We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La petite Maison

Holiday cottage With outside seating area & Bbq.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday cottage With outside seating area & Bbq.
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area Living area with tv, and old bread oven feature.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Holiday cottage With outside seating area & Bbq.
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area
Living area with tv, and old bread oven feature.
View from the gite and seating area
Spring at the gite
Winter at the gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chamberet, Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Adrian H
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Such a peaceful place to get away from it all!
My wife & I unwound completely in the restful surroundings and well equipped gite.
The scenery from the doorstep is of gentle hills, farmland and forest. No noise and no light pollution- the stars at night are clear.
We'd both recommend La Petite Maison with 5 stars :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, scenic location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn R
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tranquility in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

very nice gite, clean and well presented it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Andy & Sam are very helpful should you need anything or have any questions, only 10 minutes to Chamberey which has a nice bakery and small supermarket, a great place to stay for exploring the region,.
overall afantastic place run by nice people, i am sure we will return before too long, Dawn,Martin & Alfie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-fxyz
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent gite set in a lovely environment”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My dog & I received a very warm welcome from Sam & Andy, who live about 40m from the property but were not at all intrusive.

This is a lovely little gite set in countryside about ten minutes outside Chamberet. Its quiet & isolated with a lovely view of the surrounding area. A comfy bed with loads of light streaming in from the velux windows upstairs. Downstairs is cosy & inviting.

There is plenty to see and visit within an hour's travelling time, especially Lac Vassiviere, Brive & Oradour sur Glane. If you are happy to travel a little further there is also Collanges la Rouge, Beaulieu sur Dordogne, Sarlat etc.

Travelled with my dog + had no problems there either. There is plenty of space for dogs to roam about outside the gite. Sam & Andy's dog (Scamp) is friendly & relaxed.

Connectivity is a bit of a problem at the gite. The mobile networks are variable for 2G, but very variable for 3G/data. Sam & Andy have wifi but you do have to go perch on their step to use it. It would be great to see that extended to the gite.

Absolutely no reservations in recommending this lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely location, great welcome, lovely gite
Liked least: Wifi access
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyP06
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peace and quiet - off the beaten track- a relaxing place to stay at any time of year!”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a week in this lovely Gite where importantly for us our two dogs were openly welcomed. This is a comfortably furnished Gite with a very comfy bed. My only criticism was that the kitchen could have had a greater variety of pots and pans, I like to take time to cook when I am on holiday. The Gite is situated off the road and had lots of ground where our dogs could run around safely, as could small children. The owners live on site and were available if needed but we're in no way intrusive. If you are looking for a chilled out holiday where you can relax away from it all this is a good place to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe for our dogs
Liked least: WiFi was difficult!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorseMark...
Aylesbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Fantastic space”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed a week over the new year in this fantastic house. Andy and Samantha couldn't have made us more welcome (and Rose, Ruby and Scampi) and it really was a home away from home. This house is in a truly amazing position, fantastic views, peace and quiet, easily accessible to the north, south, east and west, and we returned fully refreshed. We would highly recommend this property to anyone wishing to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing owners and atmospheric location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLloy...
Waterford
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The perfect Getaway.”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were very fortunate to have a week long stay at La Petite Maison. The weather was wonderful and this location really showed itself off to full effect in the sunshine. Our hosts, Andrew and Samantha and their lovely daughters made us feel so welcome and made our stay very enjoyable indeed. The house is beautiful and well stocked. There was nothing we needed during the week that was not available. We brought our two dogs along and they enjoyed every minute also. There is a half door on the house which is great, and worked well with the dogs. The house is in a lane off the public road so we felt sure that the dogs would be safe when they were outside.
This is the perfect place to get away from the rat race and chill out for a bit. The location is good as a central point for exploring the Limousin area, there are restaurants a few kilometers away and shops for groceries. Lots to see and do once you have the car with you. I would recommend this holiday rental to my family and friends and I would have no hesitation in returning myself. Great value, lovely people, terrific scenery, safe location,...full marks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne B
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

exceptionally friendly welcome, the gite was really well presented and clean throughout.
the views from the gite are outstanding, the local village of chamberet has a good selection of shops.
there are many things to see and do in the local area.
overall a really good place to stay and would recommend to anyone, we intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: far to many to say one is the best
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing