We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Varlet Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Varlet Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Poelkapelle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Not long returned from our second visit to Varlet Farm. Another great stay, everything as good as we remembered from the apple pie & drinks welcome to the impressive breakfast, that you can also use as your packed lunch, Charlotte happy to supply you with a cool box & cling film, another little attention to detail that makes Varlet Farm a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. The reading room is a nice place to unwind in the evening, there are plenty of books to do research on the history of the Great War & to help you plan your days out. Also the fridge is nicely stocked with those naughty Belgian beers , 13% for a beer! had to try it though. We agree with a previous reviewer in that Charlotte is Varlet Farm, she is the perfect host, and it wont be the same without her. Good luck for the future Charlotte, the new owners have got a tough act to follow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebrewer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
133
144
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Near the M25
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

For many years I have visited the battlefields of the Ypres Salient, as a visitor and more recently escorting small groups and friends. There is in my humble opinion only one place to stay and that is Varlet Farm B&B and your host Charlotte. From the moment you arrive (the home made apple cake) to the time you reluctantly drive out the farm gates, your stay will live long in the memory.
Charlotte's unrivalled local knowledge, and also the fact that the farm itself was also the scene of bitter fighting (all explained during the fascinating farm tour) are worth the tariff on their own.
Rooms are of high standard, with plenty of room to spread out, there are also family rooms and the price of €35pp/pn represents excellent value for money. The breakfast deserves a special mention, not only are all tastes catered for, but you can make a packed lunch at no extra cost. I have visited the farm on many occasions and try as I might I cannot find a fault
with anything. If you do not fancy going out, there is an extensive library of books, fridge of Belgian beer and the pleasant company of your fellow guests.

PLEASE NOTE - Varlet Farm is undergoing major changes, at the end of the year the farm is being sold this includes the B&B, in short this means that Charlotte is leaving, I am assured she will be back occasionally but all the time. In this reviewers opinion Charlotte is Varlet Farm, and it just will not be the same without her. Charlotte I wish you all the best and raise a glass of Belgium's finest beer to you, and to all those around the world who are going to get the benefit of your lectures, enjoy every word.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeRouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

a visit to varlet farm is first class.
charlotte makes you feel warm and comfortable.
the rooms are exellent everything is there at hand from drinks to reading material local information from charlotte is amazing.
so many times a review is a personnel feeling but i dare anyone to visit varlet farm and not go back
the breakfast charlotte produces is the best you will ever see on top off this she encourages you to make up a packed lunch.
i travel europe on my motorcycle on my own , and i plan my route to fit around varlet farm.
i can honestly say this is the best b & b in europe and beond.

ian fj

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruigahuizen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed last weekend at Varlet Farm , we have had a very good time there , plesant rooms , excellent breakfast and on top a tour in Varlet Farm own little museum with all the ww1 stuff they have found in their fields.
Charlotte is an excellent host and we will centanly come back again!

Renny & Tineke Reuvers
The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werrington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed recently, service, location was first class. Hats off to Charlotte who has all things covered would recommend and will be going back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just had my first stay at Varlet Farm and what an enjoyable experience it was. Everything that has been written before is true, from the breakfast through to the great Charlotte. If your thinking of staying in this area there is only one place to book and that is Varlet Farm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have stayed at Varlet Farm on six previous occasions, with groups of friends and my family. My latest stay was in the week commencing Sunday 18th September 2011 with four friends.

The hostess Charlotte Cardoen -Descamps is superb! She is so hospitable and has an encyclopaedic knowledge of World War One history, local WW1 locations and places to visit. She knows about restaurants and can even book reliable taxis for you. Is there anyone in Ypres she does not know!

The rooms are excellent, the breakfasts legendary and you are encouraged to make up a packed lunch.

All this at the same price per night you would pay for ordinary accommodation. Varlet itself is in the middle of the Paschedaele battlefield and the farm has a fascinating history and a small but excellent museum.

If you are going to Ypres, do not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: You want to be in the converted barn, the rooms are absolutely superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poelkapelle
4.4 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bailleul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
23.6 mi away
Number 11 Exclusive Guesthouse
11.4 mi away
De Rentmeestershoeve
De Rentmeestershoeve
#1 of 21 in Poperinge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varlet Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varlet Farm

Property: Varlet Farm
Address: Wallemolenstraat 43, Poelkapelle 8920, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Poelkapelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poelkapelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with warm family atmosphere where much attention is paid to the guests. Situated in the heart of the battlefields. Enjoy from a relaxed stay with in the countryside having all info on the WW I battlefields around you. Guidebooks and books on WWI, as well as maps at the disposal of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Varlet Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varlet Farm Hotel Ieper (Ypres)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing