We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
VEMAPE
Zonhoven, Belgium

What a wonderful hotel!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Barefoot!
Our holiday started with a nice welcome at the airport on bare feet ;-).

It was a quiet hotel with nice rooms. No big luxury, but a very pleasant atmosphere!
Everyone was very friendly and the food is good.

Special thanks to the people of the diving center, they did a very good job :-)

This hotel is highly recommended!
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room!
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this review
Responded May 24, 2017
Warm greetings from Hanimadhoo and thanks for sharing your great comments with us and the TripAdvisor community! The entire team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel and you liked the pleasant atmosphere. Thanks for awarding our professional diving center, as well. We do hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$79
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $78
  • Agoda.com
    $49
  • ZenHotels.com
    $92
0.3 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$68
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
    $55
  • ZenHotels.com
    $60
  • eDreams
    $68
0.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$68
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
    0.4 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free parking
    Room service
    guest house name board
    $89
    No prepayment needed
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      $89
    • Tripadvisor
      $89
    • eDreams
    0.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    $114
    Fully refundable
    • eDreams
      $114
    • Agoda.com
      $24
    • Trip.com
      $84
    4.0 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • Expedia.com
      $142
    • eDreams
      $105
    • Hotels.com
      $142
    6.5 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    $144
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      $144
    • Priceline
      $113
    • ZenHotels.com
      $147
    6.7 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    $51
    • Agoda.com
    8.7 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    $88
    • Agoda.com
    8.8 miles from The Barefoot Eco Hotel
    View more hotels in Hanimaadhoo
    Reviews (773)
    Filter reviews
    773 results
    Traveler rating
    583
    135
    37
    9
    9
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    583
    135
    37
    9
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews diving center marine biologist fish italian chef beach front manta rays ice cream inhabited island boat bar beachfront room sea life mosquito spray snorkeling trips diving experience barefoot team sunbeds and umbrellas sandwich
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    109 - 114 of 773 reviews
    Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

    WARNING: Do not book this hotel WORST holiday ever and it was supposed to be our honeymoon!! What a waste of money!! This is not the 'Maldives' as you imagine just a locals island with a shabby hotel to claim it's paradise, it could have easily be any other beach. It's false advertisement pictures leads you to believe your room is on the beachfront and it's not. You have a jungle bush view that needs chopping back and a walk to the beach front to the dated uncomfortable chairs. I wouldn't bother taking any nice shoes as the paths aren't boarded so they get ruined. There is no kiddy zone/kiddy pool so there are children running around the place causing noise and disruptions. Also it states it has a 'bar' which on arrival you find out is only a juice bar as NO ALCOHOL is served on the island! You have to catch a boat taxi to a bar boat in the sea if you fancy a drink (only opens at 6pm) not great if you suffer from motion sickness! Becareful when you sign the bills as what you sign for isn't what's on your end bill, they are very crafy as they make you sign and add on extra costs/taxes on the final bill at the end. We did argue that what we signed for we are legally abligied to pay for but the hotel were no use nor very good at understanding what we were saying.
    There is no evening entertainment nor music...a few science lesson lectures on the coral/shark..so leave your sleeping tablets at home as this will bore you to sleep.
    Water is only provided in the room, changed morning and evening which we used to brush our teeth. The water is not bottled and its only hearsay that it could be filtered. No other free water is provided, no water machines or complimentary bottles which is disgusting considering how hot the weather gets. This is a health and safety issue, water should be provided for free. If you want any water you have to pay for a bottle(which is securely capped) for $3.50 at their 'bar'.
    The food is extremely poor quality with the same foods brought back out again and again. Food isnt always covered properly as the hard crossaints and jam had flies on them. I cried on day 2 as the food was terrible and there is no where else to eat. We went full board but be warned again breakfast finishes at 9am and dinner isnt open till 8pm which is a long time to go without food.

    The room is very dated, very dirty and very basic. There is no tv/music. Our patio door wouldn't lock and the guy couldn't fix it. Our air-con broke and after a hour of sweltering with no water it was fixed. The room wasn't cleaned properly. We had dead bugs that hadn't been clean, by day 3 we complained and only the one of the bugs we mentioned had been removed.

    Be prepared to lose a hour in timing as this hotel has a different time to the island/Male?!? Which means you have to calculate your flight timings back also if you arrive after 9pm you get no dinner.

    When arriving at Male and when you get your internal flight to the island be warned again. Your hotel package may have a luggage weight, as did ours(30kg) but the internal flight is apparently only 20kg so you end up paying extra baggage costs. My husband who showed them various emails to confirm our luggage weight had to endure a lengthy argument but still had to pay the excess. Also when checking out to leave, this hotel asks for your passports and some stranger takes it to the airport with your luggage to check it in for you. I do not find this a useful service infact I find it a breach of my privacy that someone else has posed as me at the airport and taken my private belongings, that this stranger has had our passports and could have tampered or copied them.

    This holiday was supposed to be our romantic honeymoon, it cost us a lot of money that we saved for and what should have been a magical time. What a waste and what a let down! We both feel so upset and hurt by the whole experience. I have shared my story to warn others not to be fooled into going to this hotel/island. Spend your money elsewhere, we wish we did!

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    7  Thank Sharingiscaring2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

    Sunny greetings from the Maldives! We are very disappointed to read your review because it is totally wrong. You are free to write that you did not like our hotel but you must be fair. The 20 beach front and the 20 ocean view rooms are all in front of the long sandy beach and they face the sea. All room facilities and amenities are very well described in our website along with real pictures. They are cleaned twice a day. Being an eco hotel (born on 2014) we love to keep the lush vegetation. In our website and in all tour operators brochure it is stated that as per Maldivian law we are not allowed to provide alcohol to our guests because we are located on an inhabited island. That's why we can only serve cocktails and wine on Barutheela, the boat bar, which is the best place to enjoy the sunset or stargaze after dinner. In the Maldives you don’t need shoes, especially in a place called The Barefoot! It is clearly mentioned that there are not activities for children, parents must look after them at all the times. Unlimited bottled fresh water (still and sparkling) is provided free of charge at all meals and in all room categories. We serve buffet breakfast (from 8 till 10.30 am), lunch (from 13.00 till 14.30) and dinner (from 20.00 till 21.30). The food is very tasty. Our kitchen team coordinated by an Italian Chef is very professional and proud to serve good and fresh food at all meals. There is a large variety of food. We do have a soft evening entertainment, you cannot expect disco music if you choose our hotel. It seems you did not read any information before booking. Most of the hotels in the Maldives are one hour ahead of Male in order to earn one hour (not to loose it as you wrote). You are the only guests who did not appreciate our special and fast service the day of departure. We always send luggage at the airport before the passengers in order to keep our valuable guests at the hotel longer. We send them at the airport just half an hour before flight departure. You blame us and we cannot accept what you wrote about the bills. What you signed is what we charged and you paid for. You were not be able to spend a nice honeymoon even the place is perfect for that, as you can read from all the other reviews.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 12, 2017

    After a round trip through Sri Lanka we spent some relaxing and peaceful days here. It was fantastic! All the staff was incredibly nice and attentive (special thanks to the helpful barman and the reception).
    The rooms are always clean, very large with a nice small terrace incl cozy seating. Our room was cleaned twice a day and always completely sand-free.
    Daily excursions are offered to discover the beauty of this place and the beach is simply wonderful: white sand, crystal clear water and amazing sea life. Snorkeling in the Maldives is an incredible experience (special thanks to Francesco for answering all that questions).
    Make sure you book a massage at the Spa, you won´t regret it!
    The other guests were a good mix of couples, families, single travelers and friends. In the evenings in was nice to chill in the lounge area or have a drink at the boat bar.

    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Martina W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

    Dear Martina, sunny greetings from the Maldives and thanks for posting your lovely review. We are very pleased to read your great comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

    We spent 10 perfect days in that hotel. The beach is beautiful and so peaceful. You will not be bothered by passing boats or by the other guests. The hotel beach is big enough to accommodate everyone. It also has a small pool, which gets some shade during the day making it a good place to be in a too hot day. The hotel offers complementary yoga classes every morning and it is possible to get private yoga classes at night. Every day, the hotel offers a free snorkeling trip. It is close to the hotel and you will spot beautiful fishes. If you want to snorkel from the hotel, you will have to be a pretty good swimmer or to take a canoe (complementary offered by the hotel), as the good sites to see fishes are not right next to the beach. The hotel also offers activities against a fee every day. We did a turtle seeing trip, a manta ray snorkeling trip and a regular snorkeling trip. They are all worth it although the manta ray one was the best (make sure to bring mask, tuba and fins, otherwise renting them from the hotel will get expensive). The hotel marine biologists will share their knowledge with you and it is quite interesting to learn about these wonders. They also bring awareness as to the issues that the Maldives are facing, which is greatly appreciated. They offer some lectures in the certain evenings.
    Concerning comfort, the hotel has all you need: the rooms are spacious, although the cleaning could be improved (someone comes twice a day for minimal cleaning but during our stay we would have wanted a full complete cleaning); all the rooms have ocean view, but I recommend the rooms at the top as they offer more privacy. From your room you are a few steps from your sunbed at the beach (on the sunbeds, they are not very comfortable. A mattress is missing); bed is good although a bit hard for my taste. No TV in the room but it did not bother us. We were here to relax.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    1  Thank Stephanie8230
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

    Dear Stephanie, warm greetings from Hanimadhoo and thanks for posting your lovely review after staying at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. We do appreciate your nice comments and we are happy to hear that you spent ten perfect days. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 10, 2017

    Perfect Place to relax and enjoy !
    Halftime in Paradiese

    Beautiful Hotelenvironment, natural, clean and blooming Garden.
    Staff is always friendly and ready to help in any case.

    Beach can't be written must be experienced.

    The Homes are always clean and nice.
    The views are awesome, every morning, midday
    and evening a new experience.

    Our Favorite is the homemade Pasta from the Chef
    We can't get enough of them.

    Beachloungers and Beach are never crowded clean, silent and beautiful.

    Extra-awesome is the Bar-Pirateship in front of the island.
    Watch awesome sunset while drinking a cool Lion, should I say more ?

    Summarized, RELAX 4.0
    there is nothing wrong with it.

    i uped some impressions more will follow in a view Days.
    We will definitely return !

    best regards from the German Dudes
    and have fun

    Room tip: Rooms in the 1 Etage
    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tino L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

    Sunny greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Thanks for sharing your positive experience with us and the entire Trip Advisor community! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed much your stay and you appreciated our amazing hotel and our great staff. We do hope to see you again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 4, 2017

    All good things come to an end... We've just come back home from an 11 nights' stay at the Barefoot Hotel on Hanimaadhoo. Our head full of precious memories. We could not have chosen a better place for our first stay in the Maldives and for my husband 50th birthday. The Barefoot hotel is an eco friendly hotel, where it feels good living. It is layed back, very well managed, friendly, clean and tidy. Staff were discreet but always ready to help. The hotel is well integrated on the island, right on the seaside, but nicely hidden by coconut trees and other tropical plants. Our seafront room was spacious and comfortable with a very good shower.
    There is not much to do on the island, but we never got bored. We spent our time swimming in the beautiful lagoon and relaxing at the beach. The snorkeling is amazing and filled up a good part of our days... We were lucky to see some dolphins, some turtles, rays and so many beautiful colourful fish. We couldn't get enough of it!
    The food at the hotel restaurant was always very good, with plenty of variety everyday. There is a good team of chefs, who are always present during the meals, presenting their food, always cheerful and pleasant. We loved the Maldivian dinner last Friday and the traditional music afterwards played by the Maldivian staff. It was great to have an opportunity to danse ...barefoot! Thank you for the nice memories! We walked or cycled to the village several times. It is a typical muslim village. There are two cafes that serve Maldivian street food (such as samosas and other spicy and tasty tuna bites) or for a more substantial lunch, they make vegetable rice or pasta, always quite tasty.
    To sum up, we highly recommend the Barefoot hotel. We miss it already and hope to go back in the future. We had a beautiful and memorable holiday thanks to the amazing location and the very pleasant and super friendly staff. Dominique & Simon

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank we_love_two_travel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Gangehi, Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

    Dear Dominique and Simon, thank you very much for choosing The Barefoot Eco Hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We are thrilled to read your gracious feedback regarding the beautiful location of the hotel, the amazing marine life, the delicious buffet including the Maldivian dinner and the comfortable accommodation. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews