We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms acceptable, staff a bit grumpy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beckenham
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting relatives nearby. Access to London is great with Eden Park station right across the road.
Rooms were ok, were clean and comfortable enough for the price paid.
Food was ok, nothing special though.
My only major gripe were when going for breakfast the staff seemed to get grumpy if you went down after 9:30 and had already cleared most of the breakfast stuff away by 10:00. They have a habit of hovering over you making you feel the need to eat up and leave asap! This happened both mornings as well as in the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyFandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Eden Park, innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I know this is a budget hotel but I still expect a certain degree of cleanliness.
Mainly the bathroom, the shower head and tiles behind the sink were disgusting and the tiles on the walls behind the sink and toilet hadn't been cleaned for a long time.
Breakfast was ok but we had problems finding a bowl and plate that were clean. The other problem we had was getting something to eat on a Sunday. Its heaving all day and you can't make a reservation on a Sunday so in desperation we walked up to a nearby petrol station and got a sandwich.
On the plus side the pillows and bed were better than some I've slept in and the staff were lovely, and its a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chechexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Eden Park, Beckenham . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed here lots of times as my family live near here. However they have recently started cooked breakfasts. We were quite pleased about this as we enjoy a good breakfast when on holiday and welcomed the change from the toast and cereal breakfasts of the past. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast is dreadful. They obviously start cooking it a long time before it is needed resulting in hard tough fried eggs and bacon like shoe leather. Never again. We will not pay extra for that so it's back to the toast. A bit of a let down really because the hotel itself is always clean and welcoming with very nice staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueH062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Beckenham on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the breakfasts, and we have replied to you personally about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pleasant and very helpful staff, good basic food it is a carvery so not much optionsapart from a carvery, it was warm and filling, good selection of beers, clean and quiet room good wifi signal great location for the job we were on would use again if in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E2G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

So, the headline says it all really, albeit for £70 per night I would still expect that the food actually tasted of something, the rooms were not like a student hovel and that the communal areas were cleaned!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge . We really do appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Beckenham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stop on our trip in the UK. We wanted something outside of London but with good communication to get in. The rooms were clean and big and the bathroom was fresh. The breakfast was nothing special but alright. Free parking right outside and friendly staff. The Innkeeper's lodge is about a 40 minute train ride from the center of London which worked good until we were going home late. We had to take a compensation bus, probably due to track maintenance, half the way so we got home a lot later than expected. It was a bit too far away from London if you want to spend the days there. Over all a good hotel that gives you value for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

the innkeepers lodge is a lovely hotel clean rooms and good breakfasts,the only thing wrong are the staff.Although they are very informative thats where it ends they give no eye contact or even a smile they are more like robots reading a script they are just so blah

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samanthag136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenham
1.9 mi away
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
2.2 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Avis Hotel
Avis Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bromley
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham

Address: The Eden Park | 422 Upper Elmers End Road, Beckenham BR3 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Beckenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beckenham
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to make the most of the Home Counties and London, this Kent lodge gives you the best of both worlds. Providing great accommodation in Beckenham, close to Eden Park and Bromley, it's also just 12 miles from the heart of the capital.The 24-bedroom lodge is an ideal base for short breaks, or for business trips to the nearby Croydon Conference Centre or Crystal Palace FC. Whatever your plans, there's a popular Toby Carvery right next door, so can refuel with a hearty roast dinner and pint of what you fancy.If you're in the mood for calm and tranquility, Beckenham is surrounded by beautiful gardens and peaceful country parks such as Kelsey Park, South Norwood Country Park or the 238 acres of ancient woodland at Beckenham Place Park. Or for the ultimate in quiet, try nearby Chislehurst Caves.But if you want to turn up the pace, simply jump on a train and enjoy all the attractions, shopping, theatres, bars and restaurants of bustling Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper`s Lodge Beckenham Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing