We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and relaxing end to our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Salto Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Salto Ecolodge
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing end to our trip!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband found Brewha and booked 2 nights for the last portion of our trip.
I was pleasantly surprised and totally smitten with the owners Jacquelyn and Zach(Charlie and Moxie). The view from the main balcony is absolutely breathtaking and if you join Brewha for dinner, you get to take in the view from the dining table. Zach is a brew master, and makes his own craft beers which are available for purchase. We met the most charming people during our stay at Brewha. Premises are rustic,clean and cozy. Bring bug spray, the mosquitoes and no see ums are merciless but you're in the jungle so deal with it. Jac and Zach offer various attractions like tours and hiking and give you great recommendations for things to do. Go Brewha!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
39
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The boys that run the hostel offer the best customer service I've ever seen from a hostel. They make you feel very comfortable from the minute you arrive. They'll cook you breakfast and dinner and help you organise any activity you want to do, whether it's walking to the nearest town or going white water rafting. The view is something you have to see - it's spectacular! The only problem with brewha is the cleanliness. The kitchen and rooms need a huge spring cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Seriously, you'll fall in love with the people. You could put brewha anywhere in the world and still have an amazing time. The view is amazing, Charlie is the greatest dog, The food is great and the family style makes it fun to connect with new folks. I plan to go back just to see them again! If you have the opportunity to stay there it is a must!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexxooxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Brewha is a fantastic place to kick back and enjoy the view. There are comfortable beds, a great common area, a deck with a view that will knock your socks off for days, great home cooked meals and awesome people to chill with. The hostel brews its own beer which they regularly rotate and there is a movie theater with a projector where you can request movies you want to see! I really really recommend this spot! it is a gem! <3

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakeystef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The dorm is absolutely lovely! One of the best located hostels so far in central america. The hosts are really nice and the game/movie room is awesome! Be aware that wherever you sit the dogs sat before. That is the only minus (although I like dogs but not when I have a breakfast). Highly recommended. One last tip: go on a nightly hike to the bar with jackie....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I waited a full 6 months from the time I visited Costa Rica to write my reviews. I lost the urge to review almost every place I visited but this place still warrants it.

You can't go wrong here. The people are the best, the location is perfect, the activities can accommodate your interests, and the setting is incomparable. I spent most of the rest of my trip with the folks I met staying here.

That said, the real attraction of this place is the proprietors. They're accommodating to a fault, they brew their own beer, and they chose an amazing place to call home. If you're in Costa Rica wandering around you will only do yourself a favor by aligning yourself with them.

Best of luck!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristobalwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed over two months at Brewha and it is one of the most beautiful and unique hostels I've ever been to. It is perched between mountains in the Orosi Valley and has a gorgeous view of a waterfall. The views are amazing and there is so much beautiful jungle surrounding Brewha. It has a very relaxed and calming atmosphere and the staff are extremely helpful and run a great establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankGonzalez_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraiso
3.0 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
381 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa, Resort & Casino
11.3 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Salto Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Salto Ecolodge

Property: El Salto Ecolodge
Address: Meters South Of the Mirador Ujarras 500 | calle El Rincon Paraiso, Cartago, Paraiso 30201, Costa Rica (Formerly Brewha Costa Rica)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Salto ecolodge is a Sustainable Family run operation offering clean Rooms with breathtaking views of the Cachi lake, mountains and a 100+ meters tall waterfall!! Tasty Breakfast(included)and a homemade mix of Costa Rican and international foods in the evenings! Our exclusive tour(self guided donation) or guided ($10) down our 1+ km trail to El Salto waterfall,then to the surrounding farms,Secrect springs swimming holes and ends ends at the oldest ruins in Costa Rica the church of Ujarras build in 1686 ( free entrance)! we also have an unforgetable (on horses coffee farm tour!) We're located only an hour east of San Jose, in the lush, beautiful Orosi Valley! right in Front of the Mirador(point of vue)Ujarras, we are surrounded by the biggest volcano in central America Volcan Irazu! and the very active Turrialba volcano!organic farm(geneticly modified seeds are illigal here) coffee plantations and quaint authentic Costa Rican towns. Come watch lots of exotic birds from one of our 3 outdoor terraces observatory while hearing nothing (no cars no noise) but the rushing sound of the 300 ft El Salto waterfall only 200 metres from our doorstep. reforest and keep our canyon clean ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your El Salto Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing