We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, great food.”

Temporary Cal's Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Temporary Cal's Cantina is a uniquely constructed restaurant perched high above the hilly jungle of Roatan's south shore. Endless views of the Caribbean Sea spread out before you while fresh tradewinds keep you cool. Our restaurant boasts exceptional and affordable island cuisine prepared by award winning chef/owner Carl Husbands. Don't miss Temporary Cal's Cantina when dining out on Roatan. Hours 10 a.M. - 8 P.M., Tuesday - Friday. No credit cards.
1 review
“Amazing view, great food.”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

There was not a bad thing on the menu. Cal's experience as a chef is bar none combined with the view is absolutely unreal!

P.s. If you can make Cal smile you should get at least a free drink.
Just jokes lol.

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    49
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cal's is a 'must do' on Roatan”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We heard that Cal's was great and we should go. So, we eventually went. Our expectations were high. Well...it far exceeded our expectations. The view is absolutely stunning. The food was fantastic! The servers were excellent. The prices were very very very good. This place is awesome. We r going home in two days and now we have to squeeze in another trip to Cal's. Should have gone a week ago. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pivo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Add this restaurant to your island tour!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went on an island tour, and stopped here parched and weary from the heat. My kids were starving and cranky (and quite frankly, so was I) and we were first hit by the spectacular views. WOW!! Even if the food was lousy, it was worth it just for that alone. Thankfully, the food was absolutely delicious! The kids and my husband had the island burger and fries, and I had the fish and chips. Everything was very fresh, cooked perfectly, and seasoned nicely. We washed it all down with ice cold 7UP, and went on our way. We will definitely return to Cal's on a future visit to Roatan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris73M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must While on the Island! !”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

You must, must, must eat here while in Roatan! The food is absolutely delicious! I got the fried shrimp with vegetables and potatoes for the sides, and let me tell you, it was possibly the best fried shrimp I've ever eaten! And I live in the New Orleans area, which says a lot! The views are beautiful, the service was great and the food exceptional!

Helpful?
Thank sunstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should be #1 in Roatan!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Only here for 5 days and had to make 2 stops here! The food is just home cooked delicious! Always fresh...the jerk wings are incredible and fresh Dorado tonight! Just wonderful! This restaurant truly should be #1 in Roatan!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbperriello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temporary Cal's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Temporary Cal's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing