We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Cabo Verde! Simply amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Espingueira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lisboa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Cabo Verde! Simply amazing!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I must say this is definitely the perfect place to enjoy your holidays in Boa Vista!
Congratulations to all the staff, I just loved the sympathy and kindness, so good to know that there are places like Spinguera!
The meals... heavenly, fresh and refined fish, lunch and dinner time are unique moments!
Perfect location, we breathe the sea in the entire hotel... perfect bed, I slept so much!!
Definitely, I recommend it and I will return some day, soon I hope!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mafalda_lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We visited Spinguera whilst staying in one of the purpose built resorts on BoaVista. Thus we did not stay but enjoyed the hospitality one lunchtime. When we stumbled across the place in search of a drink whilst we were out in a hired jeep, it was like finding an oasis in the desert. Boa Vista is basically a wild and barren land albeit one with beautiful beaches and blue ocean around its coast so you would only go there for a relaxing holiday, there is not much to do locally. Be prepared for off the beaten track driving too as there are no proper roads away from the airport and main town.
Spinguera is a rustic delight, obviously set up as a labour of love by its owners. We were enchanted by what we saw and the inventive use of throwaway items used to create the rustic ambiance . Having enquired about lunch we had 2 hours to wait so we walked down to their beach which took about 15 minutes. We relaxed on hammocks and day beds under the shade of beach shacks right by the waters edge to the sound of the waves. It was truly magical and tranquil and a refreshing brealk from the bustle of an all inclusive resort!
When we wandered back for lunch, we found the tables set under the porch and there were
2 other parties also dinning there.
We enjoyed a rustic meal which was very tasty albeit a bit on the cool side for us, I particularly expect my steak to be hot off the griddle not cold ( you can hardly reheat it can you?) Starter was warm goats cheese, fish or meat for the main was served with tasty rice and a bowl of assorted roast vegetables . sweet was a very tasty home made pear tart topped with a thin layer of melted chocolate. House wine was quite expensive at 15 euros . It was probably up there with the most atmospheric places where we have ever eaten lunch. We did feel the price was rather high for lunch however. For 4 of us the bill came to 146 euros, given that this is basically a third world country I guess you are paying the price of having goods shipped in plus for the uniqueness of the place. There did only seem to be one lot of guests and I note from one of the other comments , the same was true for them so perhaps a price review might bring in a few more visitors. It was certainly worth the visit overlall.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theonlyladyinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Spinguera is a wonderful eco-resort. The owner and hotel manager Larissa has made an extraordinary job in restoring an old fishermen' village with care for every little detail. Rooms and communal spaces are just beautiful and the natural location is amazing.
Larissa is also very welcoming and you really feel at home.
But being so isolated (first shop and restaurant are at about 40 minutes cross country drive) you would really enjoy more services. There is no service at all between 11 pm and 7.30 am and it's really hard to get a coffee or even a glass of water before 8 in the morning.
Food is good, nice and healthy but not much choice and you have to order in advance. The staff is kind and smiling but not always helpful.
On the positive side - if you ask in advance - there is a local woman who provides excellent massages and a cosy small shop with nice clothes and amenities (but again is often unattended).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Spinguera was the first place (and first time we have been to Cape Verde) we stayed at in Boa Vista. We travelled in December (Christmas Eve) and after a six and a half hour flight (bad head winds apparently, it should normally take 5.5 hours) we landed safely at the airport in Boa Vista. We were met at the airport by Larissa who owns the renovated fishing village and who took us there in her 4 x 4 utility vehicle. The journey from the airport to Springuera is around 35 minutes and this gives you an opportunity to see what the island looks like. One thing that is immediately apparent on arriving here is the temperature. It is hot, particularly if you have just travelled from a cold December in London. For those concerned about what to pack, think t-shirts, shorts and light shoes/sandals.

The journey to Spinguera followed some ordinary roads before they gave way to single track roads, dry river beds and dirt tracks that eventually brought you out to a collection of small chalet like stone buildings perched on a brow of a coast line facing the sea. Apart the small town of Rabil, we didn’t see any other houses or villages or people really until we reached Spinguera and even when we arrived, we found out that we were the only guests there.

We were taken straight to our little ‘cottage’ like building which was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated with a minimalist feel. Everything you needed was here, including a four poster bed with muslin style drapes around the sides which aid to deter any flies or mosquitoes (that that we had any problems there). The bathroom is also a good size with very large shower head that delivers a very nice shower. One thing you will notice about this island is how dry it is, so there is great emphasis on not wasting any of the water.

Outside of the room there is a little outdoor space with two brightly coloured deck chairs for the occupants to sit in and look out to sea. Each ‘cottage’ has its own different colour deck chairs. We were positioned right next door to the restaurant and cafe building and it took all of seconds to move from one building to the other. Like the ‘cottages’, the restaurant and cafe area’s face out to sea and a nice meal can be taken whilst admiring the views.

We thought things might be a little tricky for us eating-wise as we were vegetarian, but as it turned out, there was enough variety for the 3 days that we stayed. They also feed you very well here. Huge bowls of soup for starters, a very large main course and dessert to follow - more than enough.

The main emphasis on the whole place is relaxation and tranquillity (words you cannot help using to describe this place). Our Christmas day was spent on a beach that was a 20/30 minute walk away. The water here was relatively safe in terms of the size of the waves and we were able to take a dip and do some sunbathing. In the other direction way off into the distance is a wreck of a ship that is visible from Spinguera. We walked to the wreck to have a closer look and a round trip on foot will take you the best part of 5 hours. Make sure you wear decent footwear, take lots of sun cream and water as it’s quite a trek.

If sun worshipping is your thing, then there are plenty of opportunities for you to sun bathe here. Dotted around the village are sun beds, chairs and places to sit in the shade if you wish and there are a couple of beach style shacks near the sea front if you wanted to be closer to the water.

Overall we had a pleasant 3 days here relaxing, reading and eating in a calm and comfortable environment. The staff are also very friendly. The food in the evening is very filling as is the breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this if you are after getting away from a busy and hectic lifestyle for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espingueira
8.1 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#4 of 5 in Sal Rei
35 reviews
10.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,309 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
6,846 reviews
9.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Boa Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge

Property: Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge
Address: Espingueira, Boa Vista, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista > Espingueira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Espingueira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinguera is a superb stage form which you can live the experience of uncontaminated nature. The charme of the spot has remained intact throughout time ready to be descovered by those who love authentic places, where simplicity becomes style and nature is synonymous of luxury, where silence is broken only by the sound of the wind and the rumble of the sea. Spinguera is the ideal place to withraw from the world:. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing