We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend It To Anyone!”
Review of Turi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turi Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We like to do our homeworks, so before we travelled to Turi Beach Resort we read quite a few reviews and, whereas we still booked up anyway, we noted a few adverse comments regarding the staff, so this was on our minds when we arrived.

Any such worries were quite unfounded, as it turned out. Whereas we all speak from personal experience, ours was that the staff were excellent. We brought our six-month-old son along, and they were all brilliant with him. Constant fuss and affection. He loved it!

We decided to extend our stay for a couple of days, and promptly ran out of baby food! Cue the chef pureeing some tasty mixed vegetables which the little guy preferred to his usual stuff. What was the charge for this service? Zero... zilch.

Running low on nappies? Resort shop closed? Problem? Not at all! They had the shop opened and we got what we needed right away. As for the managerial staff, the GM was very attentive in making sure customers (not just us!) were kept happy, and his under-managers seemed keen to ensure that our stay was enjoyed to the max. To summarise, the staff here basically couldn't do enough to help and nothing was too much trouble.

As for the resort itself, yes, we'd agree that it's not a true five star, but who cares? You're supposed to be out on the beach, right? But that's not to say anybody slums it. The rooms are all comfortable and clean, with adequate facilities (we tried the traditional and the more "modern" versions). Again, room service staff pleasant and helpful throughout.

The beach (or beaches, actually - there are two of them) are fairly short, but clean and quiet. Shallow, clear water that's pretty safe for kids. Jetskis and all the usual paraphernalia are available for hire. Two very nice swimming pools cater for those who don't want to venture into the sea.

The east-west orientation of the resort makes for lovely sunrises and sunsets (tropical weather permitting, of course!).

My wife enjoyed her time at the spa. A variety of massages and treatments on offer.

The main restaurant offers a fairly limited but (in our experience) very tasty menu (try the Indonesian oxtail soup!). Didn't notice any problems with the slow service that another reviewer reported.

Main bar was quiet but adequate, with pool tables and TV's for those inclined to watch.

It's not a round-the-clock-drinking-and-dancing type place, so maybe if you're a night-clubber or raver, you won't find too much to interest you here (try Bintan if that's what you fancy), but if it's a quiet, chill-out family break you are after, we would recommend this resort to anyone... and yes, we will be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Dear Mr. McMahon & Family,

It was a pleasure to have you with us.

We very much appreciate your comments and the beautiful photos you took from the resort.

Please extend my regards to your wife.

Glad to have you back in Turi Beach during your next vacation.

Have a great weekend!

Antonio Hernandez Canovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Turi Beach has really improved! We stayed for 3D2N and took 4 dbl/twins at the Tirta Wing (the new wing), and had a great time. We had rooms on the 2nd floor, so it was easy to walk down the steps to the beach and pool. Room were cleaned daily, and amenities replenished, and all rooms were spacious with a balcony facing the sea. Spacious enough to enjoy pre and post dinner drinks ....

If you enjoy seasports, then there's lots to choose from without breaking the bank. E.g. snorkeling classes are at SGD 5.00 per lesson. You've got 2 pools to choose from, one at the new wing, and another at the old wing. The old wing pool also has a sunken bar ... perfect for some extra downtime while swimming or sunbathing :) If you enjoy walking, which we did, then you could stroll across the boardwalk all the way to another marina nearby. Or just stroll across the jetty and checkout the amazing ocean ...

One downside at Turi. There's not much choice by way of restaurants - 2 restaurants (one of which is the all-day dining restaurant), a Japanese-style restaurant, plus a weekend BBQ at the poolside. There are also a couple of bars/lounges apart from the sunken pool bar. Food is decent enough, but choices could be more varied. Service was polite, if a little slow at times. However, we were later attended to by Iqbal, a wait staff at the main restaurant - lovely guy and so so helpful ... and that improved the dining experience by tons!

If you want more dining variety, then take a taxi to a seafood restaurant about 15 mins away from the hotel, or if your'e up to a longer ride, then there's a popular seafood restaurant called Golden Prawn 88 Restaurant (I think). It's on stilts by the seaside. Food is reasonbly priced, e.g. dinner for 4 was less than SGD 100. Plus you can bring your own wine, so be sure to load up at the SGP duty free shop before you take the ferry to Batam. Taxi charges are about SGD 10 for an hour, min. of 3 hours. You can easily combine dinner with shopping...

So if you're looking for shopping, then there's some decent buys at Nongsa Shopping Centre, and BJC Mall. The fx rate works well esp if you pay in rupiah. Pick up some great tasting kueh-lapis (layered cake) at the Batam Centre Mall, There are 2 shops, but the one that's better is nearer to the JC supermarket entrance. You can also pick up some great tasting coffee packs at the supermarket (look out for the Kapal Api brand with mocha flavor.... solid stuff!).

The most important thing to remember when staying at the Turi Beach is to pick up the local mentality .... just chill and not be too impatient. Breathe ... relax .... wait things out and leave your "city/work" mentality behind. After all, we're on holiday!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uberseber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Dear Ms. Seber,

Tropical greetings from Turi Beach!

This is to show my appreciation for taking the time to share with us your experience during your last stay in our resort.

Your feedback will be communicated to all our staff and especially to Iqbal.

During your next stay you are most welcome to enjoy traditional Indonesian delights at Cinta Manis restaurant or a private seafood lunch or dinner at any location of your choice.

If I can be of any assistance to you or your friends, please contact me at antonio@nongsaresorts.com

I will be glad to welcome you back to Turi Beach Resort during your next trip to Batam.

With best regards,

Antonio Hernandez Canovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Attractive resort with enough to occupy teenagers for about two days. Accommodation is good - either authentic quaint-style room or more modern version thereof - both comfortable and well-appointed. Kindly, welcoming staff but not the best-trained: service is very slow so that the first person to get served dinner is finished long before the last gets their meal. Menus a bit limited although food is OK if nothing special. It was busy the weekend we were there with a lot of Singaporean National Servicemen and partners (NO problem) but quieter-mid-week although conference was running then. Easy to get to and peaceful retreat for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FultonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2010

Dear Mr. Fulton,
Sea, sun and nature greetings from Turi Beach!
Receive my gratitude for taking the time to share with us your latest stay experience.
Your feedback has been distributed amongst our staff to action those areas in need of improvement.
A new director of food and beverage is joining our team next Monday. This will allow us to provide you with a more personalized service and extensive culinary choice in the weeks ahead.
If I can be of any assistance to you or your friends, please contact me at your convenience (antonio@nongsaresorts.com).
Glad to welcome you personally during your next stay at Turi Beach.
Have a great week!
Antonio Hernandez Canovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have been to this resot Several time.

Best in Bintan with the View and Ambience.

Must visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiearora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear richiearora
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort !

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.


On behalf of Turi Beach Resort team. We all look forward to having you and your loved one back with us soon.

With best regards,
Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I check in at about 12 pm but they said that check start at 2pm. No flexibity for guest. When about 3 pm I came back from town . A lady check in us and give us the wrong instruction to our room. I was so disaapointed as my wife is expecting. we have to walk the whole round. No staff around to show us where is our room. They locate us at far end of the new wings. As they pretend not to se my wife and my kids. . .

The restaurant full of flys . . .

Total ly it nice if they have good customer service.

Housekeeping make up my room but never sweeo and vacuum the floor.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokdiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear tokdiw
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort !

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

On behalf of Turi Beach Resort team. We all look forward to having you and your loved one back with us soon.

With best regards,
Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Well, to make it easy to read, ill categorise them into the goods and the bads.
Firstly, the good things about Turi Beach Hotel
1)The decor of the place is most interesting, with lots of tiny details to make the place a lovely sight. Check out the twinkling lights in the pool.
2) Food in all the restaurants are of good quality and good value. Don't need to go hunting elsewhere for good food.
3) They have a nice jetty that brings one far out. Good place for snorkelling.
4) Service around the place, such as the waiters, the bath towel ppl etc are really very warm and attentive.
5) There is a walkway for you to explore the Nongsa Marina. Pretty interesting and quiet walk.
Now, here come's the bad sides of Turi.
1) My boyfriend and i had booked a room online for 2 nights, expecting at least a queen bed, if not King. Instead, they gave us 2 single beds. We tried to request for a change but they insisted that they were full.
2) Never expect any flexibility on the Turi side. It states 2pm check in and 12 pm check out. They will insist on this strictly, even if they make you wait 30 mins just to check out.
3) Yes, terrible check-out procedures. Had to wait a whole 30 minutes before someone attended to us. And when they attended to us, they gave us a most confusing bill, in Rupiahs yet with some large number scribbled on top of them. Nobody tried to explain what we were supposed to do or how to read the numbers. How stupid they made me feel. They actually gave me PERSONAL attention only when i asked for it loudly. It was most frustrating that the poorest service came from the cashier n reception table. I would think they were the most important people of all.
4) I cannot understand why everything was in SG dollars. I had changed 300 SGD into Rupiahs and realised that everything was automatically converted into sgd. Is this Singapore or Indonesia??
5) Despite the food being great, be prepared to fight with the flies. Flies there are plentiful so do not take your eyes away from your food even for a second. That too turned out to be most frustrating.
6) On with the issue of the fly, i headed to the Aqua bar, hoping to experience lunch inside the pool. Unfortunately, it turned out to be most disgusting coz all around the water were floating dead flies and insects.
7) I stayed for 2 nights yet the toiletries nor the complimentary bottles of water were not added. When i told them the problem, instead of apologising, they told me that they would check on it. As if i would lie about such a matter!

Well, thats all from my side.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear melmay78
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for support and your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

We realize that in staying at Turi Beach Resort, you have every right to expect only the very best of service. It is indeed a source of sadness to me personally that we did not deliver these expectations. We do however intend to learn from our mistakes and do all we can to continually improve the quality of our guests’ experience.

It is our commitment to achieve high level of guest satisfaction but when mistakes occur and unfortunate situations happen, it is frustrating for everyone.I hope you do return to stay in the future, when improvements will be evident.

Thank you very much for your valuable time and kind understanding. Please email me directly next time you visit our resort.

With best regards

Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Overall service: I would say it's 5 stars service. They might not be very eloquent but all their staffs were very friendly. One week before my trip I requested for a cake to be ready in the room as it was hubby's birthday and that was done without any additional charges.

The staff at the cafe and reception were very all smiles and attended to all our requests. Despite it being a buffet self service breakfast the waiter assisted us in our food and drinks as well.

We requested for a room change as there were bats hovering outside the door. Was given an upgrade with no additional charge and free extension of check out till 2pm.

Room: we booked the superior room (old wing) and was kind of disappointed as there were yellowish stains on the white sheets plus some dirt (probably dry leaves) on the bed. And also there were bats outside the room.
Managed to change the room so no complains after that.

Watersports: they have their own vendor down at the beach and prices were quoted on Sgd. U can pay via rupiah too but you won't get attractive rates.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cccookiesncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear cccookiesncream

Greetings from Turi Beach Resort !
Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.

On behalf of Turi Beach Resort team. We all look forward to having you and your loved one back with us soon.

With best regards,
Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nongsa
0.2 mi away
Nongsa Point Marina & Resort
2.0 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
8.0 mi away
Radisson Golf & Convention Center Batam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
#2 of 11 in Batam Center
1,559 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grands I Hotel
Grands I Hotel
#10 of 101 in Batam
410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turi Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Hang Lekiu, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range: $79 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turi Beach Resort, Where Chic Meets Charm. Immerse yourself in this Indonesian boutique paradise and explore the beauty of nature. Nestled in Nongsa Resorts, at the northeast part of Batam Island, and 35 minutes away from Singapore by ferry and 15 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport. Set amid 7.7 Hectares of beautiful green landscaping in a tranquil tropical village, Turi Beach Resort features Modern - Minimalist accommodation in Tirta and Riani wing. All 140 rooms and suites are facing the sea being well spread over the beach front and the hillside.Turi Beach Resort is your idyllic retreat in the tropical Riau Islands amidst unspoilt beauty and fine beaches where tranquility and impeccable service are rightly yours to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turi Beach Resort Batam/Nongsa
Turi Beach Batam
Turi Beach Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing