We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Escape”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodlands Cottage

External view of Woodlands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage. View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Dining area.
Living area with wooden floor and underfloor heating.
Dining area with underfloor heating and granite tiles.
Kitchen with granite tiles and underfloor heating.
One side of the Main bedroom with a king sized bed.
Other side of the Main bedroom.
Walk in Power Shower
Twin room
Twin room.
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bathroom - Bath, sink, toilet and walk in shower
External view of Woodlands Cottage
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
barrie b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We chose this area due to it being close to our family we were visiting.
The location is easy to find and very quiet. We made the most of the great field outside to play with our boys plus walking along the disused railway about 1 km outside the village.
The cottage is very comfortable and functional for either a family or 2 couples.
The property would definitely benefit from having a washing machine and tumble dryer especially for a family with young children. Also as there are no eating establishments very close by we did a lot of our own cooking. A review and procurement of some news pots and pans would certainly help. That also goes for the iron as it has been treated badly in the past and being an inexpensive model it is in need of a replacement.
Apart from these minor things this is a lovely place, very private and very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review of our cottage. Whilst cleaning, I did notice the burned base of the iron and it was replaced immediately with a higher grade steam iron. We also put a new set of saucepans in the property. I apologise that these items were not in the best of condition during your stay but am glad that you enjoyed everything else about the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticsur...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a second visit to this, beautifully property, with its open living kitchen-dinner-lounge which is stylishly furnished to a high standard throughout. The shower is amazing, the beds were very comfortable and the cottage was lovely and clean. We love the extra touch like towels, tea towels, toilet rolls, soap and washing up liquid were all generously provided. The kids love coming here and its a great base for exploring the area, we came for the Robin Hood Festival.

It is just perfect, so quiet and in the middle of nowhere, although it is only a 30 minute drive to Lincoln and 20 minutes to Newark. Lots of pubs, take aways, and supermarkets nearby.

Really, really recommend Woodlands cottage and Louise made us feel very welcome.

We hope to come again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
It was lovely to see you and your family again and have two mini Robin Hoods playing in the garden. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Kincardine, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to our daughter and family and lots to do and see”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location, plenty of outside space for the grandchildren to run around.The cottage was large enough for all of us plenty of living/eating space, the large bedroom had 2 children and our other daughter i and Alan and i had the small room, still had plenty of space. Could have done with a 2nd toilet, but we managed. Really enjoyed our stay and would book again. Thank you

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you are able to visit us again. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launceston cornwall
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate you taking the time to give us a lovely review.
Kind regards,
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really lovely place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in this well-equipped, beautifully furnished property. Amazing shower and lovely underfloor heating in the bathroom. The cottage was lovely and clean. Towels, tea towels, loo rolls and even soap and washing up liquid were all generously provided and having a dishwasher was a welcome treat in holiday accommodation. Thankyou for being so welcoming Louise and Dean. We hope to come again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. We do try hard to give our guests the best stay possible and so your kind words are very welcome.

Many thanks,
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing