We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”
Review of Hotel le Castrum

Hotel le Castrum
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Castrum
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very friendly lady at the reception, rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was very good and certainly the dinner at the evening gets a 10 ! The enviremont is very beautiful. When the weather is fine you can sit outside in the lounge seats and drink something with a view on the forest and the mountains. We surely come back to this lovely place !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed three nights at Le Castrum as part of a ten day trip through the Languedoc Rousillon. The setting was charming and our room afforded us a great view of the mountains through the huge bay window. The owners did everything they could to make our visit as pleasant as possible. We were most impressed by the attention to detail to make guests feel at home. Too bad that Karina and Jerome's powers did not extend to being able to change the weather that was rainy and glum for two of the days we were there.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Montsegur room - the room with the panoramic window. It is worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived here after a long journey in the rain and were welcomed by the friendly owner. I don't recognise the description by previous reviewers. The facilities were excellent with lots of nice touches like good toiletries. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, something we missed in many places we stayed in France. The owner also helped us with finding a restaurant on a Sunday night.
We didn't get an opportunity to use the pool or the garden because of the rain

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived at Hotel le Castrum at 10:20 p.m., having driven several hours on backroads from Oloron-Sainte-Marie (south of Pau) with a visit at Lourdes. We arrived in Villeneuve at 9:50 p.m., but it took us over 30 minutes to find the hotel as we had to drive up a poorly marked and dark side street. Upon arrival at 10:30 (reasonable from a traveler's point of view, especially with a reservation and confirmation), the hotel lobby was locked and dark. We were on a 36 day trip (planned thru TA reviews) and had not run into any problems until this point. All other hotels we stayed at had a person working at the lobby desk; if not staffed, they had a notice posted on who to see nearby or how to access the keypad that would let you into the hotel; there was no such sign and no such keypad for entry. Tired and dumbfounded, I walked around the hotel to find out what was going on as we had the room booked for 3 nights. I went up the only steps to the back of the hotel expecting to find a manager or someone who would let us in and a spotlight went on. I walked into the only open door and politely asked for help and a woman jumped up off a couch and started screeching at me, "What are you doing here? I called you on the phone!!! screech screech screech." I explained I had no phone with me in Europe, but she just kept screaming. I left in shock and we drove to McDonald's where a kind worker told us we would be able to find lodging nearby in Foix. We drove to a little hotel in Foix and walked in and the woman at the Hotel Lons desk pleasantly showed us to a room, even though by now it was 11:40. We returned the next day to try to get in our room at Le Castrum as we had booked it for 3 days; the woman again ranted and raved and now accused of us littering in her parking lot; needless to say, she refused us access. The fine print said we had to be in the hotel by 9:00 p.m., which we obviously did not see on the booking.com printout. We ended up going to the nearby police station to make sure she would not charge us for 3 nights. So we only got ripped off one night! If you think you may show up after 9 p.m., or even if you can get there early, I would stay in nearby Foix instead, a charming town with little shops and people who enjoy making sure the customer is satisfied and will make a return visit! This was our ONLY bad event in 36 days, so I still have faith in TA. Lesson learned: I'll never book a hotel again that only has 5 reviews! The lobby looked clean, so that is the only thing I could rate above terrible.

Room Tip: Stay in nearby charming Foix, instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anya672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lionel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Crocodilefrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel le Castrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Castrum

Address: Chemin de Laouzet, 09300 Villeneuve-d'Olmes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Villeneuve-d'Olmes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villeneuve-d'Olmes
Price Range: $113 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Castrum 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Castrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing