We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jutta H
Graz, Austria

Great Place to Be!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 2, 2017
We stayed 10 days with our 6 year old son. The mixture of a great and impressing nature, great hospitality, contacts with local people, a relaxing surrounding and efforts taken by the hotel in cases of a starting environmental protection and employement of locals made us feel well. Guests from all over the world (by the majority Europeans) - singles, families and couples ensured a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Charming boutique hotel with local touch. The restaurant offers near "localized" food great pasta (very important for our son :-)) and italian style meals.
Date of stay: July 2017
Room Tip: all sea side appartments allow a great view on the ocean
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gangehi, Direttore at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Aug 5, 2017
Sunny greetings from the Maldives and thanks for posting such a lovely review. The entire team and I are very happy to read that you enjoyed much your overall stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Thanks for mentioning the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the high standard property and the excellent service delivered by our multicultural staff. We do hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future! Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $79
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.3 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$68
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $60
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Easy and fast booking
    0.4 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free parking
    Room service
      0.6 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      guest house name board
      $89
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        $89
      • eDreams
      0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Beachfront
      Rooms
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Algotels
      • Expedia.com
      1.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      • Expedia.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
      1.2 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        22.2 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • eDreams
        • Algotels
          $72
        • Expedia.com
          $129
        0.0 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Beachfront
        View more hotels in Hanimaadhoo
        Reviews (773)
        Filter reviews
        773 results
        Traveler rating
        583
        135
        37
        9
        9
        Traveler type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveler rating
        583
        135
        37
        9
        9
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews diving center marine biologist fish italian chef beach front manta rays ice cream inhabited island boat bar beachfront room sea life mosquito spray snorkeling trips diving experience barefoot team sunbeds and umbrellas sandwich
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        104 - 109 of 773 reviews
        Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

        We spent 1 week here for our honeymoon and it was a week to remember! With friendly staff, tasty food and amazing views! Lots to do on the island - snorkelling, kayaking & a offshore boat for cocktails at sunset!
        We had a great time and hope to see you all again soon! A big hello to all our friends on barefoot from Azra and Mirza :)

        Date of stay: May 2017
        Trip type: Traveled as a couple
        Thank 304mirzak
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

        Dear Azra and Mirza, it was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind comments and warmest regards from all The Barefoot Team.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed June 17, 2017

        This hotel offers a unique, relaxing experience, in a natural environment with a focus on conservation and supporting the eco-systems of the Maldives. You'll experience the warm, extremely friendly atmosphere from the moment you arrive. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The reception team are outstanding, as are the chefs and waiters. Our housekeeper Asir was an absolute star, I can't praise him enough. The gardeners do a wonderful job looking after the grounds, they always smiled and greeted us as we walked about and they provide fresh produce for the kitchens, with a farm to table philosophy that helps to reduce the hotels carbon footprint. We loved the variety of wild life that you could spot whilst walking around.
        Our beach front room was very spacious, freshly decorated and with comfortable rustic chic furnishings. The bed was huge and the waterfall shower was lovely. We were literally only yards from the lagoon and could hear the surf from our beds. We loved taking our morning coffee down to the beach.
        Best bits:
        Being able to completely relax and unwind and coming away feeling healthier than when we arrived.
        Free gym- we virtually had this to ourselves, it's air conditioned and perfect if you want to keep your fitness up during your stay, with a good range of exercise equipment and weights.
        kayaks- we had so much fun despite being hopeless to begin with.
        Juice bar- try the Maldivian, it is wonderful.
        Marine Biologist- Francesco is so lovely, take one of his trips and listen to his lectures if you can.
        Spa- the Balinese massage, heaven.
        Food- don't miss the Friday night Maldivian buffet, excellent.
        Tip- mosquitos were a bit of a problem despite the gardeners best efforts, we wish we'd taken long trousers or a better bug repellent.

        Date of stay: June 2017
        • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
          • Value
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank sandraH485OT
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

        Dear Sandra, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and many thanks for posting your detailed, comprehensive and lovely review. Thanks for awarding the warm, extremely friendly atmosphere and our outstanding team always ready to assist our valuable guests with passion and competence. Please come to visit us again! We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed June 6, 2017

        We stayed two weeks at barefoot and we really had a great and relaxing time on this beautiful island.

        Things we liked most:

        - walk around barefoot all day long :o)
        - very friendly and helpful staff everywhere
        - great food; home made pasta and curries, something for every taste. We especially loved the maldivian dinner on friday!!!
        - rooms are very big and clean, and I loved the big sized bed, which suits even tall people like me ;o). More places inside for hanging up wet clothes would be great, especially in the monsoon season.
        - I like the glass bottles for drinking water, which are reused and refilled. When you buy an extra bottle of water at the bar its plastic :o( .
        - the beach is just beautiful; so quiet, a lot of space, enough trees and hammocks to cool down in the shade.
        - For snorkeling its better to join the excursions. But you can also see a view nice fishes close to the beach in the lagoon.
        - the garden is like a paradise! Many palms and other trees and plants. Compliments to the gardener(s)
        - we joined the morning yoga classes every single day. It was a perfect start into the day and motivation to get up early; thank you very much Lindo! Only the mosquitos are a little bit (sometimes very) annoying. Even the mosquito spray failed...
        - the massage was also very nice; a bit painful and relaxing at the same time
        - its great to explore the village, which is actually bigger, then I thought. People are very friendly and its an experience to order something in a local restaurant.
        - the excursions and free snorkeling trips with the dhoni in the afternoon are great,
        - the presentations about sealife in the evenings were very interesting, thank you very much Francesco!
        - we loved the non alcoholic cocktails at the fruit bar, a special thank you to Raja, who spoiled us with his special creations.
        - also the fresh kurumbas are so tasty (and healthy), in my opinion a bit too expensive, as they grow in the garden.
        - the "pirate ship" is a really nice idea, theres a big choice of alcoholic drinks.

        We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is well organized and there is such a friendly and calm atmosphere. Thank you very much to all staff!

        Greetings from Switzerland
        Antje and Nadia

        Room tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows (I think sea side). Theres only 4 rooms in each bungalow and we liked it to enjoy the view from upstairs.
        Date of stay: April 2017
        • Trip type: Traveled with friends
          • Location
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank fortan77
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

        Dear Antje and Nadia, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you very much for taking time to share your great review on Trip Advisor! We were pleased to read about the well organized hotel, our friendly staff and the relaxing atmosphere. Thank you for awarding our professional marine biologist Francesco, our caring barman Raja, the experienced Indian yoga teacher and our great gardeners who proudly take care of the vegetation, plants and fruits around the resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to create more enchanting memories!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed June 4, 2017

        I just returned from my holiday at the Barefoot Eco Hotel and would like to share how wonderful it was. If you are searching for a relaxed and quiet beach-holiday on a truly magnificient and beautiful island this is your place. From the moment I was welcomed at the airport until I left all staff made sure I had an unforgettable stay. The italian chef an his crew spoil you with wonderful food (make sure to keep some appetite for desserts and ice cream), an alcohol-free drink or espresso at the juice bar afterwards completes your dinner. The massages were just delightful (very strong, just how I like it, but for sure you can also ask for a soft massage), there were daily trips to join (snorkeling by boat complementary every afternoon) either for snorkling or diving or dolphin/manta watching, and there was a complimentary yoga class at the beach every morning (which I didn't join but heard it is very good). The beach and the colour of the sea are simply stunning. Make sure to bring bathing shoes because of the little stones and you will enjoy swimming so much. For those who want to have an alcoholic drink there is a Bar Boat from 6 p.m. (which I never tried, didn't miss alcohol at all). But surely a lovely place for a drink.
        My thanks goes to all members of the staff, also those behind the scenes, for making this a perfect holiday. Special thanks for spoiling me with an upgrade to a Beach Front Room... magnificant view and direct access to the beach within a few steps!
        Victoria

        Room tip: I was tremendously lucky and got an update to a Beach Front Room... stunning view!
        Date of stay: May 2017
        • Trip type: Traveled solo
          • Value
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        1  Thank VictoriaScott
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Direttore at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

        Dear Victoria, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for posting such a lovely and detailed review. We were much pleased to read your nice comments regarding the amazing and beautiful holiday you spent with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        Reviewed May 23, 2017

        We enjoyed our stay at the Barefoot!
        Our holiday started with a nice welcome at the airport on bare feet ;-).

        It was a quiet hotel with nice rooms. No big luxury, but a very pleasant atmosphere!
        Everyone was very friendly and the food is good.

        Special thanks to the people of the diving center, they did a very good job :-)

        This hotel is highly recommended!

        Room tip: Choose a beachfront room!
        Date of stay: April 2017
        • Trip type: Traveled with family
          • Value
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        2  Thank VEMAPE
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

        Warm greetings from Hanimadhoo and thanks for sharing your great comments with us and the TripAdvisor community! The entire team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel and you liked the pleasant atmosphere. Thanks for awarding our professional diving center, as well. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
        View more reviews