We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Restaurant ever been to”
Review of Spice Society

Spice Society
Ranked #34 of 106 Restaurants in Beckenham
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant ever been to”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wanted a local Indian restaurant and this was recommended on tripadvisor and how lucky we chose it. We got a great welcome from the staff (opened door for us as we got close and when we left) and it got better from there. Great speedy (but not obtrusive) service with staff checking food ok and the owner/manager doing the same throughout the night, Its also great to have happy staff.
The food was delicious and also looked great. Starter for two was fantastic and when my combination curry turned up it was a feast for the eyes before you even tasted it. £12.50 for a bottle of house white that was great as well.
As others came in it was clear this place is full of regulars by the way they chatted to staff and it gave a great atmosphere. The restaurant itself looks great and music that is nice in the background but does not interfere with conversation.
Not the cheapest but great value for what you get. If you are near Elmers End well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ate here for the first time tonight. I had a combination meal and my partner had a mixed grill. The food was tasty and arrived within good time. The staff were very friendly and the manager even came over to introduce himself and made us feel at home.

Will definitely go back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank Letishabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gem in Beckenham”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Best curry and I have tried a lot of curry houses. Been going for 15 years.

Have stopped going recently as they upset us over service but they definitely have the best curry

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank yassy0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and staff”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault food was excellent fresh and cooked perfectly, staff are really friendly and helpful defiantly worth a visit you won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank digio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The menu is somewhat disturbing, simply because there is so much to choose from. The food is excellent, the chicken dishes we had were really succulent. There is a great selection of vegetarian dishes, we had quite a few veggie side dishes.
The service was first class, attentive but nor intrusive. The decor is modern, and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed.
The pudding menu had more choices than many restaurants, although many did involve ice cream.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank 20SUFFOLK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Society also viewed

Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 
Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 

Been to Spice Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing