We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just returned from a week in Roatan and discovered a few great spots that make this island a must see for water worshipers. The diving and snorkeling on the island are unparalleled. The amount of sea life that even the most amateur snorkeler or diver can enjoy just steps into the water is phenomenal.
You can enjoy great reef diving, ship wreck and even a DC3 that crashed next to a sunken ship. If your looking for a dive trip that will blow your mind with an abundance of sea life from sea horses to eels to sharks this is a place where you can really do it on a budget.

Parrot tree is located in the center of the island and offers great amenities with an almost zero crowd. Many of the larger resort and crowds are located on the West End or in the West Bay which will take you about 20 minutes by car. The hotel offers a very nice kitchenette with all of the modern appliances. Its like having a resort all to yourself. The island is full of ex pats from all over the world who have chosen this island to retire. The cost of living or visiting this island is very low (approx $22 a days the average income for the locals).

The hotel is about 8 years old and built to withstand a hurricane. They really didn't hold back on spending money for the finishes in the hotel (very well built).

Best excursion besides diving is spending the day at frenchys 44 key. This is a mix of gilligans island but will a unique twist, a animal rescue park. The owners who relocated from southern California have created a wild animal park on this tiny island and dedicated the island to saving animals that have been injured or from traveling circuses. Some of the animals they have saved include a Lion, Jaguars, white face monkeys, Python, Tucans as well as many others. This is a must see when in Roatan. The island itself offers an abundance of activities and probably the best cove on all of Roatan for relaxing and swimming.

Room Tip: Building 9 Room 9 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CarteBlancWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 346 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

PROS: This resort is away from all the hustle and bustle of the cruise ships coming in. It is much cooler than the West End because of the constant breeze from the ocean. The staff is amazing! Rafael, Elizabeth, Wilford, Jose all keep you happy with delicious Pina Coladas, or filling your coffee cup in the morning, or just great conversation! The pool is large and beautiful and relaxing and warmed by the sun. If you are in building 1 your room will be cleaned immaculately, building 3 not so much. It is nice having a kitchenette because then you can cook some of your own meals. Which saves you quite a bit of money and since there is only one resturant it makes it nice not having to eat there all the time too. Just have Santos drive you to the grocery store. Every building has an ocean view - you can't beat that!!
CONS: Sand flies are a drag!! Even if you use bug spray, make sure you change out your beach towels daily cause they love to hang out in them. The food at the Palapa is good, BUT... they don't have everything that is on the menu. They say breakfast is included, BUT.... only up to $7 and of course there are quite a few foods that are more than that. They do have some problems in their rooms that need repairs. But they are really good about getting it fixed quickly or moving you to a better room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chocoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our family stayed 4 nights, the room (which is a small apartment really with kitchenette etc) was nice and clean. You could easily bring your groceries and cook inside if you prefer to stay in or you can use the restaurant on the beach as well. The AC worked perfectly, the internet not really. The best part is that we were on the hotel beach (a few steps away), so it was easy for the children to move around. The kids enjoyed the snorkeling of the hotel and also the canoeing on the bay. The whole setting of the hotel bay is very beautiful. The breakfast was included and OK. We had to bring our own pack&play for our one-year old since the hotel does not have any for their guests. Strongly recommend to rent a car if you are staying for a few days and wish to move around, go scuba diving or shopping etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were only here for a day but the grounds are absolutely stunning!! The food was very good and the Pina Coladas the best I've ever had!! All very inexpensive! Our group tour was scheduled to take us to West Bay beach but since it overly packed, we wound up here. Loved it!! Will be going back soon for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent the day relaxing at the parrot tree beach. It is in a beautiful, quiet part of Honduras. We were only in Honduras for the day so we did not stay overnight but the grounds were gorgeous and very clean. The staff were exceptional meeting your every needs while you enjoy the fun and sun. I would love to return at stay at the Parrot Tree.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Quiet, Friendly, very helpful. It is not the night life of west bay. Serene time to learn to relax.
The pool/lagoon great! Food at papaya was always fresh and excellent. Kayak, Swim, Lounge, read. Will return!!!
Front Desk, Management, housekeeping outstanding!
Thank you!

Room Tip: bring Off or buy coconut lotion/cactus juice for sand fleas. Bothers some people doesn't others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bipacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a great place to spend some time, a great beach & beach bar & restaurant and a great pool all to be enjoyed. Have not stayed here but have seen some of the condos & they look great. The grounds for the whole complex are just beautiful. Love spending time here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near First Bight
14.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
865 reviews
13.9 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Tree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Tree Beach Resort

Address: First Bight | Roatan, First Bight, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > First Bight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Price Range: $161 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parrot Tree Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Tree's Beach Resort features ultra-luxury villas, peaceful and relaxed. Tucked into our lush tropical landscape you'll find sumptuous comfort... An enticing invitation to beachfront living with elegant furnishings, lavish linens and spacious bathrooms. Snorkel or Scuba dive just off shore to experience some of the most beautiful aquatic life in the Caribbean. On property you could visit the state of the art Global Alliance for Regenerative Medicine (GARM) laboratory and clinic. Specializing in clinical trials, orthopedics, pain management and cancer treatments a visit to the GARM Clinic could change your life for the better ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parrot Tree Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Tree Plantation Hotel First Bight
Parrot Tree Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing