We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant/Not So Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poasito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Restaurant had a good variety on the menu and food was excellent. We were the only customers but noticed that they drew in a good lunch crowd the next day. Also served a nice breakfast that's included with the room. Again we were the only customers there and breakfast wasn't served until 8 AM which seems a little late.
Wish we would have thought of the plastic bag over the shower drain (mentioned in another review) as there was a definite sewer smell in our room. We left the window open to air it out and then could hear a barking dog all night long every time a car/truck drove by. The place is located RIGHT on the road and traffic noise kept my husband awake most of the night. The next morning we noticed the dog was penned up underneath our back window.
No hot water in the shower but it worked in the bathroom sink. Suicide shower head had power but wasn't functioning at all. Disappointing because it was chilly in the mornings there.
Place has reasonable rates and good location except for the traffic noise. I'd stay there again if I couldn't find anything else in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraD656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Manager at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review! Your opinion is very important for us and helps us a lot to take care of things that are not working well in our hotel. Now we manage to clear the leak we had at that moment so there's no problem with it and we also took care of the shower drain so everything seems to work fine by now.

Our customer's satisfaction is the most important thing for us and we are so glad that you decided to choose us! Thank you very very much! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been to this area once before and it was just as good as the last time. First time staying at El Churrasco but second time eating in the restaurant. The food was good ( good prices) and the room was clean. My only complain was the faint smell of sewage from the Shower drain, easily fixed by placing a plastic grocery bad over the drain and pouring a bit of water over the bag to seal it. Nothing that would stop me from staying here again, and it's worth noting that many hotels/hostels have this smell due to "Tico" sytle plumbing.. That being said, i would still recommend this hotel for budget minded traveller or persons/family that are arriving or leaving the country via SanJose airport. It's only a 30-45min easy drive to the airport on well marked roads. It's great to unwind after air travel and there are plenty of things to do in the area to keep you occupied for at least 2 days. Doka Coffee tours, La Paz waterfall and Poas volcano are all within a 20 minute drive of this place. There is a corner store to get supplies or beer across the street. Above all, the view of the valley and overall climate of the area, very mystical, extremely laid back, cattle farms, views of the central valley are spectacular. it can get cool at night so a sweater is advisable. There are some great souvenir shops down the road so you can pick something up before you leave. Oh and i dropped my wallet outside the restaurant and the host was so nice she returned it with everything inside. i couldn't thank her enough for not taking advantage of me. Great little place!!

Room Tip: Stayed in rm. 3 at the top of hotel in the corner, cover the shower drain with a plastic bag and the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Propietario at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión y por su visita, esperamos que vuelva muy pronto, será un placer volver a atenderle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here when we were in a b&b close to poas. Good costarican and european food, a full plate. Service was great. Ambiance was ok, we were almost the only ones, but that didn't matter to us. Had the rice with chicken and fajitas with pepper, was really good!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Manager at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are very glad that you enjoyed our special fajitas and rice with chicken!

Our customer's satisfaction is the most important thing for us and we are so glad that you decided to choose us! Thank you very very much! We hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have done extensive traveling in the USA and a little in Mexico and the Caribbean. This is also my second trip to Costa Rica. I have never met anyone like tho owners of the El Churrasco Restaurant and Hotel. Mario and Ady (the owners) are very wonderful people. They provide service beyond comparison. Their staff will go far out of their way to meet your every need. They are sweet, polite,and helpful. There is always a smile for you, and then another, and before you leave, you will be smiling too. The rooms are modest, but impecably clean. Hot water is a given. The beds are very confortable. My girlfriend and I usually have trouble sleeping when we are away from home, but not this time, We slept like babies. The food is more than great. the extensive menu is full of wonderfull meals, including chicken, pork, fish, and the best steaks in Costa Rica..You will not be sorry, if you visit with Mario and Ady, when you make the trip, up the hill, on the way to the Poa volcano.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Manager at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so very much for such a nice review! We are so glad that you had a great time here with us and that you manage to sleep so well! That makes us very very happy! :)

Our customer's satisfaction is the most important thing for us and we are so glad that you decided to choose us! Thank you very very much! We hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is by far a "must go to place" while visiting Costa Rica. El Churrasco Lodge its a true representation of excellent service and terrific food. The Churrasco is great, juicy, tender, tasteful and great quality, everything is good, from the rice, beans, plantains and don't forget to ask for the "queso fundido" (melted cheese). The lodge its also a nice quiet place to stay, clean and comfortable rooms with cable and all the details included. I strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Costa Rica, it's a great last minute stop for your last night before flying out since it very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Have dinner at the restaurant, the best food you will ever taste!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otroticomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Owner at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your great comments! We are pleased that you took the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay and found our food to be a good value! Hope you come back soon, it was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stopped here to eat lunch after visiting La Paz Watefall Gardens and it was by far the best meal we had our entire 9 day stay in Costa Rica, and we visited so many different parts of the country. The service was outstanding and so very friendly. The food was out of this world! The steak was so tender and flavorful. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Costa Rica and possibly stay at the inn also!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovefrenchbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Propietario at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments! We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. We are always making an effort to give you the best. We hope you had a wonderful trip in Costa Rica.
Hope you visit us again soon, it was a pleasure to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

we stopped just a couple of nights to visit the Poas Volcano and then to take our plane.
it is not super super cheap but we spent really good our money!
we can say that the dinner was great, rooms beautiful, large and clean
(we had 3 doubles and they were all different and all beautiful!) and especially the staff very cordial, friendly and fun. We advised them to put a bigger signs because it is certainly a good stop, especially to appreciate a very good local cuisine and friendliness. The volcano is a natural wonder then that I recommend to everyone to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silviaevinorosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restchurrasco, Manager at El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so very much for such a nice review! We are so glad that you had a great time here with us! That makes us very very happy and thanks a lot for your advice! We manage to build a huge bull right in front of our hotel and is beautiful!

Our customer's satisfaction is the most important thing for us and we are so glad that you decided to choose us! Thank you very very much! We hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poasito
3.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
682 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
136 reviews
7.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante

Address: In front of the Rural Assistance Guard Delegation | 10 km before the Poas Volcano, Alajuela, Costa Rica., Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 406-1300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park > Poasito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poasito
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with excellent customer service, we offer the best grilled meats, fine wines imported. Rooms with the best warmth to make your stay first and stay but a moment of rest but rather a time to learn more on our people, we look forward to your visit, we are here to serve you the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing