish them to be, and overall contributed to a lovely evening out. Both my companions felt the same. Must go again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 
Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 
Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing