We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy with breakfast on the cheap”
Review of Goodwood Hotel

Goodwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Beckenham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy with breakfast on the cheap”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and whilst the room was clean and nicely decorated, it was freezing cold throughout the night. Bathroom was basic but in full working order with limited toiletries and as it was cold, you did not want to spend too long time having a shower which no doubt saved on the hot water bill. Staff not overly friendly and you did not want to spend more time in the hotel than absolutely neccesary which is a shame as the hotel does have potential and could be quite nice. Breakfast was pretty disappointing using budget ingredients. Resident family had their own breakfast together with guests and you almost felt as if you were intruding their privacy. It could be so much better and friendlier as good location in a quiet road close to Beckenham town centre and transports.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busygirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    20
    13
    22
See reviews for
13
27
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Not even three. This is only an amateur guest house, with spacious rooms but terrible bathrooms, service, breakfast and the worst pillows ever. Hot water and heating are also a problem and work irregularly. If you are men, don`t expect any help with your lugagge from the staff, even if you are on the third floor. If you need to be in Beckenhan for whatever reason, I suggest you to stay in a Croydon hotel and get the tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luizsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckenham hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Goodwood at the end of November. We found everything perfectly OK - our rooms were extremely clean and everything worked fine, and unlike many London hotels there was not a lot of traffic noise at night. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful (refused a tip for a morning call) and the place had a pleasant 'family hotel' character, with children rushing about getting ready for school as we had breakfast. Breakfast itself was not over-generous but I could have asked for more. The hotel is sited about one minutes walk from the railway station and town centre, which although not especially beautiful has the normal range of shops etc.
All in all we were perfectly happy there and would use this hotel again, and it was good value for a London hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, very un polite and the bed had fleas!!! If you can go to another place, not recommended at all!
Also, breakfast was really bad and scarce.
This hotel is really expensive, and the quality does not match the price at all.

So, if you can look for another option elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we couldn't miss the smell of stale tobacco and air freshener.

Once in our room we soon realised we had no hot water. When we complained we were told there must be, their words were: there must be hot water, we have no other guests on this floor, when we have other guests staying we have no hot water. Then the lady shrugged, told us to try it again in 10 mins and walked away! Later we complained that it was still not on, they said they would look at it - they never did.

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. To top it off, I was getting bitten by something and the springs in the end were gone.

We didn't stay for breakfast, we left first thing to get out of there as quickly as possible.

Horrible, don't stay here, it is cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonneneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We left booking a London hotel till the last minute, and as it was a bank holiday we had little choice in the area we needed to stay in without paying thro the nose.
Well, the old saying 'you get what you pay for' certainly rings true here!
On arrival the outside of the building looks impressive and imposing which is typical of those big houses.....we love that tho.
The lady who greeted us was not particularly friendly, so first impressions were not good.
Latest check in is advertised as being quite late and we were well within that, but we felt as though we had inconvenienced her.
Our room what outside, underneath the main house in what we assume would have been cellars.
On first glance, it seemed ok.
However, on closer inspection.............
The bed linen was not ironed but looked fresh, and there were what looked like old tea stains on the duvet covers.
The wardrobe was in an obscure place and was unstable!
The loo was in a little doorless cubbyhole thing inside the shower room.......it was clean tho.
The room was tidy but needed decorating and cleaning....it looked as though it hadn't been used for a few weeks.
Whoever was in the room above sounded like a heard of elephants!
In the morning, the lady of the house greeted us with a smile on her face.....maybe she'd had a bad day the day before. But her husband and son, both of whom you had to walk past to get to the dining room, offered no greeting as we walked by.
Husband turned out to be the chef.......talkative, albeit a bit brusque, when taking our orders.
The lady was becoming more friendly as the morning progressed.
The omelettes were amazing tho :-)
No fresh fruit or yoghurt option.
So, all in all, not an experience we would want to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask to be accommodated in the main house. Whilst we have no experience, they may be a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I live some distance from the London Area, and was supposed to be attending a 50th party Sat 6th July after searching the internet for accommodation , I thought the Goodwood would be fine, so booked it in the middle of June 2013 and received confirmation of the booking

However yesterday, I received a phone call from the owner , who told me someone had now decided to stay on extra days, so our room was no longer available, but couldnt guarantee another hotel or offer any compensation for the incovenience

Obviously this has caused me an issue, hassle and a disappointment, she said she'd try to suggest some alternative hotel - which she did today, which is nearly another 10 miles away from the venue , which was unacceptable.

I really just wanted to put this on just as a warning that you might book but not neccessarily will have your booking honoured

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckenham
1.3 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
1.6 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
2.1 mi away
Avis Hotel
Avis Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bromley
76 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Hotel

Property: Goodwood Hotel
Address: 10 Copers Cope Road, Beckenham BR3 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Beckenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing