We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
232
65
19
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
232
65
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea charming hotel kippers small hotel little touches stayed for one night town centre pleasant stay lovely room second to none many thanks toast breakfast was delicious bed was very comfortable well worth a visit full english warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 325 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

Was away on business and automatically went for premier inn but it was full. However they recommended this place and even rang them for me. The whole town was busy but they had one room left which actually was 30 quid cheaper than the premier inn!
Checked in very easily and was offered a meal which I declined as needed a walk.
Room wasn't huge, but clean, and the bed was very comfy! Great breakfast, well presented as well as being really nice!
Staff were very pleasant, would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank PhilBrown1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016

A last minute booking for two nights that really came up trumps. A wonderful old fashioned building that has been decorated to a very high standard. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The welcome from the maître de was warm and welcoming, the food in Cutlers's Restaurant excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Add to this beautifully fresh cooked breakfasts and we had a lovely stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachydiplax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

prepared on the premises. Do you expect to fool me into thinking you bake your own scones. Prepared on the premises can and probably does mean, opened a packet of cheap scones from asda and buttered them. The sandwiches were not displayed on the wilting bed of greenery. The greenery was just there to fill the display

Date of stay: August 2016
3  Thank Rainy6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in Newark. The Grange has fantastic staff and the customer service was very good. The breakfast was perfectly cooked both mornings. The garden is also a lovely spot to sit in and very peaceful. The only thing I would say is that the room we stayed in (room 6) was very warm even with the windows open and towel rail turned off. A small thing compared to how lovely everything else was. Would definitely stay again if back In the area. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lucy7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

This is a lovely Victorian Building that has been coupled with the next house to create a great hotel. The rooms we had were a tad smaller than we expected but had everything including delightful high ceilings. The breakfast menu was extensive. My wife had smoked salmon and scrambled egg whilst I had the traditional english breakfast. Both were excellent.
Whilst staying ... make sure you visit the garden. Truly wonderful and inspirational.

Room tip: Overlook the garden
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews