We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in COSTA RICA!!!!”
Review of El Salto Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Salto Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My spouse and I have traveled all over the world for extensive periods - on this trip particularly, we were all over Costa Rica and Nicaragua and Brewha Hostel was by far our favorite bit of paradise in both those countries. So awesome that we just HAD to go there twice in one vacation. :) The owners brew their own awesome beer, are SUPER friendly, helpful, informative, FUN!!!!! They also make AMAZING home cooked meals and eat around a huge table family style which we LOVED! The rooms were clean, great quality sheets and beds, and felt SUPER safe and peaceful. Don't mistake peaceful for not fun... these guys know how to have a blast and definitely throw amazing parties and know where to go for fun too! The hike they do to the oldest ruins in Costa Rica called Ujarras is super fun and a great adventure that I would recommend - also go to the waterfall, it was cool. Even though it's out away from the city, if you follow the directions on their website, you should be able to find it and have a SUPER time!!! We went to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 7 nights in total. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Seriously, I'm not even kidding.

First off, it's run by 3 of the raddest people I've met in my travels/life. I never felt like they were running a business, rather that I was staying at their house. But at the same time, everything ran as smoothly and professionally as possible. And you've always got at least one person to sit and drink a beer and joke around with at the very least.

Secondly, the sleeps were AMAZING. I stayed in the dorm and they have brand new THICK, orthopaedic mattresses. Moreover, you constantly hear the soft rush of the waterfalls in the distance. And the fresh mountain valley air was really welcomed after almost 2 weeks on the hot, humid coast. I slept in late almost every day cuz I just couldn't bring myself to get up.

Thirdly, the FOOOOOD. Zack's an unreal cook, and there's really not much else to say other than that. Seriously unreal. Also, some of us went to a trout farm nearby and caught three fish to cook at the BBQ he was preparing for dinner one night and he went out of his way to marinate the fish and cook them for us, even though he was busy and it made extra work for him.

Fourth, it's a BREW hostel! Unreal in its own right. They were a bit low on beer when I was there, but I was able to sample three different beers: I don't usually like stout, but they had a chocolate strawberry stout which was UNREAL. Possibly the most enjoyable stout I've tasted. Also tried a watermelon pale ale, and their signature pale ale as well (I think their signature is a pale ale...oops if I'm wrong, but they were all very nice).

Fifth, it's inexpensive and off-the-beaten track. Both very welcomed experiences in Costa Rica where even taxi drivers speak English. If you want a bit more of an authentic local experience while having a lot of fun and saving more money than you would in much of the rest of Costa Rica, definitely check it out.

Sixth, DOGGGIIIIEEEESSSS! They have 3 loveable, if not so aesthetically-pleasing, dogs with whom I had a ton of fun. If you're not a huge fan of dogs, they're easily kept out of public and guest areas too.

Also, the projector and screen/wall are a wicked touch with a Wii, a huge and constantly growing movie collection. And another great touch is the ability to pay with credit card. It's a bit remote, so if you need to get money, it's a hassle, whereas paying by credit card mitigates that problem for many people.

I could seriously go on forever about this hostel-- I meant to spend 2 nights and ended up staying a week, using my Spanish skills to help out the owners (who do speak Spanish, just not quite fluently), promoting fun things to do to newer guests, and I would've definitely stayed longer if it weren't for my slightly expensive flight to Peru...and my job there. There's TONS to do, it's affordable, it's got an amazing location and isn't on the gringo trail, the view from the hostel is unreal, and it's just a delightful place where I had a ton of fun. I will be back, I'm totally sure of it-- even if I have to go out of my way.

PS, don't expect it to be 100% with no glitches is all. It's a brand new hostel right now, less than 2 months old, and the local government is constantly changing, fixing, and maintaining roads, water, electricity, etc. The hostel is awesome, but they're still building up top, getting used to the hostel-running business, getting to know local tour operators, businesses, and attractions-- but that was part of the fun for me: going to places they hadn't been or didn't know much about and being able to provide them with info. Also, they're super receptive to suggestions and ideas for their hostel, which is also awesome.

Really just a stellar place all around!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent 1 night here and wished we could stay longer. Brewha opened recently (November 2012) with excellent spaces and the owners are currently in the process of expanding. The place has a very cool and creative feel to it. It is owned and operated by three great people who are really friendly and obliging. The food was good (breakfast included, family-style dinner for cheap), and they brew an impressive variety of good beers on-site. The place is situated in a great location with an amazing view of a big waterfall and the ruins of the oldest church in Costa Rica. They have built a trail down to both of them which we didn't get to hike due to rain, but promises to be a lot of fun. The room (dorm) was fine and the beds were comfortable. The place is a little out of the way, but accessible via bus. The Orosi Valley also boasts lots of fun things to do such as hot springs, hiking and more. All in all great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Its awsome i did really like it here...went for 1 or 2 nights stayed for 4! the place sucks you in yes its a bit hard to find but thats half the fun, though the directions on the website are really good. the team that they have there make you feel like you are entering someones home not a hostel, as its a small operation in that there are 3 of the you get to know everyone there. The dinners are amazing and creavtive as well as very cheap. The movie room...well its more like your own private cinema than a room as they have a projector and can get you mostt titles...was pleasantly superised that they had idiot abroad 3 that made my day.They also brew their own beers and they taste great in a way that you wont have tried beer before, the breakfast is also included which makes things cheap. You wont regret a stay here the views are awesome, the staff great they make every effort to cater for your needs. A great place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hostel and then returned later for another two nights. We really enjoyed the nice views, and the food is fantastic. Breakfast is included, and for a small price you can join in on the excellent lunch and dinner. Zack is an amazing chef, and suprised us every meal with another great dish. They brew their own beers, and you get a free one when you arrive. Cheap dorms, nice private rooms and a chill crowd overall. We also did a really cool hike down to the oldest church in Costa Rica. The hike is really adventurous, they are making the trail themselves. Recommended. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristoDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Flippo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsaltoeco, General Manager at El Salto Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imschter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsaltoeco, General Manager at El Salto Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraiso
4.7 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cartago
40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
7.4 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique La Casona del Cafetal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Salto Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Salto Ecolodge

Address: Meters South Of the Mirador Ujarras 500 | calle El Rincon Paraiso, Cartago, Paraiso 30201, Costa Rica (Formerly Brewha Costa Rica)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paraiso
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Salto ecolodge is a Sustainable Family run operation offering clean Rooms with breathtaking views of the Cachi lake, mountains and a 100+ meters tall waterfall!! Tasty Breakfast(included)and a homemade mix of Costa Rican and international foods in the evenings! Our exclusive tour(self guided donation) or guided ($10) down our 1+ km trail to El Salto waterfall,then to the surrounding farms,Secrect springs swimming holes and ends ends at the oldest ruins in Costa Rica the church of Ujarras build in 1686 ( free entrance)! we also have an unforgetable (on horses coffee farm tour!) We're located only an hour east of San Jose, in the lush, beautiful Orosi Valley! right in Front of the Mirador(point of vue)Ujarras, we are surrounded by the biggest volcano in central America Volcan Irazu! and the very active Turrialba volcano!organic farm(geneticly modified seeds are illigal here) coffee plantations and quaint authentic Costa Rican towns. Come watch lots of exotic birds from one of our 3 outdoor terraces observatory while hearing nothing (no cars no noise) but the rushing sound of the 300 ft El Salto waterfall only 200 metres from our doorstep. reforest and keep our canyon clean ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your El Salto Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing