We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of El Salto Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Salto Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Jaclyn, Pete and Zach (and the dogs) treated my daughter and me like family. These guys know what discriminating travelers look for in a hostel. The meals are great, the beer excellent, the rooms clean, views outstanding, dogs friendly. They arranged a great horseback ride with Poncho, a local guide, above the spectacular and dizzying Orosi Valley, and never hesitated to help with anything you needed. Everything affordable, too. On our last night, they baked scones and had coffee ready for our early morning departure. Couldn't have picked a better and more beautiful place to stay in Costa Rica than the Brewha.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Probably my favourite hostel we have stayed at! Such nice hosts! Love Charlie (dog!) the most beautiful views!
Can't help but feel relaxed here!

Also great home brewed beer and home cooked food by zac!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassieandmatt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I are planning to move to Costa Rica and we needed a place to stay for two weeks in order to check it out. We couldn't have picked a better place. The price was far better than any other place in the area and we were so comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious with incredible views! We loved the dogs, the brews, the food (Zach is a great cook) and most of all.... Our hosts! They were so hospitable. We really felt welcome and like family friends! Seriously, words cannot describe the fantastic experience we had!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimeeinguyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff was super welcoming and made it feel like we were staying the weekend at an old friend's house. The views of the valley and the waterfall were incredible, pictures really don't do them justice. The food was much better than I would have ever expected from a hostel. I have pretty high standards for beer, but Brewha's was pretty good (the best I had in Costa Rica) and will only get better as more homebrew shops open. Overall it was a great place to hang out and explore the valley, or just read a book and enjoy a drink out on the porch/balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me, my husband and we have a lil girl with us she's 3 yrs old. We stop by to Brewha for 1 night, and it is absolutely amazing place. It's a lil rainy when we came but that doesn't make us unhappy, coz the view from our room is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING.... It is Breathtaking, too bad we need to leave the next day! The People here are all very very nice, JAckie, Zac, Taylor and Pete are wonderful people... Their dogs are very nice too especially Charlie very sweet...
It's too bad that we only stayed one night here, we should stay here for at least a week or more.
Whoever wants a peace of mind and looking for some place to relax? Please, Please, Please stop by in Brewha, Paraiso. About driving not too bad at all! Have more patience coz I guaranteed you it's worth it...The food is good as it can be, you'll feel like your in Mississippi It's like coming home..
Thanks again.... Hope to see you'll again soon.
God bless...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved this experience! The rooms were clean and smelled like Landry. We had adorable furry friends (dogs) to welcome us, and "guard" our rooms. The food was awesome both breakfast and dinner. We loved the family atmosphere. We had some great conversations with Jackie! The sounds of nature at night were so amazing to fall asleep to. It is a little tricky to find but totally worth it! We had so much fun, definately our favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica. We loved every minute of it. It was just like staying at a friends house who lives in the jungle and has an amazing view! Totally stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just spent 8 days in Costa Rica, 6 of them at Brewha Costa Rica near Paraiso. I'm giving Brewha an excellent rating for several reasons: 1) The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the Orosi Valley. While I say the staff is very friendly, they're also non-intrusive ~ if you just want to hang out and relax, they're totally cool with that. 2) The food is good, there is plenty and the menu is diverse. 3) My bed was really comfortable, mattress was good, sheets were clean. 4) The view is remarkable, absolute tranquility and beauty. 5) The watermelon pale ale brewed on site is the best pale ale I've ever had - ever. 6) Did I mention the view? Unbelievable. 7) Although they've only been open a few months, they're organized. 8) I felt very safe staying at Brewha Costa Rica.

Next time I go I'll take the tour of the coffee plantation next door (Brewha serves their magnificent coffee) and take in the nearby botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_mehama_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraiso
4.7 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
7.4 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casona del Cafetal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Salto Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Salto Ecolodge

Address: Meters South Of the Mirador Ujarras 500 | calle El Rincon Paraiso, Cartago, Paraiso 30201, Costa Rica (Formerly Brewha Costa Rica)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paraiso
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Salto ecolodge is a Sustainable Family run operation offering clean Rooms with breathtaking views of the Cachi lake, mountains and a 100+ meters tall waterfall!! Tasty Breakfast(included)and a homemade mix of Costa Rican and international foods in the evenings! Our exclusive tour(self guided donation) or guided ($10) down our 1+ km trail to El Salto waterfall,then to the surrounding farms,Secrect springs swimming holes and ends ends at the oldest ruins in Costa Rica the church of Ujarras build in 1686 ( free entrance)! we also have an unforgetable (on horses coffee farm tour!) We're located only an hour east of San Jose, in the lush, beautiful Orosi Valley! right in Front of the Mirador(point of vue)Ujarras, we are surrounded by the biggest volcano in central America Volcan Irazu! and the very active Turrialba volcano!organic farm(geneticly modified seeds are illigal here) coffee plantations and quaint authentic Costa Rican towns. Come watch lots of exotic birds from one of our 3 outdoor terraces observatory while hearing nothing (no cars no noise) but the rushing sound of the 300 ft El Salto waterfall only 200 metres from our doorstep. reforest and keep our canyon clean ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your El Salto Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing