We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service by the owner.”

Temporary Cal's Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Temporary Cal's Cantina is a uniquely constructed restaurant perched high above the hilly jungle of Roatan's south shore. Endless views of the Caribbean Sea spread out before you while fresh tradewinds keep you cool. Our restaurant boasts exceptional and affordable island cuisine prepared by award winning chef/owner Carl Husbands. Don't miss Temporary Cal's Cantina when dining out on Roatan. Hours 10 a.M. - 8 P.M., NOTE SUMMER HOURS: August & September Only: Wednesday-Thursday - Friday. No credit cards.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Food is OK, but nothing special. Great view, but not worth the drive. Make sure you bring cash, as no other form of payment accepted, had to drive 30 minutes to atm to get cash and the owner was rude.

Thank ats3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_CarlRTB, Owner at Temporary Cal's Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

This customer was in a party of four… he and his wife together with another couple. First, he was unhappy because he requested our chocolate brownie but he wanted it made to order from scratch. My waiter explained that I make all the desserts first thing in the morning and a special order of that nature would not be possible. When it came time to pay the bill, this customer wanted to use his credit card and when it was explained to him that we do not accept credit cards, he stood up in the middle of the restaurant and made an unpleasant scene. He then tried to pay his check with a $50 bill that was nearly torn in half. Banks here on Roatan do not accept damaged bills. Ever. At this point, my waiter was so intimidated that he asked me to explain this to the customer. Afterwards, his wife came up to pay the bill and was very apologetic and said over and over to me that she understood about the credit card and the torn $50 bill. This man’s implication that he had to drive 30 minutes to an ATM has nothing to do with his experience at Cal’s Cantina. We do our very best to meet the requests of our customers whenever possible and our goal is to always have a happy client.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Small but not tiny place; spectacular view; terrific food!!! The owner and Chef is Carl, a graduate of Penn State Hotel Management School and the Culinary Institute in New York. We got there when it first opened and for awhile, had the place to ourselves. Carl was doing the food prep work for the day and once we started talking to him, he turned out to be an interesting and friendly guy. The food was the best meal we had on our cruise without a doubt, including the Special Chef's dinner we had on the boat. Only minor issue is that it was a 20-25 minute drive from the Norwegian Cruiseline dock.....but it was worth it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

First outing to Cal's. Fantastic food. We will return. A bit of a drive from West End but well worth the trip.

Thank BarryK199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Was recommend to us as we rented our car to your the island. Gorgeous location, clean, friendly. Food was excellent with a wide selection of fresh seafood, friendly staff, and owner.

Thank Horse1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best meals we had in Roatan and equal to any we have had throughout the Caribbean. Carl is fabulous and we are almost everything on the menu in three trips to Cal's. So good I had to stop and shake his hand before we left. Very creative and delicious food. The top of the tops for me was the jerk pork chops. I may have order take out and have them Fedex'ed to me in the states.
Thanks Carl!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelinman8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temporary Cal's Cantina also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Temporary Cal's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing