We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveler rating
527
569
295
114
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
569
295
114
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriani wingturi beachemerald poolisland barold wingtaming sarijapanese restaurantferry terminalmr zaenalpremier roomlucky drawlong jettybeachfront roomwater sportsjet skidinner buffetbanana boat
Filter
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

It took us more than 45 mins to check in because they could not find our reservations in the system (which was apparently down) and secondly could not provide simple wi-fi access ( two temp login and passwords wld not work)  for us to pull the reservation email from our email account.  And to 'compenstate', we were offered a 'newer' room with a king bed instead of two singles. This room was at the very end of the old wing which made it almost a hike in order for us to go back to our room. Very unimpressed.
The buffet lunch (sat's chinese & japanese food) was equally bland - i've had better food at hawker centres. The ala carte menu of Ayam Chicken was better but the chicken was so dry, the skin was almost plastic.  Sun's Indonesian buffet was a lot better.
The lack of service by the pool was also notable - no one around to help with pool umbrella or to order drinks from - one would hv to walk over to the pool bar to place an order. It was an hour and a half before I spotted a staff member. 
I was also not sure what was up with busloads of groups of people trekking through the hotel / pool onto the beach. 
And to top of this experience, the swarms of flies that seem to live in the resort - it's worst than being in an Aussie Outback. You couldnt have a meal without swatting your food with every bite and there is no relaxing by the pool unless you didnt mind the constant landing of flies on you. Being slightly on the ticklish side, I ended up having to move every minute or so. 
The beach was relatively decent with clear water and was a good scene for taking sunset photos. Water sports were pretty pricey - $45 for 15 mins on the jet ski!
Overall, a very underwhelming experience. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here only as a last option. 

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanBergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear HanJS
Sea, sun and nature greetings from Turi beach Resort!

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

Thank you very much for your valuable time and kind understanding. Please email me directly next time you visit our resort.

With best regards

Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

More realaxed than Nirwana Gardens in Bintan if you have been there. Two great pools. Nice beach. food was ok. Ask for the new wing although old wing was fine with comfy beds- just a bit old and grubby. Def worth a weekend away from Singapore and only 10mins from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deckchairChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear deckchairChina

Thank you very much for your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated



On behalf of Turi Beach Resort team. We all look forward to having you and your loved one back with us soon.

With best regards,
Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Check in from 6th to 8th April 2012 for the Easter long weekend. Easy to get ferry from Tanah Merah to go to Nongsapura ferry terminal which take around 35 minutes. Clearing the immigration was surprisingly fast and when to the counter that provide land transfer to the hotel which was 10 minutes away.

Reached the hotel around 10.30am Indonesia time and was able to get our room straight after. We were given the superior room (booked thorught agoda but cancelled on the same day cause the price from the hotel website include breakfast but the one in agoda does not and is only few dollars different) located at Tirta wing on the highest floor which is on the fourth floor overlooking the beach. Heard that Tirta Wing is generally newer compared to Riani Wing which designed is more like a hut. Room was also overlooking the emerald pool and bar which is pretty nice.

We were escorted to the room by one of the staff and after that we unpack and about to head out and noticed that the safe was having some problem. Called the reception and they send a staff over to take a look after 15 minutes. An after 15 minutes of trying to rectify it for 15 minutes the staff gave up and say he cannot do another. I called back the reception and have to re-iterate what I have explained earlier and she say the solution is that we can place the items at the reception. Told her that it's okie as I can lock the items inside my friend luggage. And when we about to step out another staff came and he brought batteries to change but the safe still cannot be used and after few try the staff managed to get it working, is the door that is having the problem we have to push the door all the way in so that the lock and align with the catch in order to locked it.

We went out to look for food, at the Taming Sari Cafe breakfast (0700 -1000) just finished serving and we asked if we could ordered alar carte and the person told us they need to prepare for lunch (11.30am onwards) and advise us to go somewhere else. The Cinta Manis restaurant was not open so we went to the Yatch Club and they advise us to go to the pool bar as they have pool menu. We went to the Aqua Bar which is located at the Aqua Poolside and order two juices and one beef burger. Price are considerably reasonable, juice cost $6.50 and the beef burger cost $9, but the killer was the 21% government tax and service charge.

After our quick bite we went to walk around and it started to pour and we went back to the Taming Sari Cafe and have our lunch. We looked at the menu and noticed prices are range from $10+ and above so we opted for the lunch buffet menu that cost $18+ which i personally felt it way more reasonable compared to the ala carte menu. The staff was extremely nice and sociable which make our lunch a wonderful experience.

Went to the pool after the rain and enjoyed ourself. We could draw pool towel from any of the two pool bar. We will be issued with a voucher and failing to return the towel will result in a charge of $25 per piece.

In the evening when I went to return the towel, no staff was there so went to the spa and she called someone and we went to the bar to return and get new set of towel as we want to go back to the Emerald Pool.

One thing I need to highlight is that the pool bar closed at 6pm daily so even the pool closed much later around 7pm you will not be able to draw towel or return towel after 5.30pm. This is the policy that I don't understand, how can the towel counter closed earlier than the pool itself.

Understand that the staff that is positioned at the bar need to help up for dinner but at least the towel counter need to be mended and not expecting the hotel guest to go high and low to get or return a towel. The staff at the Yatch Club even said that the drawing of the towel is strictly till 5.30pm and swimming after that is guest responsibly as the pool is not supervised (The pool is not supervised at all in case he don't know, no lifeguard is on duty at all). After our swim, we went to freshen up and followed by dinner. The buffet dinner at the pool side cost $22++, food was acceptable but hygiene wise might have to improve. Fly was flying around the food, the tea and coffee station there was cookie for consumption but when I try to take a piece there was ants covering all the cookies. There was a band performing some oldies and some new songs but clearly she need to improve on the singing or maybe the sound system need to be improved. The crowd did not sound very appreciative in the first place.

On the next day breakfast was served at the Taming Sari cafe and was crowded and ended up we have to seat outside along the corridor. Not a bad thing thou cause is less crowded. Food wise is acceptable.

We were able to pay $8 per pax to get a return transfer from the hotel to the Mega Mall at Batam City. Bus depart 1pm from the hotel and take around half and hour to reach the mall and will pick us up at 4.30pm at the mall to send us back to the hotel by 5pm. Basically is only 3 hours and was enough for me to take a lunch at the Black Canyon Coffee which was cheap and nice (intended to go to A&W but was flooded with people and some of them was eating outside food or was jus waiting for the ferry time to be up) and went to buy some drinks and local staff before we proceed up for our one hour traditional Javanese massage at Grand Oditeus Spa at RP$175,000. Room was okie, massage was fine but the toilet was dark and lighted with only candles and could not see clearly, in the massage room the bath tub has a hole in it but fine with me cause am not using it but what was not fine was the noise that came from the event down at the main atrium and the screaming and laughing by some massage guest that was just beside my room. One thing to note if you have sensitive skin, the lotion they used might not be suitable for you as my friend was itching all over after the massage and he just want to get a shower to get rid of the lotion that was sticking to the body.

We checked out on the 8th at 1pm indonesia time and our ferry is at 2.20pm local time. We were at the ferry terminal at 1.20pm as is just 10 minutes away and the immigration is not open hence we loiter around departure hall. There is only one store selling Polo Ralph shirt, one selling drinks and tidbits and some souvenirs and another store selling some food. Overall the place is quite run down and there was queue forming to go into the immigration which was not open till around 1.45pm. Place was warm and stinky and we have to queue for around 40 minutes as only two counters were manned.

In summary, good points about the resort:

1. Nice view of the sea and pool
2. Friendly staffs
3. Two pools to choose from
4. Early check in at 10am when reached
5. Shuttle service to batam centre

Improvement recommended for the resort:

1. Should have checked everything is in order before letting out the room
2. Towel counter should be mend same hour as pool operating hours
3. Wifi should be available in room, free at public area instead of charging

Room Tip: Compare price between agoda and hotel website.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j280483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear j280483
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for support and your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

We realize that in staying at Turi Beach Resort, you have every right to expect only the very best of service. It is indeed a source of sadness to me personally that we did not deliver these expectations. We do however intend to learn from our mistakes and do all we can to continually improve the quality of our guests’ experience.

It is our commitment to achieve high level of guest satisfaction but when mistakes occur and unfortunate situations happen, it is frustrating for everyone.I hope you do return to stay in the future, when improvements will be evident.

Thank you very much for your valuable time and kind understanding. Please email me directly next time you visit our resort.

With best regards

Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

1. Only Stay at Tirta rooms
We booked a Riana Deluxe room for $280 over Easter weekend. The room was such a disappointment that we wanted to leave immediately. It was a basic hut with dirty, moldy furniture and walls, bad smell all over, basic toilet, aircon not working - it feels like a $65 backpacker's beach shack. We had no choice but to change to a lower category room for that night. And guess what? Superior room was better than Deluxe! After staying at a superior room for first night, we were upgraded to a Premier room at Tirta (new wing). You won't believe the quality difference between the two wings where the price difference is not that huge. They should either renovate the old wing before charging a premium price or lower the rate to absolute basic, like beach shacks!

2. Poorly managed
It took us over 2 hours to change our shabby Deluxe room to a half descent Superior room. The staff at the reception were sloppy and always try to avoid your problem. The fun part was, there were many people but nobody was doing much. The manager is a very negative person and not helpful at all. He tries to run away from the problem and avoids eye contact! However, there's a nice staff called Hendra, who listens to you and offers solution and finally helped us to move to a new wing room.
We have seen many guests are complaining about their rooms and other services.
Smaller issues like not picking up the phone at reception or not having key for safety deposit box would be very normal at Turi. You need to have a very high tolerance level.
3. Food
Absolutely basic. Catering to tour groups. We had two very similar BBQ dinners, just with different names - feels like leftovers from previous night served again. Breakfast was also very basic. This type of food is widely available in any Hawker's center in Singapore.

4. Spa
Very basic. Overpriced. No technique. Basic skills.

It's really over-priced! At 280 dollar you should expect almost five star quality of service and facilities not anything such frustrating!

Turi is nicely located. The new swimming pool is nice. If you don't mind some big tour group screaming around or some office team building sessions going on, (including taking over the beautiful jetty for a loud Karaoke party), you can consider Turi beach resort. It would be good for family with many kids. Couples, please avoid Turi over the weekend.

Room Tip: Only from Tirta, Level 2
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear samyadeb
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for support and your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

We realize that in staying at Turi Beach Resort, you have every right to expect only the very best of service. It is indeed a source of sadness to me personally that we did not deliver these expectations. We do however intend to learn from our mistakes and do all we can to continually improve the quality of our guests’ experience.

It is our commitment to achieve high level of guest satisfaction but when mistakes occur and unfortunate situations happen, it is frustrating for everyone.I hope you do return to stay in the future, when improvements will be evident.

Thank you very much for your valuable time and kind understanding. Please email me directly next time you visit our resort.

With best regards

Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A conference I recently attended was held in this hotel. Thankfully, it was only 1 night. Aside from our group there were only a handful of other guests.
The hotel was eeriely quiet and deserted. The long walk to the rooms were badly lit, and it didn't help that the signage for the rooms were badly and inconsistently placed.

The service was minimum - there were only 2 staff on-duty for our group of over 80 persons at checking in. The rooms are rather plain, and in a state of dirt with ants crawling on the table top, though the towels were clean.

The internet is a shame. We had to pay S$28 per day for internet access in the room, or S$3 per hour access. You need to contact the reception for your password and ID each time and this is pre-paid! I couldn't even access it as the password/ID provided was incorrect! And I had to spend some time at the Reception to justify how I couldn't even use it and should not be charged.

The beach however was beautiful. Nature surrounding the beach front of the hotel is indeed a beauty.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must go, ask to be assigned a room near the reception.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumantri E, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear alexsfish
Greetings from Turi Beach Resort!

Thank you very much for support and your review about your experience at Turi Beach Resort, your feedback is very much appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for the discrepancies in our attention to detail. Certainly we do understand your disappointment points are taken on some area mentioned for our improvement.

We realize that in staying at Turi Beach Resort, you have every right to expect only the very best of service. It is indeed a source of sadness to me personally that we did not deliver these expectations. We do however intend to learn from our mistakes and do all we can to continually improve the quality of our guests’ experience.

It is our commitment to achieve high level of guest satisfaction but when mistakes occur and unfortunate situations happen, it is frustrating for everyone.I hope you do return to stay in the future, when improvements will be evident.

Thank you very much for your valuable time and kind understanding. Please email me directly next time you visit our resort.

With best regards

Sumantri Endang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews